Forum.ArchosFans.com

Unofficial Archos Support Forum
It is currently Thu Apr 09, 2020 8:09 am

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Nov 29, 2010 4:03 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 9:40 pm
Posts: 53
Location: united kingdom
I'm using A5 with firmware version: 2.0.38, I have tried to install Android market using market4archos file. I copied into root of my Archos and tried to install. I get a parse error, the file does not install.
Has anyone tried installing on version 2.0.38? Am I doing something wrong?

_________________
sandy


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Nov 30, 2010 1:33 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2009 8:40 pm
Posts: 302
Answers here


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Nov 30, 2010 8:45 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 9:40 pm
Posts: 53
Location: united kingdom
Thanks for the quick reply. I am definately using .apk file.
Any other answers anyone.

Thanks.

_________________
sandy


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Nov 30, 2010 9:48 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2009 8:40 pm
Posts: 302
You'll want to double check that. Most who've run into this have found the apparent apk to be a zip... If you view the file via a computer which is configured to show file extentions, you'll see if in fact it is the apk or whether it is archived.

If you don't sort it out like that, I or someone else here could likely push the file your way in its correct form.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Dec 01, 2010 10:50 am 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 9:40 pm
Posts: 53
Location: united kingdom
Hi

Have got the Youtube app working OK now, so I assume I have now installed market4archos correctly.
I install Google Maps and I get message saying this app has stopped and the FORCE CLOSE message.
I've rebooted the device, re installed MAPS, still the same. I tried GMAIL aswell, similar. I don't seem to be able to get Google stuff working.
Can you help? Thanks.

_________________
sandy


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Dec 01, 2010 11:49 am 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 9:40 pm
Posts: 53
Location: united kingdom
I've uninstalled market4archos.apk and tried a different download, I've double checked the file extension, it is the right file. Tried to install again, it still fails. Parse error again.
I've downloaded direct to the Archos and renamed the download from .zip to .apk, I still get parse error.
Has anyone else had this problem & overcome it?

Regards.

_________________
sandy


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Dec 01, 2010 11:03 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2009 8:40 pm
Posts: 302
PM me an email addy... I'll send you the file from my A5A


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited