Forum.ArchosFans.com

Unofficial Archos Support Forum
It is currently Mon Aug 26, 2019 10:33 am

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 279 posts ]  Go to page Previous 19 10 11 12 13 14 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Jan 06, 2011 6:48 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Wed Nov 25, 2009 6:15 pm
Posts: 1559
Location: Milwaukee (GMT - 6)
atomicmecha wrote:
apparently that 2.1 upgrade is still in the fuzzy subspace between being really out and just mentioned. If you look at the Archos 7 Home Tablet (aka the 7" screen version of our 5's) there's a button that says "Compare Home VS Internet Tablet" and when you click that a window comes up with a side by side comparison of the two 7" devices and when it comes to the OS, it says the home tablet can run 1.6 or 2.1. So guess its out... just not everywhere yet?
yep, it's all right here: http://www.archos.com/products/ta/_watc ... us&lang=en


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jan 06, 2011 7:31 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sat Oct 02, 2010 4:25 pm
Posts: 23
Apparently, it's available to purchase from at least a couple of retailers: Here and Here. Interestingly on the second link it's referred to as V2 though.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jan 06, 2011 10:35 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2010 8:55 pm
Posts: 140
BCruz wrote:
Well the Archos 7 tablet just got an update to android 2.1. It's not 2.2 but maybe we can have hope that some of that firmware will make it's way towards the 5IT?


It didn't "get" an update. An updated version (V2) will be sold in Europe. This was after Engadget contacted Archos:
http://www.engadget.com/2010/12/30/arch ... and-faste/
Engadget wrote:
We've confirmed with Archos that a "v2" revision is now shipping in Europe with three things the original lacked -- an accelerometer, a relatively recent version of Android (2.1) and an 800MHz Rockchip CPU.


That's a completely different CPU, and I'm betting it doesn't use the same GPU either, so I don't know how compatible it will be with our 5A. Granted, even a 2.1 update would be nice, but I think the Gen8 devices are a closer match then the Home Tablet.

_________________
- Jim (A5 8GB)


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jan 14, 2011 5:02 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2011 5:24 am
Posts: 12
Location: Paxton, IL
Or charge a small fee for the upgrade, for those who wanted it.

I'd be happy if I could just Youtube to work on my Archos 5


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jan 14, 2011 7:15 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2010 11:05 am
Posts: 26
i dont have any probs watching youtube... have u tried the market hack?


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jan 14, 2011 12:39 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Thu Jun 10, 2010 9:40 am
Posts: 141
You can watch not Youtube only but video from number of sites that provide link to streaming flv video / movies as well! You do not need 2.2 for this. :lol:


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jan 14, 2011 3:08 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2010 9:33 pm
Posts: 49
Location: Minnesota
PD4Ever wrote:
I'd be happy if I could just Youtube to work on my Archos 5


Have you tried "m.youtube.com"?

_________________
-Brian


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jan 14, 2011 7:53 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2010 11:14 am
Posts: 275
macr0t0r wrote:
BCruz wrote:
Well the Archos 7 tablet just got an update to android 2.1. It's not 2.2 but maybe we can have hope that some of that firmware will make it's way towards the 5IT?


It didn't "get" an update. An updated version (V2) will be sold in Europe. This was after Engadget contacted Archos:
http://www.engadget.com/2010/12/30/arch ... and-faste/
Engadget wrote:
We've confirmed with Archos that a "v2" revision is now shipping in Europe with three things the original lacked -- an accelerometer, a relatively recent version of Android (2.1) and an 800MHz Rockchip CPU.


That's a completely different CPU, and I'm betting it doesn't use the same GPU either, so I don't know how compatible it will be with our 5A. Granted, even a 2.1 update would be nice, but I think the Gen8 devices are a closer match then the Home Tablet.


This is a complete waste of resources, IMO.. the chinese made no-name brand tablets have this (android 2.1 or less) market just about locked up. Archos should concentrate on getting more capacity into the 32, 43, 70, 101 tablets. Revamping the gen5 is taking a step backward. There was no doubt these new versions of android were gonna be released. Betas were already released around the web. Consumers just want to see a polished GUI so they can do the things they want to do.. the mass market doesn't want to root the device & get access to the linux operating underneath. That's why what should have been out in September took until about November (2.2). If indeed there is a market for a 5" tablet, that should be a gen8 tablet beyond the specs of the 43.... maybe a gen8 "53".. I think 50 is taken for a non wifi media player. My suggestion: dual core 1.2ghz, 1ghz Ram, 32gb internal memory, sdxc slot, usb 3.0, hdmi, etc. $259.99 Release date 8/31/11--- actual ship date: 01/20/2012 (just kidding).

Suggestions: The archos 70 get a 640gb hard drive.. the 101... 1tb hard drive.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jan 15, 2011 5:01 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sat Jan 15, 2011 4:09 am
Posts: 3
tmc wrote:

This is a complete waste of resources, IMO.. the chinese made no-name brand tablets have this (android 2.1 or less) market just about locked up. Archos should concentrate on getting more capacity into the 32, 43, 70, 101 tablets. Revamping the gen5 is taking a step backward. There was no doubt these new versions of android were gonna be released. Betas were already released around the web. Consumers just want to see a polished GUI so they can do the things they want to do.. the mass market doesn't want to root the device & get access to the linux operating underneath. That's why what should have been out in September took until about November (2.2). If indeed there is a market for a 5" tablet, that should be a gen8 tablet beyond the specs of the 43.... maybe a gen8 "53".. I think 50 is taken for a non wifi media player. My suggestion: dual core 1.2ghz, 1ghz Ram, 32gb internal memory, sdxc slot, usb 3.0, hdmi, etc. $259.99 Release date 8/31/11--- actual ship date: 01/20/2012 (just kidding).

Suggestions: The archos 70 get a 640gb hard drive.. the 101... 1tb hard drive.


Waste of resources? I am so close to buying a Archos 5 Internet because of the size and features.
The size is just right. Big enough to not be unusable, and small enough to not require a satchel or
other carrying case.

I like the onboard GPS, but realize that it's probably lame compared to the new Garmin Nuvi I just
picked up for $70. I'm disappointed in the Archos new home series as they appear underpowered compared
to the A5IT and less featureful in terms of HW options. I really have no intention of buying a 7" or
10" pad given the current feature list in those products. I'd be happy to fork over some bucks to
Archos for a "support" contract for the A5IT, assuming they are willing to keep it up-to-date for
a reasonable amount of time. I'm hoping that some company will pull it's head out of the sand
(or other places) and make the killer tablet. I don't expect a 12MP camera with flash and 3x O zoom
on a 5" tablet, but I have to wonder why not if DVR is an option (and an attractive one at that) for the
A5IT, why something like a 5MP/Flash/zoom isn't available. I mean heck, IPhone 4 has 2 cameras now....

What I've seen out of the Chinese knockoffs is interesting, but none of them have what
I consider to be features that I'm willing to compromise on for the lower price. I just returned a PMP
because the touch screen was horribly slow, the camera stopped working as I got the thing on,
and the documentation was absolute tripe, and hopelessly inadequate. Not to mention that simple
features like date format were strictly Chinese, and things like drivers and media conversion software
were just flat missing.

My idea for a gen 8 A5IT?

I'd start by doubling the memory to 512M, a processor bump and whatever Google thinks is needed
for at least a couple of minor revs or one major rev of Andriod in terms of HW features, the G receiver,
and fix whatever HW issues have been found in the current run of devices. A fix for the browser cause
a 500GB device deserves a better file manager (and at least be able to reasonably support the large
storage subsystem). I see no reason that two micro SDHC devices could not be supported, and it's
reasonable to assume that one would be for enhancement, while the other device used for transient
data. An onboard camera above and beyond your basic pinhole (flash, zoom, etc) or a USB mountable
camera with more features as an optional device.

With the right setup, it could be used as a camera or a webcam.....

I'd probably be willing to hack on an android 2.2 A5IT assuming I could pickup a SD16/32 cheap enough
not notice if it blows up or dies after several months of testing, while I would not with the
A5IT with 500GB disk I've already found heavily discounted.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jan 18, 2011 2:03 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 5:11 pm
Posts: 22
Why didnt thet just an gen8 of archos 5 it that would have solve every problem for me... cuz canrt deside the archos 5 got a realy nice screen but not froyo.... and archos 43 got froyo but not big screen enough =/...


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jan 20, 2011 8:02 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2010 1:13 pm
Posts: 13
Hi folks

OpenAOS has released Froyo alpha5 yesterday.
Great work!!
I have installed a triple boot system on my IT5 and everything works fine.
Froyo gets more and more functionality with each release and you can decide whether to use original Archos OS or play with Froyo.

Greetz

Zaphord


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jan 20, 2011 12:26 pm 
Offline
Archos Expert
Archos Expert

Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 11:32 pm
Posts: 220
Location: scotland
Zaphord wrote:
Hi folks

OpenAOS has released Froyo alpha5 yesterday.
Great work!!
I have installed a triple boot system on my IT5 and everything works fine.
Froyo gets more and more functionality with each release and you can decide whether to use original Archos OS or play with Froyo.

Greetz

Zaphord


right gonna sound like a total noob ... how would I go about installing such a thing ? Is there an easy step by step somewhere I can follow if I try it ?

_________________
[quote="Flipflop"]I like em big[/quote]


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jan 20, 2011 6:00 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2010 1:20 pm
Posts: 3016
Location: Sweetyland
Hi total noob.

Do a Google search on OpenAOS and follow the bouncing ball.

:D


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jan 21, 2011 3:42 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 3:23 pm
Posts: 3
it is one file to download and install ? or 2 or 3 file?????


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jan 21, 2011 4:18 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2010 1:20 pm
Posts: 3016
Location: Sweetyland
Ok, I did your Google search for you. Here's the first link I came up with:

http://www.openaos.org/

Here's the second:

http://dev.openaos.org/

Here's the third:

http://dev.openaos.org/wiki/Android

HTH


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 23, 2011 12:19 am 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2010 7:25 pm
Posts: 89
i wouldnt say everything basic is working for dialy usage

the main problem for now is mp3 support ;)

and off course headphone support!

then its realy gonna be useable!

is it prerooted? (fully? not like donut with root @every startup?)


then its gonna be good enough to do more then testing start using it ;)

and if they really do android 2.3 (for n900 switch to gingerbread semed to be very easy ;) i'd say its best device ever in this size ;) concerning price and features ;)

till now they rock
tomorrow they could be our champions =) when they to the magic, create staple and everyday version of froyo or may be gingerbread!


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 23, 2011 11:49 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2010 1:13 pm
Posts: 13
@li8w8

That's not right, the main problem is the headphone and the mounting of the SDcard.

You don't have to use Foyo's MP3 feature. Use for example a standalone Player like VPlayer. Plays all MP3 and Videos, but doesn't fix the headphone issue :( .

AND: don't ask questions for features of OpenAOS, look at their website and ask them instead.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 23, 2011 11:55 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2010 1:13 pm
Posts: 13
@geemacd and @yossi2010

You can look at http://dev.openaos.org/wiki/SettingUpMultiRootGen7?version=36
It's a detailed description how to install.
You may realize: This is nothing for total noobs :)


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jan 26, 2011 6:33 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2010 3:06 am
Posts: 105
ok, so how is it that the Archos 7 internet tablet gets android 2.1 and the Archos 5 internet tablet stays as 1.6? http://www.archos.com/products/ta/archo ... us&lang=en


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jan 26, 2011 9:19 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2010 4:47 am
Posts: 518
Location: Vancouver Island, BC, Canada
To be honest with you, I'd love to have 2.2 on my A5A IT, but "latest and greatest" thinking aside, I don't really see what of significance I would gain from 2.x. I have a 43IT with 2.2 installed and there are some nice tweaks to the UI but nothing that I can see (so far) that is a dealbreaker for me. Speed for me is a non-issue. I really can't detect a difference between the 43 and the 5.

Can anyone here who's installed Froyo on a 5 comment on whether or not there is a significant performance boost as a result of having done so?

_________________
A43IT A5IT Transformer Playbook


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 279 posts ]  Go to page Previous 19 10 11 12 13 14 Next

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot] and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited