Forum.ArchosFans.com

Unofficial Archos Support Forum
It is currently Wed Jan 22, 2020 7:03 am

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed May 12, 2010 2:35 am 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2008 7:49 pm
Posts: 108
just letting all other android gamers out there that finally, the market is improving! exdeus arcade, backbreaker football, distinctive wireless's new lineup of sports games, wings of steel, and gameloft possibly porting more games is great news for all android users!

now, if we can get 2.1 for 3d acceleration, i hope they can work on the archos. with a huge screen, and better games, it would be a watered down psp.

for specific games, PM me and ill give you a list.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed May 12, 2010 8:22 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 12:10 pm
Posts: 6598
Android 2.1 is not a prerequisite for HW 3D acceleration. 3D acceleration for the A5A will be released soon, according to Archos.

Michael


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed May 12, 2010 8:27 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2009 1:08 am
Posts: 682
Lol, again with the 'soon' stuff. Maybe we should just say we'll get it in 'sometime in the future'

I agree though, it should be coming in the near future, but Archos has had that post on appslib about openGL support coming soon since day one.
Quote:
ARCHOS is currently using Software accelerator; the hardware accelerator capabilities will follow very soon after product launch. So you can start today, your apps will use the full power in a near future.


Cracks me up every time. I wonder if any devs actually took this seriously and tried to make a 3D app when the A5A came out. They are still waiting patiently .... just waiting .... 'till the end of time.

_________________
32GB A5A Owner


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed May 12, 2010 8:38 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 12:10 pm
Posts: 6598
In this particular case, soon is very likely sooner than you seem to think. :D

Michael


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed May 12, 2010 10:05 am 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 2:40 am
Posts: 7052
Location: Copenhagen
Very soon, Archos just said in a video that 3D Open GL is in the next firmware update.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed May 12, 2010 12:03 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 6:13 pm
Posts: 934
When is "very soon"? :D
btw. Archos should fix the old problems, otherwise we get new problems with new features.


btw. Where are the smilies after board update?


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed May 12, 2010 2:41 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 12:10 pm
Posts: 6598
Depending on how they do it, adding Open GL support could fix a number of outstanding issues as well as being a feature. It should have effects on the Android OS, many Android apps and perhaps even the AMC, depending on how they code it. It remains to be seen.

Similarly, other outstanding issues are not likely to be fixed until the unit migrates to Android 2.x, so that effort also fixes bugs as it adds features (and introduces at least a few new bugs, no doubt).

Michael


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed May 12, 2010 4:04 pm 
Offline
Archos Expert
Archos Expert

Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2010 9:44 pm
Posts: 211
The latest (re)build of 1.7.99 lists "New 3D Games" in its update notes?

Anyone tried it yet?

Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed May 12, 2010 5:56 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2008 10:52 am
Posts: 5191
Location: Hanapepe, HI
I just went to the Archos Download page for the 5IT and the "New 3D Games" line was not there.

Allen

_________________
-An old geek 8)
5IT|A70S|A101


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed May 12, 2010 7:40 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2009 1:08 am
Posts: 682
Well hopefully this means it will be ready 'soon' hahaha.

I really hope so, I want to play Super Mario World, Donkey Kong Country and F-zero on snesoid!!!

_________________
32GB A5A Owner


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu May 13, 2010 12:16 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 12:10 pm
Posts: 6598
Does that app use Open GL to render 2d graphics like that?

Michael


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited