Forum.ArchosFans.com
Archos 80 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 8GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 80 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 250GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 101 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 8GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 101 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 250GB: Buy now (free shipping)
 * Register    * Login 

It is currently Tue Sep 02, 2014 12:24 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour



Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 27 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue May 11, 2010 2:13 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sun Apr 25, 2010 2:35 am
Posts: 22
This is awesome! Photo at link below.

https://dl.dropbox.com/u/1013829/CIMG0078.jpg


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Tue May 11, 2010 2:14 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 12:59 am
Posts: 2880
Location: Toronto, Ontario
I was just about to make a thread on that!

This is wicked awesome.

_________________
Gr.9 tech lover


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Tue May 11, 2010 2:18 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 7:22 pm
Posts: 35
That's the first thing I said to my wife.
I like the black tape around the border of the screen but where is the mysterious data card slot he used on the top right corner? lol
I can't find it on mine.

I also like his quick typing to send a file.
How come mine doesn't go that fast?

_________________
A5A BT w/X10 FW 2.1


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Tue May 11, 2010 3:07 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2009 11:05 pm
Posts: 24
OK so it wasn't just me that noticed it. It's too bad they took off the Archos name on the device. I guess Archos didn't pay for the promo spot like Sprint did. But it was definitely the A5IT.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Tue May 11, 2010 8:01 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue May 11, 2010 7:58 am
Posts: 2
a closer look

Image

ImageImage


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Tue May 11, 2010 8:10 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Wed Nov 25, 2009 6:15 pm
Posts: 1559
Location: Milwaukee (GMT - 6)
volume turned down all of the way? Also, that ain't a microsd card!


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Tue May 11, 2010 9:24 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2008 10:52 am
Posts: 5191
Location: Hanapepe, HI
Duh! Did you see the name Archos on it? Nope!

Fiction with an Archos base.

Allen

_________________
-An old geek 8)
5IT|A70S|A101


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Tue May 11, 2010 10:33 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2010 7:07 pm
Posts: 24
It was also on yesterdays gadget show!


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Tue May 11, 2010 11:34 am 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 2:40 am
Posts: 7052
Location: Copenhagen
On 24 really? You mean like the Jack Bauer 24 show?


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Tue May 11, 2010 12:04 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2006 3:15 am
Posts: 3330
Location: essex uk
Charbax wrote:
On 24 really? You mean like the Jack Bauer 24 show?


yep!!
i remember seeing the av300 some years back also on some big american tv show, it was funny actually they had an ariel sticking out of the headphone socket...
ive got all the current 24 stored to watch when complete, i cant stand watching 24 in 1 hr episodes i always forget whats happening....
roy

_________________
http://tinyurl.com/68a3oqs


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Tue May 11, 2010 12:19 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 2:40 am
Posts: 7052
Location: Copenhagen
I haven't seen the latest episode yet, I wonder if Jack Bauer uses the Archos to view the video evidence that prooves the russians are behind the whole terrorist plot to blow up New York and that the president will get impeached because of it.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Tue May 11, 2010 12:21 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 12:10 pm
Posts: 6598
Remember that 24 takes place in an alternate reality and in the near future as well. So that might be the alternate Gen 12 A5A with a multicard reader... ;)

Michael


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Tue May 11, 2010 2:37 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 2:40 am
Posts: 7052
Location: Copenhagen
map002 wrote:
Remember that 24 takes place in an alternate reality and in the near future as well. So that might be the alternate Gen 12 A5A with a multicard reader... ;)

Michael


Yup this Archos definitely seems to have an imaginary SDHC card reader on the top. And somehow it is set to auto-open the video when SD card is inserted, the Jack Bauer hits play to play the video evidence proving that the Russians are behind the terrorist plot.

Funny how the Archos is used several times during the episode, sad they hide the logo, Archos can't pay for product placement (they don't hide the Sprint logo on the Mifi when they create that private VPN encrypted hotspot at CTU though).

Main point here is, obviously, Jack Bauer has an Archos all the time during the whole 8 seasons probably. But so far has has only used it during the commercial breaks, this is the first time he used it, just taking it out in the taxi to view the video evidence he got from Dana Walsh who he executed in the previous episode (sorry roy if I spoil the 235th subplot for you).

I posted this news to: http://archosfans.com/2010/05/11/jack-b ... series-24/


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Tue May 11, 2010 3:54 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 7:36 pm
Posts: 18
Did anyone else notice how quickly Jack used 3 or 4 very quick finger presses to perhaps stop the video and turn it off (the unit was facing away from the camera).

I want my A5 to respond that quickly! :)

Rich


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Tue May 11, 2010 9:01 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 12:59 am
Posts: 2880
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Jack does not have an Archos 5 with him all the time, but got it from his partner's comm package.

_________________
Gr.9 tech lover


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Tue May 11, 2010 11:35 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 2:40 am
Posts: 7052
Location: Copenhagen
Chengbin wrote:
Jack does not have an Archos 5 with him all the time, but got it from his partner's comm package.


Good point, he probably only got it half an hour earlier from Michael Madsen.

Though, I am sure Jack Bauer got so impressed with the Archos that he probably is going to want to use it for some other tasks these next few episodes, he might send an Archos to each of the big newspapers to get the truth out about what the Russians did.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed May 12, 2010 4:49 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 7:22 pm
Posts: 35
Could anyone read the time on the device? It realistically should be reading 12:05pm (ish)

_________________
A5A BT w/X10 FW 2.1


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed May 12, 2010 5:28 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Wed Nov 25, 2009 6:15 pm
Posts: 1559
Location: Milwaukee (GMT - 6)
looks like 05:18 to me


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed May 12, 2010 7:52 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sat Dec 26, 2009 8:54 pm
Posts: 441
Location: California
Yeah, it definitely looks like 5:18. It could always be from a different time zone.

_________________
-LT


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed May 12, 2010 11:47 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 1:01 am
Posts: 1725
Location: Richmond VA USA
Though, I am sure Jack Bauer got so impressed with the Archos that he probably is going to want to use it for some other tasks these next few episodes

Not only will he want one to "kill" some time in the next few episodes, sadly he may need one for all the free time he will have on his hands shortly. I believe this will be the last season of 24. :(


Top
   
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 27 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Feedfetcher and 18 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Hosted by Forumatic™