Forum.ArchosFans.com

Unofficial Archos Support Forum
It is currently Mon Oct 21, 2019 12:00 pm

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 299 posts ]  Go to page Previous 111 12 13 14 15
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Jun 02, 2010 6:21 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 6:13 pm
Posts: 934
Any chance to get a new FW?
nz, where are you? :D


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jun 02, 2010 6:35 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 12:10 pm
Posts: 6598
nz is sitting on a huge pile of unreleased firmware bytes and laughing manically, super-villain style, as he grows drunk on all the tears of those who weep each morning as they read the forum and see there's no new FW yet.

Because we know it can't be in QA testing and will be released as soon as it's ready because otherwise people would be complaining about another buggy FW on here... :D

Michael


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jun 02, 2010 6:53 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2008 10:52 am
Posts: 5191
Location: Hanapepe, HI
Hey Michael,

Any chance we can get a really buggy update. Skip the QA testing. I miss the good old days!

Allen

_________________
-An old geek 8)
5IT|A70S|A101


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jun 02, 2010 7:06 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 6:13 pm
Posts: 934
Yes, many NEW errors (like the EQ settings bug / video folder problem and other) are in the actual FW.
I hope, nz is reading the thread. ;)


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jun 03, 2010 2:54 am 
Offline
Archos Expert
Archos Expert

Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2006 4:23 am
Posts: 184
Location: God's green Earth
wow when was last firmware? 2009?


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jun 03, 2010 5:08 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sat Nov 21, 2009 3:38 am
Posts: 399
Buckwheat wrote:
wow when was last firmware? 2009?

A little more than a month ago.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jun 03, 2010 10:08 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 9:01 am
Posts: 32
Something is brewing on the ARCHOS website as it has 2 links to the same firmware ie the latest and previous versions linked are both v1.7.99

Fingers crossed we will see a major released.....surely we can't be on Donut forever?


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jun 03, 2010 12:20 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 6:13 pm
Posts: 934
I can see two links.
Actual version 1.7.99
Previous version 1.7.99

:D

We will see, we will see.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jun 03, 2010 12:30 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2009 7:28 pm
Posts: 1163
Location: Abu Dhabi
Well, they tend to happen at the end of a week so that nz can devote all his time looking at the complaints of people that have their microscopes out and hammers trying to find faults with it...

I think I am just an old groutch, need to check what's in the coolbox... Ahhh...

Howard.

P.S. Think I'll start a backup of my device media files cause ya never knows does ya!

_________________
605Wi, A5IMT, A5IT, A7o 8GB:2.4.82


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jun 03, 2010 2:22 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2007 4:32 am
Posts: 1153
Location: new york
SvenC wrote:
I can see two links.
Actual version 1.7.99
Previous version 1.7.99

:D

We will see, we will see.


That's been like that for 3 weeks already and it used to have 3d games listed which got every excited, but, they took that down, then, put it back up then took it down again.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jun 03, 2010 3:08 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 11:14 pm
Posts: 76
2.0.15 is out, in case someone didn't scroll down far enough to see it...


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jun 03, 2010 4:05 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2008 3:04 am
Posts: 24
oops i accidently browsed into wrong archos 5 forum...


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jun 03, 2010 5:00 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 11:27 pm
Posts: 5
2.0.15 = still no Android 2.x...

I was really hoping for that upgrade.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jun 03, 2010 5:47 pm 
Offline
Archos Expert
Archos Expert

Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2010 11:22 am
Posts: 154
^^ I don't know how their numbering has worked in the past, but maybe the 2.0 at the beginning is a bit of an indication that they are laying the groundwork for 2.x, and the current firmware 2.0.15 will increment to 2.1.x or 2.2.x depending on which version of Android we get next...?

In any case, it sounds like it was a pretty good update based on the other thread. I'm looking forward to getting home and trying it!


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jun 03, 2010 9:03 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sat Nov 21, 2009 3:38 am
Posts: 399
converted wrote:
^^ I don't know how their numbering has worked in the past, but maybe the 2.0 at the beginning is a bit of an indication that they are laying the groundwork for 2.x, and the current firmware 2.0.15 will increment to 2.1.x or 2.2.x depending on which version of Android we get next...?

Don't count on it - Archos & Android version numberings are independent. It's merely a coincidence that this firmware is 2.x at the same time the recent Android releases are 2.x. (Don't forget we got upgraded to Android 1.6 with Archos firmware 1.7.33)


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jun 03, 2010 11:33 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 1:01 am
Posts: 847
Location: Saint Lucia, Caribbean GMT -4
Donut actually came with firmware version 1.6.08 which was replaced by 1.7.33 (the same day, I think).

_________________
8+32GB A101S-V5(T1) OMAP4460 ES1.1


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jun 04, 2010 12:30 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sat Nov 21, 2009 3:38 am
Posts: 399
zandoli wrote:
Donut actually came with firmware version 1.6.08 which was replaced by 1.7.33 (the same day, I think).

Technically true (although the only official release that Archos records is 1.7.33) but either way the history shows no relation between Archos & Android numbering.

For Android 1.5 we had firmwares 1.0.x, 1.1.x, 1.2.x, 1.3.x, and 1.4.x
For Android 1.6 we had (unofficially) 1.6.x, officially 1.7.x and now 1.9.x and 2.0.x

I think even from these two new firmwares it is obvious that Archos considers OpenGL to be the reason 2.0.15 deserves the bump to 2.x.x.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jun 04, 2010 10:43 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 12:10 pm
Posts: 6598
Keep in mind that there are many, many revisions that don't get released. The numbering is just based on the number of revisions.

Michael


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Aug 29, 2011 11:38 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2011 11:34 am
Posts: 2
hauk said: For Android 1.6 we had (unofficially) 1.6.x
Where is it actually track a cell phone available?


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 299 posts ]  Go to page Previous 111 12 13 14 15

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited