Forum.ArchosFans.com
Archos 80 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 8GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 80 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 250GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 101 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 8GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 101 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 250GB: Buy now (free shipping)
 * Register    * Login 

It is currently Thu Nov 27, 2014 1:02 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour



Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 199 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 10  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Feb 19, 2010 1:23 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 8:04 pm
Posts: 85
Location: UK
Another FW release. Downloading now....

ingott77


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 19, 2010 1:25 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Mon Nov 20, 2006 1:18 am
Posts: 318
Location: UK
Firmware changes
Version 1.7.77 - February 19th, 2010

Cell phone tethering: now propose both DUN and PAN bluetooth profiles if phone supports it and select DUN as default one
Cell phone tethering: properly clear former settings to avoid migration issues with new tethering infrastructure
System: fix device not entering in suspend mode after being mounted on PC with USB
Video: fix MPEG4 streams in MP4 files sometimes had wrong aspect ratio
Music: fix .MP4 genre was sometimes not recognized correctly
Playlist: add support for "PLS+XML" mime type in Archos Media Center
Android: prevent going fullscreen when an application change its window attributes
Developers: fix ADB/DDMS screenshot feature in landscape

Looks like a bit of a tidy-up - nice to see the tethering bits and bobs addressed

_________________
A5A 160GB


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 19, 2010 2:10 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2008 10:52 am
Posts: 5191
Location: Hanapepe, HI
kevpuk wrote:
Firmware changes
Version 1.7.77 - February 19th, 2010
...
Android: prevent going fullscreen when an application change its window attributes
...
Looks like a bit of a tidy-up - nice to see the tethering bits and bobs addressed


Full screen Steel and Dolphin browsers ain't full screen no mo!

Allen

_________________
-An old geek 8)
5IT|A70S|A101


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 19, 2010 2:46 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 12:10 pm
Posts: 6598
Yeah, because they don't have the proper info in their manifest.

It was this 'bug' that was letting them go full screen when you refreshed the graphics (which was why it was not working in the initial screen).

Since there's always a way to go 'Home' via the power off menu, I'd prefer Archos make this a user configurable toggle.

Since I don't tether, I'll skip this update...

Michael


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 19, 2010 3:05 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Mon Nov 20, 2006 1:18 am
Posts: 318
Location: UK
map002 wrote:
Since I don't tether, I'll skip this update...

Michael


I am thinking the same.....having spent some time getting my tether to work with 1.7.71, not sure there is anything else in this for me - that said, only a minor update, by all accounts, but positive to see such speedy release of 'fixes' :)

_________________
A5A 160GB


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 19, 2010 3:10 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 7:32 am
Posts: 672
unless I hear good things about other bluetooth connectivity and whatnot, I might skip it too. it's good that they've put this update out, for those who were having problems with tethering, but unless something proper fancy comes out soon, I think I may be sitting on my heels till Archos release an Eclair version.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 19, 2010 3:32 pm 
Offline
Archos Staff
Archos Staff

Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 10:05 pm
Posts: 165
map002 and all, this update corrects also the fact that device does not go anymore in suspend after connecting it to a PC for file transfer. The ChangeLog is not exhaustive... Please consider updating.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 19, 2010 3:53 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 12:10 pm
Posts: 6598
Actually, I thought not going into standby when I have the USB plugged in was a feature... ;)

Michael


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 19, 2010 4:08 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 7:32 am
Posts: 672
michael, I don't think it's while it's still connected, I think it's after it was connected and now it's disconnected... I think.

ok, with the 'not going into suspend' fix, I jumped. to confirm, all hacks are still fine and working and everything looks grand. market is still there, I can still connect to my work 'LEAP' account and I can also still get to /data/bin/su. the fullscreen-ness of Dolphin is indeed gone and I haven't noticed anything more.

I'm hoping, given the work gone into bluetooth, that some more work has gone into that area, because I definitely feel it's a bit ropey still. after talking to a HTC owner, it seems like this is definitely an overall Android issue. that is, turning the bluetooth on, seemingly connecting fine to an audio receiver, then play music through it. unfortunately no music comes from the external device and the audio skips through the song massively. when you then try to maybe disable bluetooth and re-enable it, it completely hangs and generally needs a complete reboot. it definitely looks like there's some sort of leak or error happening there and it needs sorting out.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 19, 2010 4:17 pm 
Offline
Archos Staff
Archos Staff

Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 10:05 pm
Posts: 165
map002: I meant the device will never go into suspend after you unplug it from your PC of course... Thus I guess you care.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 19, 2010 4:19 pm 
Offline
Archos Staff
Archos Staff

Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2007 6:17 pm
Posts: 712
Location: Archos SA, France
bragon wrote:
map002: I meant the device will never go into suspend after you unplug it from your PC of course... Thus I guess you care.


correct!


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 19, 2010 4:27 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 7:32 am
Posts: 672
nz wrote:
bragon wrote:
map002: I meant the device will never go into suspend after you unplug it from your PC of course... Thus I guess you care.


correct!

WantToGloom wrote:
while you're here, nz,
WantToGloom wrote:
any update on the 'full reinitialisation', nz? does it still completely formate the hard-drive, or only wipe the places that it needs?

if nothing's been changed, I'd still like to know, because I wouldn't mind doing a full reinitialisation if things do start going awry, but I want to be fully aware about whether my files are just gonna disappear.
...


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 19, 2010 4:37 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 12:10 pm
Posts: 6598
Yeah, I guess the standby bug is upgrade-worthy! I hereby change my recommendation... ;)

Michael


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 19, 2010 4:49 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 7:15 pm
Posts: 27
i have a problem with the firmware updates. everytime i make a firmware update the arclibrary update change many of my id3 tags of my mp3 files like genre or album name.
i don't want the arclibrary update. what can i do? who can help me?


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 19, 2010 4:51 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2009 5:41 pm
Posts: 573
I always think Friday is a bad day to put out a firmware release... If there is a problem (with units bricking etc) surely its much better to put out the firmware on Monday so the developers can spot the problem quickly and remove the update from the website, and also keep users informed. :lol:

_________________
Owner of: A5IT,A5IMT,605wifi,AV500


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 19, 2010 5:00 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2009 4:39 am
Posts: 30
upgraded and now my nokia e71 tethering is working again. Yea Archos!


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 19, 2010 7:13 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2005 3:36 pm
Posts: 64
Will these tethering fixes allow the BlackBerry to work?


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 19, 2010 7:45 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2009 3:09 pm
Posts: 10
drose12 wrote:
Will these tethering fixes allow the BlackBerry to work?

I am looking forward for an answer to this question :)


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:34 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 10:19 pm
Posts: 1387
applied the firmware twice. Now my top status bar no longer works. Home button doesn't work. I know Michael....reinitiallize and reflash....I just don't want to reinstall all my apps. I'm sick today and in a really bad mood :evil:


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:40 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 12:10 pm
Posts: 6598
Actually, I no longer recommend reinits unless you're getting disk errors.

After a month of talking to various people and doing some testing, it seems the problems might be with some of the config files the system writes for itself. So 'Delete Device configuration and installed applications' will sort things out by forcing a rewrite of these files without the need for a reformat of the user partition.

Afraid it still wipes apps though, sorry!

And feel better!

Michael


Top
   
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 199 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 10  Next

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Hosted by Forumatic™