Forum.ArchosFans.com

Unofficial Archos Support Forum
It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 1:14 am

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 96 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 5
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Feb 14, 2010 3:34 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2009 2:47 pm
Posts: 17
AllenPapapetrou wrote:
Archos is really getting into this open source thing. What's going on? Management change?
Allen


More likely a certain fruit company entering the tablet market lately.

In order to have any chance of competing, Archos are trying to generate a buzz and harness the community. Let's hope it works out for them.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Feb 14, 2010 5:02 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 12:10 pm
Posts: 6598
Nope, this went into planning a couple of years ago, as I understand it.

Michael


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Feb 17, 2010 11:17 am 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 7:22 am
Posts: 116
How's the dual os going? u getting anywhere?


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Feb 21, 2010 11:58 am 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 7:22 am
Posts: 116
hey can you please tell me. would there be anyway of getting linux to run a exe file any way to do that?
Thanks


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Feb 21, 2010 12:50 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 7:32 am
Posts: 672
an exe file is an executable file compiled for running on Windows, short answer is no, absolutely not. long answer is yes, through emulation software. you can run Wine on a Linux box with the correct Windows libraries, you can run a full Virtual OS under something like VirtualBox or VMWare, but you'd need to go through a full virtual Windows installation for that... if you're asking how to run an exe under the Linux that installs on the Archos, with the SDE OS, then you're seriously barking up the wrong tree, absolutely, 100%.

what's the exe, what's it's purpose and what do you want to do with it, then we'd be able to help you more with what you're trying to do.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Feb 21, 2010 2:49 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2010 2:25 pm
Posts: 10
sry but this is all new to me I just got my first A5A the 160gb one and have the market on it now but what is this new thing? I use my a5a for movies and music and web so is there any reason 4 me to do this thing?
:?:


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Feb 21, 2010 6:10 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 7:32 am
Posts: 672
if you don't know or understand what's the story with the DUALOS, I'd just direct you to what Archos themselves have on their site,
Image

if you start reading what root allows you to do and want a bit of it, then yeah, investigate more and maybe install, but for the moment, I think you'd be better off just leaving it be.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Feb 22, 2010 9:35 am 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 7:22 am
Posts: 116
but it is possible to be able to run a virtual Windows? Has anyone given that a try?


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Feb 22, 2010 1:45 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2010 2:25 pm
Posts: 10
Thanks m8
I won't do any thing ;)


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Feb 22, 2010 3:54 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2009 1:44 pm
Posts: 60
mitch04 wrote:
but it is possible to be able to run a virtual Windows? Has anyone given that a try?


If it's possible, I believe it would be too slow to be usable.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Mar 02, 2010 11:32 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2009 11:26 pm
Posts: 47
There is this device developed by a company called Always Innovating that I found while looking for a tablet pc. Its called the 'Touch Book'. It is a very insteresting device. It runs a version of Angstrom. It also claims to be able to boot multiple OS's. I dont know enough about developing for the archos, but the Touch Book OS seems like a pretty feature rich build of angstrom and thought I would post here in case someone might find it interesting. I dont know how hard it is to port a different build over to the archos, but it seems like the processors for both devices are similar.

http://www.alwaysinnovating.com/home/index.htm


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Mar 03, 2010 8:40 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2008 10:52 am
Posts: 5191
Location: Hanapepe, HI
laaf2005 wrote:
There is this device developed by a company called Always Innovating that I found while looking for a tablet pc. Its called the 'Touch Book'. It is a very insteresting device. It runs a version of Angstrom. It also claims to be able to boot multiple OS's. I dont know enough about developing for the archos, but the Touch Book OS seems like a pretty feature rich build of angstrom and thought I would post here in case someone might find it interesting. I dont know how hard it is to port a different build over to the archos, but it seems like the processors for both devices are similar.

http://www.alwaysinnovating.com/home/index.htm

Hi laaf2005,

Thanks for the tip. I joined their Forum and Wiki. The Touch Book might do for me until Archos comes out with an A7A IT or an A9A IT. I just saw a script on their Wiki to install Android Donut. I was in heaven. MultiOS. Kool. This could be my Starter Home and Travel Tablet.

Thanks Again :D

Allen

_________________
-An old geek 8)
5IT|A70S|A101


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Mar 03, 2010 6:14 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 5:33 pm
Posts: 325
Location: Germany
the device really looks nice :D

i`ll keep an eye on it.

thnx for the tip


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Mar 04, 2010 8:15 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Fri Nov 13, 2009 4:17 am
Posts: 142
Location: Indiana, USA
So where's our Maemo 5 :lol:

I have still been playing around a bit with Angstrom... but haven't yet compiled anything useful in regards to information on how to do this or that.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Mar 04, 2010 8:53 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 12:10 pm
Posts: 6598
ArchosWanderer wrote:
So where's our Maemo 5 :lol:

Waiting for you to compile it! :D

Michael


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Mar 21, 2010 2:19 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2010 8:18 pm
Posts: 9
The whole D'OS idea is lovely, but I think that based on the capacity of ARM, size of the HDDs of the different Archos devices, I'm reminded of the beauty of a great device I miss terribly. The Psion Series 5mx. Competent hardware that ran a VERY thin OS (EPOC Symbian) with equally thin file systems. In terms of picking and choosing an OS to option on a given A#x# and the problems that have been shown in trying to get the machine to choke out a RAM'hog OS (Win#, OSx, etc.), I would think that a VERY thin current OS (JeOS, Ubuntu MID, like) or is Angstrom the thinest in town?. As an example that it CAN be done, that's lovely. I'm just a poor civilian user learning too many languages as it is. I'll be watching this idea very closely though for more developments!

GO GO GADGET CRACKERS! \:D/

_________________
404, 5A-250


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 96 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 5

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited