Forum.ArchosFans.com
Archos 80 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 8GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 80 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 250GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 101 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 8GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 101 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 250GB: Buy now (free shipping)
 * Register    * Login 

It is currently Mon Oct 20, 2014 5:24 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour



Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 96 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: DUALOS for Archos 5 IT
PostPosted: Fri Feb 05, 2010 6:40 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2008 12:57 am
Posts: 60
http://www.archos.com/products/imt/arch ... us&lang=en

What is this? I haven't seen it before...


Top
   
 
 Post subject: A5IT SDE is here
PostPosted: Fri Feb 05, 2010 6:42 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2008 6:07 pm
Posts: 427
Location: Bangalore, India
dm8tbr wrote:
http://www.archos.com/products/imt/archos_5it/dualoslinux.html?country=gb&lang=en
They just put the link to the SDE AOS file on their page.

expect some openAOS stuff for it soon ;)

enjoy!

_________________
openAOS ROCKS!!


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 05, 2010 6:44 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 12:10 pm
Posts: 6598
It's new... ;) Several new possibilities here. It's been rumored for a while though.

Michael


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 05, 2010 6:46 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sat Dec 26, 2009 4:33 am
Posts: 251
Location: Michigan
Score! 8)

_________________
hax@is.gd/aYb3e


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 05, 2010 6:56 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 7:32 am
Posts: 672
that's a fricking crazy good decision :D is there any chance of this being dual-bootable and moreso, does this mean they'll calm down on the lock-down of root accessibility on the A5IT?

devo, did you have in on this, before it was released?


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 05, 2010 6:59 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sat Dec 26, 2009 4:33 am
Posts: 251
Location: Michigan
I'm going to start working on getting android going on this immediately. We won't need them to if we're making the builds ;)

and nope, I know and still know as much as you, except I've already installed it, hehehe. Pictures thread!

_________________
hax@is.gd/aYb3e


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 05, 2010 7:01 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2008 12:57 am
Posts: 60
But will you lose the Archos Media Center?


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 05, 2010 7:03 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sat Dec 26, 2009 4:33 am
Posts: 251
Location: Michigan
Read the linked page, you'll lose all of the archos stuff - however, it looks like you can roll back, which would be awesome.

_________________
hax@is.gd/aYb3e


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 05, 2010 7:05 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2008 12:57 am
Posts: 60
Sure you can roll back, but what good is this anyway if we can't keep Archos Media Center.
That's the only thing that makes this product better than the competition (Android-based products).


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 05, 2010 7:22 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 12:10 pm
Posts: 6598
If reading the page doesn't make you giddy, this might not be for you. No shame in that. But this is a whole new playground for some of us and some stuff might come out of this in the future that you might like! :D

Michael


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 05, 2010 7:32 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2009 8:56 pm
Posts: 394
Result - excellent news - hmmm time to buy another A5A me thinks.......................


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 05, 2010 7:46 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Fri Nov 13, 2009 4:17 am
Posts: 142
Location: Indiana, USA
OMG am I finally going to get my acclaimed VLC to run on my Archos!!!? Ohh man I am fooling around with this when I get home from work! Then I just have to get alien up and running on the distro and see what all I can get up and running (that is if I even need to get alien running). Can't wait!

Also I would just like to say kudos to the ease of interoperability (allowing any and all an easy transfer to the distro).


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 05, 2010 8:15 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 12:10 pm
Posts: 6598
VLC is going to run complex high rez video with a framerate like a slide show unless you find an OS platform with great drivers for that TI DSP chip. Just sayin'.

Michael


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 05, 2010 8:19 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 7:32 am
Posts: 672
yeah, while a lot of people have always dreamed of getting VLC on the thing and on the previous A5IMT, the things involved in playing through it are a lot, lot more complicated than you'd actually imagine.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 05, 2010 8:55 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 2:40 am
Posts: 7052
Location: Copenhagen
Help me promote this story, potentially attract more developers, by voting up my submission about this to Slashdot: http://slashdot.org/submission/1166888/ ... developers


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 05, 2010 8:58 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2008 10:52 am
Posts: 5191
Location: Hanapepe, HI
I DLed it, but I don't intend to install it unless I get a 7A or another 5A.

Archos gave a link to The ├àngstr├Âm Distribution. The primary issue is Device Drivers, which has been a perennial issue in Linux. Lot's of work for you interested devs. The ├àngstr├Âm group's site looks promising for the support you'll need.

It's interesting that Archos has opened the 5A to ├àngstr├Âm at this point in its life cycle.

If their's enough interest maybe Charbax would create an ├àngstr├Âm Forum under the "Internet Media Tablet" category.

Looking forward to the threads...

Allen

_________________
-An old geek 8)
5IT|A70S|A101


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 05, 2010 9:14 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2008 10:52 am
Posts: 5191
Location: Hanapepe, HI
Charbax wrote:
Help me promote this story, potentially attract more developers, by voting up my submission about this to Slashdot: http://slashdot.org/submission/1166888/ ... developers

Hi Charbax,

Joined, left a comment, and voted up your submission. Hope everyone does the same.

I really like the idea of a separate ├àngstr├Âm Forum in addition to "Archos Hacking and Open Development" forum if the numbers warrant it.

Allen

_________________
-An old geek 8)
5IT|A70S|A101


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 05, 2010 9:16 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 2:40 am
Posts: 7052
Location: Copenhagen
AllenPapapetrou wrote:
If their's enough interest maybe Charbax would create an ├àngstr├Âm Forum under the "Internet Media Tablet" category.


There is the "Archos Hacking and Open Development" forum section: viewforum.php?f=34

You think that there should be a new specific "├àngstr├Âm" section?

Could a developer explain if this SDE firmware means this also opens up the door for Ubuntu, Maemo, Qt and other types of Linux to also be launchable eventually?

How about the eventuality of providing dual-boot where you can more like choose which to boot on bootup (like dm8tbr's nice Boot Menu for Gen6) and then also have icons from one OS to the other so that one icon could basically shutdown and boot ├àngstr├Âm from Android, or boot back to Android from ├àngstr├Âm, without deleting any of the Multimedia files nor any of all the apps and settings that regular users would like to have and keep safely. Would there be a way to save the state in one OS to resume into that and what may be the transition time when booting from one OS to the other? Would each of the separate OS firmware files simply have to all be located in a specific location or something like that, so to upgrade one, one would simply need to replace the OS file with a newer version?

Archos just released the Multimedia APIs for Android as well, perhaps one of the next steps would also be for Archos to release some kind of global Multimedia drivers, even if they keep them proprietary, to be used for getting the full hardware acceleration for Multimedia within ├àngstr├Âm and other Linux distributions?


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 05, 2010 9:24 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 12:10 pm
Posts: 6598
You're right on, Charbax. Also, alternative Android builds as well.

Devo will have more to say on that shortly!

And I'd agree on a 5IT specific open dev section.

Exciting stuff!

Michael


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 05, 2010 9:34 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2008 10:52 am
Posts: 5191
Location: Hanapepe, HI
Charbax wrote:
AllenPapapetrou wrote:
If their's enough interest maybe Charbax would create an ├àngstr├Âm Forum under the "Internet Media Tablet" category.


There is the "Archos Hacking and Open Development" forum section: viewforum.php?f=34

You think that there should be a new specific "├àngstr├Âm" section?

Like I said in my later reply: IF the numbers warrant it.
Quote:
Could a developer explain if this SDE firmware means this also opens up the door for Ubuntu, Maemo, Qt and other types of Linux to also be launched?

Yes, but not likely, the ├àngstr├Âm group has created a Linux Distro. The others you mentioned are also Linux distros. If enough folks from the other distros were interested they could do the same. However, as WTG pointed out, there's a lot of effort involved. I suspect the other groups will wait until the ├àngstr├Âm distro is more evolved and there are more MID's in circulation. Then like they done with the Intel Distros, they will come in like gangbusters. In 5 years we'll see dozens of Linux distros on all MIDs, including the 5A.
Quote:
How about the eventuality of providing dual-boot where you can more like choose which to boot on bootup (like dm8tbr's nice Boot Menu for Gen6) and then also have icons from one OS to the other so that one icon could basically shutdown and boot ├àngstr├Âm from Android, or boot back to Android from ├àngstr├Âm, without deleting any of the Multimedia files nor any of all the apps and settings that regular users would like to have and keep safely. Would there be a way to save the state in one OS to resume into that and what may be the transition time when booting from one OS to the other? Would each of the separate OS firmware files simply have to all be located in a specific location or something like that, so to upgrade one, one would simply need to replace the OS file with a newer version?

This release from Archos really isn't "Dual OS" that phrase has been traditionally used. The tradition is "Dual Boot". But more than that what you want on the 5IT is SW like Sun's Virtual Box which allows running multiple OSs at the same time.
Quote:
Archos just released the Multimedia APIs for Android as well, perhaps one of the next steps would also be for Archos to release some kind of global Multimedia drivers to be used for getting the full hardware acceleration for Multimedia within ├àngstr├Âm and other Linux distributions?

Where does one get these? Link?

Thanks,
Allen

_________________
-An old geek 8)
5IT|A70S|A101


Top
   
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 96 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 17 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Hosted by Forumatic™