Forum.ArchosFans.com
Archos 80 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 8GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 80 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 250GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 101 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 8GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 101 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 250GB: Buy now (free shipping)
 * Register    * Login 

It is currently Sun Dec 21, 2014 11:12 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour



Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: GPS Hack/
PostPosted: Sun Jan 31, 2010 10:09 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 12:14 pm
Posts: 6
Just curious does anyone out there know how to get gps free on the archos 5?


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: GPS Hack/
PostPosted: Sun Jan 31, 2010 10:30 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 12:00 am
Posts: 404
bentz2151 wrote:
Just curious does anyone out there know how to get gps free on the archos 5?

To answer your question directly:

The GPS is fully enabled out of the box for no added cost. So, yes. It's free.

The software you use it with can either be freeware or paid applications.

I use and have had success personally with the paid version of the NDrive software.(The demo version worked, but I had many problems with it.) Others prefer CoPilot, and some have mentioned using the GoogleMapsand similar software with the A5As GPS. But I will alow them to relay their experiences to you themselves.

Ken

_________________
704,5,5A,7,&A70


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: GPS Hack/
PostPosted: Sun Jan 31, 2010 10:43 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 12:14 pm
Posts: 6
Haha oh..well copilot isnt in the market...is it a paid app? alson is ndrive a onetime fee?


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: GPS Hack/
PostPosted: Mon Feb 01, 2010 8:11 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2009 8:40 pm
Posts: 302
Ndrive is a one-time fee to activate its maps... as already mentioned GPS is a hardware feature of the A5A for that part of it is free...as far as free apps go, Waze is a free GPS app and Google Maps/Nav is free and works on Android 1.6 devices and up. If you can install it and get its TTS to work without issue, it could become what you're looking for...

The other side of that is Google Maps also requires an active data connection to generate its map/traffic information as well as particular feature usage; like 'rerouting'. So you'd need something either tethered to it or have it connected to a portable hotspot.


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: GPS Hack/
PostPosted: Mon Feb 01, 2010 11:24 am 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2010 5:41 pm
Posts: 65
No need for a hack.

MapDroyd is there too.
Offline maps.
No need for WiFi
Completely free and opensource.
Pretty accurate.
Details are ok.

http://www.mapdroyd.com/


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: GPS Hack/
PostPosted: Mon Feb 01, 2010 11:52 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 3:41 pm
Posts: 38
Interesting but it doesn't calculate route and navigate you to your destination...

I am having a lot of problem getting a fix signal (I am on the 7 day trial version of ndrive)... I tried everything ... waiting for 10 minutes in the car.... waiting for 10 minute outside the car... starting ndrive indoor and let it found the satellite (next to a window).... I live in a pretty flat area without a lot of building so it should found a signal... Most of the time, I get the signal near the end of my destination (lucky I know were I am going!).

So I was wondering if the problem come from ndrive, as I am using the GPS with another app (running app) and it found the satellites very fast...

Something else, if you decide to buy a GPS app, make sure it will be compatible with future firmware (I think there was some problem with the last firmware and copilot) ndrive for that should be safe...


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: GPS Hack/
PostPosted: Mon Feb 01, 2010 3:04 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2009 12:27 pm
Posts: 147
Welcome to the magix box of GPS functionality with Archos.

To me waiting 10 minutes in the car to get a fix to start your drive to get from A to B is just ridicilous and not of any use (except if I know the route and start driving and get the fix during my journey hahaha)


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: GPS Hack/
PostPosted: Mon Feb 01, 2010 3:40 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 3:41 pm
Posts: 38
I totally agreed!!!! I am trying it so it's not like if I am doing a long trip, it's more like going to the office and back home.... twice it manage to get a fix when I reached my destination, and she said nicely to me " You have reach your destination" AH!!!!!!!!!!!!! How bad is that!!!!!!!!!!!!!

But does someone know if the problem come from the GPS or from ndrive? At the moment I put the device on my counter, using the car mount will give me a better reception? I doubt it as I tried to wait for the connection outside the car and it didn't work too...

Estelle


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: GPS Hack/
PostPosted: Mon Feb 01, 2010 6:44 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 12:10 pm
Posts: 6598
Some people report getting faster lock-on times with other applications. You might want to try using Google Maps (which will require the Market and Navigation hacks).

Michael


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: GPS Hack/
PostPosted: Tue Feb 02, 2010 11:53 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2010 1:31 pm
Posts: 12
Tried Google Maps but didn't like it (because you need wifi connection), don't want to pay money, but MapDroyd is great - I walked around my town in UK tonight and it was very accurate at street junctions and landmarks. Fast GPS lock.

Can you add POIs to it?


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: GPS Hack/
PostPosted: Wed Feb 03, 2010 6:14 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2009 10:21 pm
Posts: 15
Does it include TTS?

quick wrote:
No need for a hack.

MapDroyd is there too.
Offline maps.
No need for WiFi
Completely free and opensource.
Pretty accurate.
Details are ok.

http://www.mapdroyd.com/


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: GPS Hack/
PostPosted: Wed Feb 03, 2010 10:57 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 3:41 pm
Posts: 38
I may try MapDroyd today.

But I have found something ...(I should start to be used to that solution as I have the same problem when I want to record a movie on my tv when the DVR)......
To get a fast fix on the satellite: Reboot your archos to be sure that there is nothing running in the background.... Even if you are sure, just doing a reboot before you go out and explore will give you a faster connection... Anyway for me it seams to work.

They have some issues with managing the tasks, I hope that the next firmware will solve it!

Estelle


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: GPS Hack/
PostPosted: Wed Feb 03, 2010 11:07 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 3:41 pm
Posts: 38
I am right to think that MapDroyd doesn't do navigation?


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: GPS Hack/
PostPosted: Wed Feb 03, 2010 11:17 am 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2010 5:41 pm
Posts: 65
As far as I know , not in terms of giving you directions like car navigation.


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: GPS Hack/
PostPosted: Wed Feb 03, 2010 11:28 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 3:41 pm
Posts: 38
Thanks Quick, I am not going to even try it then :(:(

Hopefully using ndrive and doing a reboot before a journey will do it for me....


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: GPS Hack/
PostPosted: Thu Jul 14, 2011 11:18 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2010 10:55 pm
Posts: 4
I agree with the reboot thing. What I have also done in the past is, make sure GPS is 'on', reboot the device 10 minutes before i want to leave, start the nDrive software while still in house (it won't find GPS, but seems to give it loading time to stabilize), go to car, place on dash for 1 minute.

that was my "old" solution.

now, i got a nifty little dashmount/craddle for it and it works like a charm. it seems that 'holding' the device would block the signal. like the iPhone4 issues with lefties. only issue i have is if i start driving "too" fast for it to triangulate. then it can be slow. or yesterday in downtown NYC i kind of had to guess a bit on where to turn, but it's easy enough if you are aware of the instability in metro-cores.

i bought this thing: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B004DETDS4
i actually take it on business trips with me now cause it just works so easily.

i'm gonna try MapDroyd now ... seems cool.


Top
   
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Hosted by Forumatic™