Forum.ArchosFans.com
Archos 80 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 8GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 80 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 250GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 101 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 8GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 101 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 250GB: Buy now (free shipping)
 * Register    * Login 

It is currently Mon Sep 01, 2014 9:59 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour



Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 111 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Jan 27, 2010 1:23 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 12:10 pm
Posts: 6598
Posted to http://archosfans.com/2010/01/27/archos ... d-pricing/

Image
Image

8GB model - £150!

Listed as available in March.

http://www.data-mind.co.uk/acatalog/inf ... 463%2ehtml

EDIT: The link appears to be down now.

Michael


Last edited by map002 on Wed Jan 27, 2010 3:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 27, 2010 1:28 am 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 3:21 am
Posts: 53
Location: Mountain View, CA
Nice, but that does seem like an unfortunate placement for the headphone jack.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 27, 2010 1:33 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 9:31 pm
Posts: 589
Pretty much inevitable, but if the 7 is much bigger than the 5 I don't think they will sell as well as the 5.

Why? You don't gain anything except size, and only a little bit of that. Resolution is the same. The 5 will slip in a shirt pocket, but just barely. A 7" version won't have the same portability. Once you exceed pocketablilty you might as well jump up to the 9.

And 8gb? It may keep the price low to seduce the poor folks, but it won't take many movies (the best reason to own one) to fill up that space. Archos should have added Skype to it.

In any case, thanks for posting the "news" about it.


Last edited by 4DThinker on Wed Jan 27, 2010 1:36 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 27, 2010 1:33 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 12:10 pm
Posts: 6598
So, let's see...

The on/off is a toggle now. It was a bit too easy to hit the power button accidentally before.

DC in! No more 'you have to trickle charge unless you've got a dock'...

Are those two speakers? Stereo?

WebCam!! Perhaps the OS will become more VOIP friendly?

Ape? Does the AMC support that yet? Hmm, another audiophile favorite codec, good stuff.

Lyric support as well. Maybe that new AMC interface I've been going on about is coming up?

Still no hardware buttons? Will Henri win his bet?

Mass Storage support for all three OSes?!

Great stuff!

Michael


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 27, 2010 1:43 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 12:10 pm
Posts: 6598
Hmmm, I'm also noticing that funny thing on the rear right had corner sticking out a bit...

Anyone got a theory as to what that might be?

Michael


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 27, 2010 1:48 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 9:31 pm
Posts: 589
map002 wrote:
Hmmm, I'm also noticing that funny thing on the rear right had corner sticking out a bit... Anyone got a theory as to what that might be? Michael
I think you're seeing the bump-out for the headphone jack and DC-in.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 27, 2010 1:57 am 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2009 12:28 am
Posts: 78
wwalraven wrote:
Nice, but that does seem like an unfortunate placement for the headphone jack.

Isn't on the side like the A5? why is that a bad spot to plug in?

_________________
A5A 1.777 M4A


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 27, 2010 1:58 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 1:01 am
Posts: 1725
Location: Richmond VA USA
DC in! No more 'you have to trickle charge unless you've got a dock'...

Now if they keep it to 5V that would be the sweetest of all!


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 27, 2010 2:05 am 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2009 4:51 pm
Posts: 139
From the look of the screen, it's not Android 2 - how sad. Looks like a non-starter.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 27, 2010 2:21 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 12:10 pm
Posts: 6598
Hi Formerceo,

The 'screenshot' looks like a mockup to me. And it's showing the Archos Home app. How does that tell you what version of Android will be on it?

Oh, and I just noticed that there are no AMC widgets depicted on the screen...

Michael


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 27, 2010 2:27 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 12:10 pm
Posts: 6598
4DThinker wrote:
I think you're seeing the bump-out for the headphone jack and DC-in.
Yup, I see that now.

Michael


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 27, 2010 2:38 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Wed Nov 25, 2009 6:15 pm
Posts: 1559
Location: Milwaukee (GMT - 6)
XXX grams!!!


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 27, 2010 2:43 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 12:10 pm
Posts: 6598
Yes, it's weight and battery life are only for those above the age of 18 (or 21, depending on your local laws).

The adult content in the specs might also mean the box may have to be sold in a plain brown paper sack from behind the counter.

This is a bold move by Archos to seize the large adult market ignored by Apple and Microsoft. Then again, it is an Internet Tablet and, as we all know, the Internet is for porn.

Michael


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 27, 2010 2:48 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 12:00 am
Posts: 404
Well,

I now see my next big IT purchase.

That A7A finally puts to rest most of the wants that I had when I first started looking at the NOKIA N7-8-900 series units. The webcam was the only thing that I had given up on.

Now, as long as they don't try and call advances on April Fools Day, I am a pertty happy camper.

Though I would love confirmation of removable battery and actual battery life stats for music an video.

C'MON 10 hours video run-time! (Hey, a guy can dream, can't he?)

_________________
704,5,5A,7,&A70


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 27, 2010 2:49 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 12:00 am
Posts: 404
map002 wrote:
Yes, it's weight and battery life are only for those above the age of 18 (or 21, depending on your local laws).

The adult content in the specs might also mean the box may have to be sold in a plain brown paper sack from behind the counter.

This is a bold move by Archos to seize the large adult market ignored by Apple and Microsoft. Then again, it is an Internet Tablet and, as we all know, the Internet is for porn.

Michael

LOL!!

Must include the warning: "FOR EXTERNAL USE ONLY!" ;-)

_________________
704,5,5A,7,&A70


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 27, 2010 3:02 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 12:10 pm
Posts: 6598
knorris908 wrote:
C'MON 10 hours video run-time! (Hey, a guy can dream, can't he?)
Well, if the Xs are Roman Numerals...

10 Hours Video, 20 hours music and 30 grams? :lol:

Michael


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 27, 2010 3:05 am 
Offline
Archos Expert
Archos Expert

Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2010 12:21 am
Posts: 196
Microphone is still next to the speaker.

Brilliant.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 27, 2010 3:18 am 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2009 4:51 pm
Posts: 139
Michael:

I still see the AppsLib, and the icons look like Android 1.5 Icons - I have a Motorola Droid as my mobile and the 2.0 Icons look totally different.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 27, 2010 3:53 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 12:10 pm
Posts: 6598
Moving to Android 2.x would not mean no AppsLib. Android 2.x has nothing to do with Archos' app store.

And there are no Google applications on the desktop to have different icons. Those are all either Archos or 3rd Party apps.

And of course the Archos Home (the desktop) is an app and would likely look the same running on any version of Android (but would never look quite like it does here in this bad Photoshop collage of a desktop).

As far as I can tell, there's nothing on this mockup to indicate what version of the OS it would theoretically be running on (I say theoretically because it's pretty obviously a mockup and therefore isn't 'running' at all). And funnily enough, one of the apps is for the TV snap-on they discontinued... :D

Now that isn't to say I expect Archos to be done with their first 2.x release for March. 1.6 took about 3 months to get going. If it's a similar timeframe, March might just be possible. But it might be a tight squeeze.

We'll see!

Michael


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 27, 2010 4:40 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 5:50 pm
Posts: 269
I asked technical support yesterday while talking to them on another issue and I asked if there would be a 7 android and he said no way.


Top
   
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 111 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Yahoo [Bot] and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Hosted by Forumatic™