Forum.ArchosFans.com
Archos 80 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 8GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 80 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 250GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 101 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 8GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 101 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 250GB: Buy now (free shipping)
 * Register    * Login 

It is currently Wed Sep 17, 2014 2:32 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour



Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Jan 11, 2010 10:44 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 5:04 pm
Posts: 74
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA
I have a notification: "Damaged internal storage. Internal storage damaged. You may have to reformat it." :shock:

Ulp. Everything *seems* to be running OK. But I can read. So questions.

1. Anyone ever run across this message before as a false alarm?

2. If so, does this point to my 32 GB SSD, or my microSDHC?

3. Any other advice, last words, etc?

Thanks. Genghis


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 11, 2010 10:50 pm 
Offline
Archos Expert
Archos Expert

Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2009 3:36 am
Posts: 209
Location: Tampa, FL USA
Can you consistently make it give you that message? IF it were me, I'd do a full reformat, reflash, reinitial, the whole thing. And then try to recreate the problem. I wouldn't feel comfortable with that message hanging over me even if the system seemed to work OK.

But that's me. ;)


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 11, 2010 11:23 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 5:04 pm
Posts: 74
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA
ZBoater wrote:
Can you consistently make it give you that message? IF it were me, I'd do a full reformat, reflash, reinitial, the whole thing. And then try to recreate the problem. I wouldn't feel comfortable with that message hanging over me even if the system seemed to work OK.


Good points. I powered off and on. No message. At least for now. Maybe the message was caused by the then USB connection with my computer :?: In any event, when it's time to replace my Defective Donut FW with Good Donut, or Eclair, or Flan, or Prime Rib, I think I will do a full reformat, reflash, reinitial, the whole kit and kaboodle.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 11, 2010 11:44 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2009 9:27 pm
Posts: 84
GenghisKhent wrote:
I have a notification: "Damaged internal storage. Internal storage damaged. You may have to reformat it." :shock:

Ulp. Everything *seems* to be running OK. But I can read. So questions.

1. Anyone ever run across this message before as a false alarm?

2. If so, does this point to my 32 GB SSD, or my microSDHC?

3. Any other advice, last words, etc?

Thanks. Genghis


I came across that message a number of times. It'd happen when I disconnect the archos from the PC. I was using ExtFSD to be able to mount the Archos as a mass storage device. I don't know if that caused the problem, but seeing as I'd get the message immediately after disconnecting, I presumed it was.

I eventually formatted the Archos and flashed the withdrawn firmware onto it. Now I use the program ExtIFS and continue to mount the device as a mass storage device. Seems to work well now. Although when I disconnect I get a message saying preparing internal storage... checking drive for errors. But it hasn't come up as a damaged drive. I don't know if it's a problem just waiting to happen again.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 12, 2010 12:20 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 12:10 pm
Posts: 6598
Make sure you always unmount the A5A as a USB device before you unplug it.

This usually happens when the disk is still being written to, and sometimes, Windows holds off on writing to make things go faster. It only empties the write cache for sure when you unmount *and* let the unmount process finish.

Hope that's helpful!

Michael


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 12, 2010 12:51 am 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 2:38 pm
Posts: 79
if the unit uses ext3 as the file system it would make sense. the IFS driver mounts the partition as ext2, which is fine and dandy because it is backwards compatible, but when it is unmounted, the A5A will run a disk checker to add the files you just copied to the journal, which is used by ext3, but not ext2.


Top
   
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Hosted by Forumatic™