Forum.ArchosFans.com
Archos 80 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 8GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 80 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 250GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 101 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 8GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 101 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 250GB: Buy now (free shipping)
 * Register    * Login 

It is currently Tue Oct 21, 2014 7:23 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour



Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 127 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 7  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Nov 26, 2009 11:08 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2009 10:43 pm
Posts: 6
I have just managed to get android market, google mail, goole talk, etc. working on archos device: it has been tested on latest 1.4.8 firmware.
For now the install script relies on adb and is working on linux. Please report if it is working on your device.
I genuinely do not understand why archos or google are preventing users to use market on such devices...

My recipe: get the apks from devphone image http://developer.htc.com/adp.html and use the following installation script.

Code:
#!/bin/sh

# apk from http://developer.htc.com/adp.html

LOCAL_DIR="`dirname $0`"
SYSTEM_HTC=signed-dream_devphone_userdebug-ota-150275

if ! test -d ${LOCAL_DIR}/system;then
   if ! test -f ${LOCAL_DIR}/${SYSTEM_HTC}.zip;then
      wget "http://member.america.htc.com/download/RomCode/ADP/${SYSTEM_HTC}.zip" || exit 1
   fi

   mkdir -p ${LOCAL_DIR}/system/framework || exit 1
   mkdir -p ${LOCAL_DIR}/system/app || exit 1

   unzip -j -o ${LOCAL_DIR}/${SYSTEM_HTC}.zip \
      system/app/Gmail.apk \
      system/app/GmailProvider.apk \
      system/app/checkin.apk \
      system/app/GoogleApps.apk \
      system/app/GoogleContactsProvider.apk \
      system/app/GooglePartnerSetup.apk \
      system/app/GoogleSettingsProvider.apk \
      system/app/GoogleSubscribedFeedsProvider.apk \
      system/app/gtalkservice.apk \
      system/app/Maps.apk \
      system/app/MediaUploader.apk \
      system/app/NetworkLocation.apk \
      system/app/SetupWizard.apk \
      system/app/Street.apk \
      system/app/Talk.apk \
      system/app/Vending.apk \
      system/app/YouTube.apk \
      system/app/Calendar.apk \
      system/app/CalendarProvider.apk \
      -d ${LOCAL_DIR}/system/app ||┬áexit 1

   unzip -j -o ${LOCAL_DIR}/${SYSTEM_HTC}.zip \
      system/framework/com.google.android.gtalkservice.jar \
      system/framework/com.google.android.maps.jar \
      -d ${LOCAL_DIR}/system/framework || exit 1
fi

adb push ${LOCAL_DIR}/system /data/test/system || exit 1

exit 0



Installation archive is there http://rapidshare.com/files/312658341/m ... s.zip.html but limited to 10 downloads...


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2009 2:22 am 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 2:40 am
Posts: 7052
Location: Copenhagen
Interesting! Who can confirm this works and post snapshots or even videos?

I found a rapidshare link to the file that doesn't have the 10 downloads limit: http://rapidshare.com/files/312721352/market4archos.zip

It'd be nice with a working Google Listen as well: http://rapidshare.com/files/270129235/c ... listen.rar

I think the latest rumor that someone posted here in the forum after having spoken to an Archos tech support guy, is that Archos is planning for full Google Experience with Market and everything to be officially available around the middle of December with the Android 2.0 firmware update. That Archos has submitted all the paperwork to Google for the certification of the Archos hardware for 2.0 Marketplace and all the Google Apps.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2009 4:59 am 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Fri Nov 20, 2009 6:12 pm
Posts: 116
Maybe this is a dumb question, but can you elaborate on the install process?

Or a link to learn about adb?


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:05 am 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Fri Nov 20, 2009 6:12 pm
Posts: 116
Nevermind, found it.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2009 7:02 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 2:40 am
Posts: 7052
Location: Copenhagen
Anyone else got this working? Comon, this is big!


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2009 8:29 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Fri Nov 20, 2009 6:12 pm
Posts: 116
I can't seem to get adb devices to show my archos, its empty.

This is on ubuntu 9.10 and newest firmware.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2009 9:26 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Fri Nov 13, 2009 4:17 am
Posts: 142
Location: Indiana, USA
Why does no one use MediaFire already? Links would be helpful that work...


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2009 10:11 pm 
Offline
Archos Staff
Archos Staff

Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 10:05 pm
Posts: 165
Gee: tried it on my device and it works! I am a linux user so it was easy to launch the script. Just put your Archos5 IT in adb connect and run install.sh. You need afterwards to reboot and there is a new android registration wizard.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2009 10:32 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2009 1:08 am
Posts: 682
How would I do this on Windows XP?

_________________
32GB A5A Owner


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2009 10:56 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2009 11:22 pm
Posts: 11
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Could someone please post a video tutorial on how to get this working on the Archos 5IT?

Thanks in advance!

-Billy


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 28, 2009 4:07 am 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 2:40 am
Posts: 7052
Location: Copenhagen
I think that you need to have the ADB connection setup and you need use the Android SDK tools on Linux: viewtopic.php?f=47&t=26483

If someone who has these Google Apps working would like to post some pictures and even videos, that would be really cool, and I would post that as news on the http://archosfans.com blog..

I'm on Ubuntu but I haven't tried setting up this ADB connection thing yet.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 28, 2009 5:47 am 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Fri Nov 20, 2009 6:12 pm
Posts: 116
Yea, I have posts on that thread, can't get adb working.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 28, 2009 10:29 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2009 7:37 pm
Posts: 13
Yesssss perfect !!!!
This works great !!!!
Installed and market works

The only command you need on xp is the following when you managed to dowload market4archos.zip

adb push system /data/test/system

Going to try and see what i can install with this.

Thanx for the tip.

edit:

google listen could be downloaded through market and works also.


Last edited by Vastloper on Sat Nov 28, 2009 10:33 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 28, 2009 10:31 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2009 11:22 pm
Posts: 11
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Charbax wrote:
I think that you need to have the ADB connection setup and you need use the Android SDK tools on Linux: viewtopic.php?f=47&t=26483

If someone who has these Google Apps working would like to post some pictures and even videos, that would be really cool, and I would post that as news on the http://archosfans.com blog..

I'm on Ubuntu but I haven't tried setting up this ADB connection thing yet.

Ah, ok... That's a shame... I wish there was a way for regular users to get the Google apps on their Archos 5IT!


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 28, 2009 10:34 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2009 7:37 pm
Posts: 13
billywanzi wrote:
Charbax wrote:
I think that you need to have the ADB connection setup and you need use the Android SDK tools on Linux: viewtopic.php?f=47&t=26483

If someone who has these Google Apps working would like to post some pictures and even videos, that would be really cool, and I would post that as news on the http://archosfans.com blog..

I'm on Ubuntu but I haven't tried setting up this ADB connection thing yet.

Ah, ok... That's a shame... I wish there was a way for regular users to get the Google apps on their Archos 5IT!



You can download the adb tools om the archos site !


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 28, 2009 11:34 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 4:46 am
Posts: 404
What for great news no more Appslib, but real Direct Browser Marketplace support perfect :)

worked :) (had to disable firewall)

I:\ADB>adb push system /data/test/system
push: system/app/YouTube.apk -> /data/test/system/app/YouTube.apk
push: system/app/Vending.apk -> /data/test/system/app/Vending.apk
push: system/app/Talk.apk -> /data/test/system/app/Talk.apk
push: system/app/Street.apk -> /data/test/system/app/Street.apk
push: system/app/SetupWizard.apk -> /data/test/system/app/SetupWizard.apk
push: system/app/NetworkLocation.apk -> /data/test/system/app/NetworkLocation.ap
k
push: system/app/MediaUploader.apk -> /data/test/system/app/MediaUploader.apk
push: system/app/Maps.apk -> /data/test/system/app/Maps.apk
push: system/app/gtalkservice.apk -> /data/test/system/app/gtalkservice.apk
push: system/app/GoogleSubscribedFeedsProvider.apk -> /data/test/system/app/Goog
leSubscribedFeedsProvider.apk
push: system/app/GoogleSettingsProvider.apk -> /data/test/system/app/GoogleSetti
ngsProvider.apk
push: system/app/GooglePartnerSetup.apk -> /data/test/system/app/GooglePartnerSe
tup.apk
push: system/app/GoogleContactsProvider.apk -> /data/test/system/app/GoogleConta
ctsProvider.apk
push: system/app/GoogleApps.apk -> /data/test/system/app/GoogleApps.apk
push: system/app/GmailProvider.apk -> /data/test/system/app/GmailProvider.apk
push: system/app/Gmail.apk -> /data/test/system/app/Gmail.apk
push: system/app/checkin.apk -> /data/test/system/app/checkin.apk
push: system/app/CalendarProvider.apk -> /data/test/system/app/CalendarProvider.
apk
push: system/app/Calendar.apk -> /data/test/system/app/Calendar.apk
push: system/framework/com.google.android.maps.jar -> /data/test/system/framewor
k/com.google.android.maps.jar
push: system/framework/com.google.android.gtalkservice.jar -> /data/test/system/
framework/com.google.android.gtalkservice.jar
21 files pushed. 0 files skipped.
345 KB/s (4220367 bytes in 11.921s)

PS: Waaaa many of the stuff is bound to a Google Account i surely wont give Google my Cellphone Number :P


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 28, 2009 5:23 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 2:40 am
Posts: 7052
Location: Copenhagen
Vastloper wrote:
billywanzi wrote:
Charbax wrote:
I think that you need to have the ADB connection setup and you need use the Android SDK tools on Linux: viewtopic.php?f=47&t=26483

If someone who has these Google Apps working would like to post some pictures and even videos, that would be really cool, and I would post that as news on the http://archosfans.com blog..

I'm on Ubuntu but I haven't tried setting up this ADB connection thing yet.

Ah, ok... That's a shame... I wish there was a way for regular users to get the Google apps on their Archos 5IT!



You can download the adb tools om the archos site !


From here I guess: ftp://support.archos.com/ARCHOS%205%20I ... ablet/ADB/


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 28, 2009 5:26 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 2:40 am
Posts: 7052
Location: Copenhagen
JKK posted a step by step guide and pictures: http://jkkmobile.blogspot.com/2009/11/a ... t-and.html


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 28, 2009 7:42 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 2:40 am
Posts: 7052
Location: Copenhagen
I posted a video showing all the Google Apps and Google Marketplace working on Archos here: http://archosfans.com/2009/11/28/google ... h-android/


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 28, 2009 7:53 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2009 8:58 pm
Posts: 108
Got everything up and running, however unable to d/l any apps from Marketplace....gets stuck on STARTING DOWNLOAD but never actually d/ls anything....anyone else with this issue?


Top
   
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 127 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 7  Next

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 20 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Hosted by Forumatic™