Forum.ArchosFans.com
Archos 80 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 8GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 80 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 250GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 101 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 8GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 101 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 250GB: Buy now (free shipping)
 * Register    * Login 

It is currently Sat Nov 29, 2014 2:07 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour



Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 52 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Oct 15, 2009 2:51 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2009 2:19 pm
Posts: 30
Location: Sweden
I'm happy to see the latest Archos 5 Internet Tablet firmware update (1.1.01) enables ADB (Android Debug Bridge). This is a major step forward in efficient development of apps for this tablet device.

Here's how to enable use of Android Debug Bridge on Ubuntu (Linux) with this Archos product once you have the 1.1.01 firmware installed:

Set the tablet USB connection in ADB mode (Device storage & USB connection->USB connection mode->Debug bridge (ADB)) and connect its USB cable to your
Ubuntu machine.

Do:

lsusb

This will list USB devices connected to your machine.
A list of USB devices will be shown. For example:

Bus 001 Device 016: ID 18d1:0002
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 004 Device 012: ID 049f:0086 Compaq Computer Corp. Bluetooth Device
Bus 004 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 003 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub


In this case our new friend; the Archos 5 Internet Tablet is the first line shown above. Pay attention to the first ID hex code part "18d1".
(Archos forgot to add descriptive text so that part is blank).

That id is used in the following steps to identify this unit.

Create a new file (as root)

sudo gedit /etc/udev/rules.d/51-android.rules

with the following content

SUBSYSTEM=="usb", SYSFS{idVendor}=="18d1", MODE="0666"

Make sure that the text after {idVendor} is the same as the device id found when using the lsusb command. Save and exit the editor

To make execution of the rule possible, perform a chmod

sudo chmod a+rx /etc/udev/rules.d/51-android.rules

To make the rule active, restart udev

sudo /etc/init.d/udev restart

Final check

To check if the device is available use the adb tool (which is part of the Android SDK. Download and installation instructions at http://code.google.com/android)

adb devices

This will return a list of attached devices.

List of devices attached
0123456789ABCDEF device


Yipeee! Who cares they forgot to change that default string; your Archos 5 Internet Tablet is now ready to be used in application development!
You can run the set of adb commands towards it and run on-device debugging (ODD).

I tested some ODD briefly with Eclipse and the 1.5 Android SDK and it works.

Regarding that "51-android.rules" file; in case you work with several other Android devices as well in development you can list these are further entries in the same rules file. Here's an example where I attached three different devices,
the Archos, a HTC Hero, and a Google ADP1 (HTC Dream).

Both the HTC devices share the same vendor id so they can share the same rules entry. This shows two entries in the rules file that cater for the three devices mentioned:

# Archos 5 Internet Media Tablet
SUBSYSTEM=="usb", SYSFS{idVendor}=="18d1", MODE="0666"
# HTC device (ADP1,Hero)
SUBSYSTEM=="usb", SYSFS{idVendor}=="0bb4", MODE="0666"

adb lists the three devices:
adb devices
List of devices attached
HT97KL900624 device
0123456789ABCDEF device
HT94LLZ00229 device


In this example when launching a debug session in Eclipse the following panel pops up asking
for which device to debug on:
Image
so, this makes this pretty much plug and play.

Some trivia: It seems Archos have not yet configured ADB the way they should (as seen by the unchanged default strings above). The 18d1 value is identical to an ID that shows up in the HTC EXCA300 ("Google Sooner") device, an Android prototype unit provided for universities and companies, see for example this Stanford University page: http://android.stanford.edu/index.php/Main_Page
I think HTC should have launched these commercially. They look cool !

(Credits: Modeled loosely after this blog post by Johan de Koning February 2009)

/gunnar MEDIAL Maskin & Data, Sweden http://medial.com


Last edited by gunnar-medial on Thu Oct 15, 2009 5:55 pm, edited 5 times in total.

Top
   
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 15, 2009 3:10 pm 
Nice work. I think this should be a sticky thread.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 15, 2009 3:57 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2009 7:06 pm
Posts: 141
Location: Boston, Ma
Ahh works perfectly. I was entering the wrong hex id :)

_________________
- Tim Strazzere


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 20, 2009 6:16 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2009 6:07 am
Posts: 2
I followed these instructions on Debian Sid. No dice getting adb to recognize the device. I have enabled adb on the archos.

:~$ lsusb
Bus 004 Device 002: ID 08ff:2810 AuthenTec, Inc.
Bus 004 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 003 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 006 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 007 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 008 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 005 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 001 Device 006: ID 0e79:1361 Archos, Inc.
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub

I put this in /etc/udev/rules.d/51-android.rules
SUBSYSTEM=="usb", SYSFS{idVendor}=="0e79", MODE="0666"

I changed permissions of 51-android.rules and re-started udev. I also tried re-attaching the archos and rebooting sid but nothing good yet.
Any advice?


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 22, 2009 11:00 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 10:56 am
Posts: 1
Hi
i have the same problem, lsusb reports
Bus 002 Device 020: ID 0e79:1361 Archos, Inc

here's my udev file
#HTC DREAM ADP1
SUBSYSTEMS=="usb", ATTRS{idVendor}=="0bb4", ATTRS{idProduct}=="0c01", GROUP="androiddev", SYMLINK+="android%n"
SUBSYSTEMS=="usb", ATTRS{idVendor}=="0bb4", ATTRS{idProduct}=="0c02", GROUP="androiddev", SYMLINK+="android%n"
SUBSYSTEMS=="usb", ATTRS{idVendor}=="0bb4", ATTRS{idProduct}=="0fff", GROUP="androiddev", SYMLINK+="android-fastboot%n
#ARCHOS 5 Internet Tablet
SUBSYSTEMS=="usb", ATTRS{idVendor}=="0e79", ATTRS{idProduct}=="1361", GROUP="androiddev", SYMLINK+="android%n"
SUBSYSTEMS=="usb", ATTRS{idVendor}=="18d1", ATTRS{idProduct}=="0002", GROUP="androiddev", SYMLINK+="android%n"

archos is not recognized :(

any tipps ?


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 29, 2009 10:57 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2009 2:19 pm
Posts: 30
Location: Sweden
I'll take a look when I get to the place where I left my USB cable; upgrade won't work without external power :|


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 18, 2009 10:53 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2009 10:48 am
Posts: 1
Is it necessary to take the different types of certification such as pmp certification and as well as the vmware certification to understand the Lunix in its real sense. I have to take the membership of the testking which is consider the best site in this aspect.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 18, 2009 10:50 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2009 2:19 pm
Posts: 30
Location: Sweden
I don't know what's up there. I updated to latest firmware 1.3.07 some minutes ago,
and I still see the same old id as before:
Bus 001 Device 007: ID 18d1:0002
and "adb devices" say:
0123456789ABCDEF device


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 25, 2009 9:08 am 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2007 7:33 pm
Posts: 54
danwoz wrote:
I followed these instructions on Debian Sid. No dice getting adb to recognize the device. I have enabled adb on the archos.

:~$ lsusb
Bus 004 Device 002: ID 08ff:2810 AuthenTec, Inc.
Bus 004 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 003 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 006 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 007 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 008 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 005 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 001 Device 006: ID 0e79:1361 Archos, Inc.
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub

I put this in /etc/udev/rules.d/51-android.rules
SUBSYSTEM=="usb", SYSFS{idVendor}=="0e79", MODE="0666"

I changed permissions of 51-android.rules and re-started udev. I also tried re-attaching the archos and rebooting sid but nothing good yet.
Any advice?

As said in the first post, you should change your device-usb mode to Debug bridge (ADB).

gunnar-medial wrote:
Set the tablet USB connection in ADB mode (Device storage & USB connection->USB connection mode->Debug bridge (ADB)) and connect its USB cable to your Ubuntu machine.


When you do so, you will see that there is a device with ID 18d1:0002.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 25, 2009 12:24 pm 
Offline
Archos Staff
Archos Staff

Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2007 6:17 pm
Posts: 712
Location: Archos SA, France
gunnar-medial wrote:

Some trivia: It seems Archos have not yet configured ADB the way they should (as seen by the unchanged default strings above). The 18d1 value is identical to an ID that shows up in the HTC EXCA300 ("Google Sooner") device, an Android prototype unit provided for universities and companies, see for example this Stanford University page: http://android.stanford.edu/index.php/Main_Page
I think HTC should have launched these commercially. They look cool !

/gunnar MEDIAL Maskin & Data, Sweden http://medial.com


we fixed that


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2009 7:11 am 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Fri Nov 20, 2009 6:12 pm
Posts: 116
adb devices shows no devices here, running newsest Archos Firmware and Ubuntu 9.10


Any ideas?


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2009 2:07 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2007 7:33 pm
Posts: 54
Jameth wrote:
adb devices shows no devices here, running newsest Archos Firmware and Ubuntu 9.10


Any ideas?

Edit: same problem here...


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2009 9:35 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Fri Nov 20, 2009 6:12 pm
Posts: 116
I would really like to get this goin!

I have searched and read and tried just about everything, no luck.

Anyone?


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2009 9:39 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Fri Nov 20, 2009 6:12 pm
Posts: 116
nz wrote:
gunnar-medial wrote:

Some trivia: It seems Archos have not yet configured ADB the way they should (as seen by the unchanged default strings above). The 18d1 value is identical to an ID that shows up in the HTC EXCA300 ("Google Sooner") device, an Android prototype unit provided for universities and companies, see for example this Stanford University page: http://android.stanford.edu/index.php/Main_Page
I think HTC should have launched these commercially. They look cool !

/gunnar MEDIAL Maskin & Data, Sweden http://medial.com


we fixed that



Does this mean you fixed the name, but broke ADP?


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 28, 2009 11:56 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sat Oct 10, 2009 11:47 am
Posts: 17
Hi all.

I'm running firmware 1.4.08.
With XP the ADB drivers will not be installed.
Downloaded an Ubuntu 8.04 VMWare.
Powered up the machine and works nice.
Turned Archos device's ADB mode on.
Device recognized:

Code:
Bus 001 Device 007: ID 0e79:1361 Archos, Inc.


Changed 51-android.rules to

Code:
SUBSYSTEM=="usb", SYSFS{idVendor}=="0e79", MODE="0666"


Restarted hardware detection
Code:
sudo /etc/init.d/udev restart


Code:
>adb devices
List of devices attached


No ADB device, yet. So, know i don't know how to get this ADB bridge running.

Anyone any idea what I have to do to get my device recognized?

Many thanks,
Andreas


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 28, 2009 6:54 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Fri Nov 20, 2009 6:12 pm
Posts: 116
I'm stuck there as well.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 28, 2009 10:07 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sat Oct 10, 2009 11:47 am
Posts: 17
Sooooo,

finally I've got the device driver installed under Windows Vista. XP doesn't work for me.
But I have to use to use a .inf file with with CR/LF instead of the Archos provided file with CR only!!

So, If you have problems under XP or Vista you should replace those CR with CR/LF.

Market and the rest is now running for me:) But, unfortunately my screen now has a large crack in the upper left due to a little accident and calibration is now really bad. It's sometimes pure luck to press the intended object.

Anyone knows how much a screen repair costs? If it's comparable to laptops, I suppose it's not worth it :(

Cheers,
Andreas


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Sun Nov 29, 2009 2:42 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2009 3:11 pm
Posts: 21
i'm having the same problem running "adb devices"


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Dec 02, 2009 1:52 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2009 2:47 pm
Posts: 17
TheUnknownCylon wrote:
danwoz wrote:
I followed these instructions on Debian Sid. No dice getting adb to recognize the device. I have enabled adb on the archos.

:~$ lsusb
Bus 004 Device 002: ID 08ff:2810 AuthenTec, Inc.
Bus 004 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 003 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 006 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 007 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 008 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 005 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 001 Device 006: ID 0e79:1361 Archos, Inc.
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub

I put this in /etc/udev/rules.d/51-android.rules
SUBSYSTEM=="usb", SYSFS{idVendor}=="0e79", MODE="0666"

I changed permissions of 51-android.rules and re-started udev. I also tried re-attaching the archos and rebooting sid but nothing good yet.
Any advice?

As said in the first post, you should change your device-usb mode to Debug bridge (ADB).

gunnar-medial wrote:
Set the tablet USB connection in ADB mode (Device storage & USB connection->USB connection mode->Debug bridge (ADB)) and connect its USB cable to your Ubuntu machine.


When you do so, you will see that there is a device with ID 18d1:0002.


This does not work for me. I always get
Code:
Bus 001 Device 006: ID 0e79:1361 Archos, Inc.
even if the device USB connection properties are set for Debug bridge. Is there some other trick to it?


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Tue Dec 08, 2009 5:12 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 9:50 pm
Posts: 9
I'm having the same issues as the other posters.

In Mass storage drive (MSC) mode, lsusb shows:
Bus 002 Device 055: ID 0e79:1350 Archos, Inc.

In Mobile media device (MTP) mode, lsusb shows:
Bus 002 Device 056: ID 0e79:1357 Archos, Inc.

In Debug bridge (ADB) mode, lsusb shows:
Bus 002 Device 058: ID 0e79:1361 Archos, Inc.

In Networking (USBNet) mode, lsusb shows:
Bus 002 Device 059: ID 0e79:1360 Archos, Inc.

dmesg shows nothing special.

Is anyone with device id 0e79 having success with the adb devices listing properly?


Top
   
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 52 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 16 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Hosted by Forumatic™