Forum.ArchosFans.com
Archos 80 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 8GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 80 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 250GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 101 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 8GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 101 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 250GB: Buy now (free shipping)
 * Register    * Login 

It is currently Fri Oct 31, 2014 10:30 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour



Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Sep 17, 2009 7:59 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 2:40 am
Posts: 7052
Location: Copenhagen
Archos Products/Marketing Manager R├®mi Durand says so in French in this video: http://archosfans.com/2009/09/17/4gb-mk ... splitting/

I am pretty sure he says larger files than 4GB are supported with no need to split them up first. I don't know how they do it..


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Thu Sep 17, 2009 9:00 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2007 6:46 pm
Posts: 1338
Location: NY
Archos: start shipping the Archos 5 Android to retailers!!!

This is awesome news! I wonder how they got past the 4GB limitation but above all I am super excited we can finally have HD content on the go and then resume playback from any HD television.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Thu Sep 17, 2009 9:06 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2009 11:17 am
Posts: 14
Historically the reason why files > 4Gb have had to be split is a limitation of the Windows file-system. Those of us who use Linux have never had that limitation.

I guess all it means is that they do not need to split files on account of the fact that internally the device uses something other than FAT 32.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Thu Sep 17, 2009 9:12 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2009 4:02 pm
Posts: 61
hot. QVC get on this with easy pay please!


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Thu Sep 17, 2009 9:15 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 5:15 am
Posts: 121
Location: Florida
Ok, I usually rip my movies using Fairuse wizard to my Archos 5 and it does the job great. Can someone tell me what the big deal is about MKV? I ask sincerely because I am considering buying the Archos Android 5 Internet Tablet, and would like to know what the benefit is of it playing MKV.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Thu Sep 17, 2009 9:17 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2007 6:46 pm
Posts: 1338
Location: NY
MKV is a container that is associated with Hi Def content which means a much better picture than your standard def divx or avi files.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Thu Sep 17, 2009 9:18 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 2:40 am
Posts: 7052
Location: Copenhagen
arielgon wrote:
Ok, I usually rip my movies using Fairuse wizard to my Archos 5 and it does the job great. Can someone tell me what the big deal is about MKV? I ask sincerely because I am considering buying the Archos Android 5 Internet Tablet, and would like to know what the benefit is of it playing MKV.


Your Fairuse XviD stuff is fine and perfect for your DVD resolution stuff. Even if you do some HD stuff for yourself.

MKV High Profile is important if you pirate 720p HD movies on the internet using BitTorrents. 98% of those 720p pirated movies are H264 high profile in the MKV container, and 90% of those are 4.37GB and 10% are longer movies or encoded in higher bitrates to fit on a dual-layer disc at 8.74GB per movie (or so).


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Thu Sep 17, 2009 9:20 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 5:15 am
Posts: 121
Location: Florida
I am guessing I need a Blu-ray to rip HD into MKV format


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Thu Sep 17, 2009 9:22 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 5:15 am
Posts: 121
Location: Florida
I meant to say "I am guessing I need a Blu-ray Drive to rip HD into MKV format


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Thu Sep 17, 2009 9:23 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 2:40 am
Posts: 7052
Location: Copenhagen
arielgon wrote:
I meant to say "I am guessing I need a Blu-ray Drive to rip HD into MKV format


Or any HD camcorder. I always encode from my HD camcorder in DivX HD so mine has worked since the HD plugin was available for the previous generation.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Thu Sep 17, 2009 9:29 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2007 6:46 pm
Posts: 1338
Location: NY
Charbax wrote:
arielgon wrote:
Ok, I usually rip my movies using Fairuse wizard to my Archos 5 and it does the job great. Can someone tell me what the big deal is about MKV? I ask sincerely because I am considering buying the Archos Android 5 Internet Tablet, and would like to know what the benefit is of it playing MKV.


Your Fairuse XviD stuff is fine and perfect for your DVD resolution stuff. Even if you do some HD stuff for yourself.

MKV High Profile is important if you pirate 720p HD movies on the internet using BitTorrents. 98% of those 720p pirated movies are H264 high profile in the MKV container, and 90% of those are 4.37GB and 10% are longer movies or encoded in higher bitrates to fit on a dual-layer disc at 8.74GB per movie (or so).


I don't know Charbax I have seen plenty of 720p HD movies available that are much more than 4.37GB; much more than 10% than whats available.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Thu Sep 17, 2009 9:32 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 11:44 am
Posts: 330
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
Quote:
I am pretty sure he says larger files than 4GB are supported with no need to split them up first. I don't know how they do it..


First of all, honestly i give a shit on what somebody says in a video, especially then if it's a PR person.Secondly, there are some older nas storage boxes that used a trick to store files larger in size than 4Gbyte on their internal FAT32 filesystem.Internally, they split the files into 4GByte chunks, but presented one file to the outside world.

Nevertheless, that's old stuff, because all other filesystems have support for large files.We know, that the current 5 supports ext3 on external media, so i see no issues to use that for the internal and usb partition as well.Oh i see one - you could not use the 5 then together with windows pcs, unless you install an ext3 driver - which is btw not a big deal.
Better choice would be NTFS, which is quite good supported in recent linux kernels.

Whatever they do - +4GB support is a must have.

regards,

TWELVE

_________________
Archos 5 250GB


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Thu Sep 17, 2009 9:34 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 2:40 am
Posts: 7052
Location: Copenhagen
TWELVEPACK wrote:
there are some older nas storage boxes that used a trick to store files larger in size than 4Gbyte on their internal FAT32 filesystem.Internally, they split the files into 4GByte chunks, but presented one file to the outside world.


Well that would be perfectly fine in my opinion. Who cares if Archos uses a trick to split the file up internally, as long as file transfer over USB of the big 4GB+ files is just as fast and as long as those are recognized as one big file by the Archos user interface and media player application and over USB mass storage.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 14, 2010 1:21 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 12:10 pm
Posts: 6598
Not really a good idea to visit Spammed sites like this. They are often loaded with various malware exploits a few of which can even affect Mac users now.

Plus, when they get hits, they figure their spamming is working and we get even more crap messages like this.

The best, safest thing to do with Spam is to ignore or report it.

Michael


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 14, 2010 9:22 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2007 4:32 am
Posts: 1153
Location: new york
Its a Linux formatted Hard-drive so it supports bigger file sizes. Otherwise, whats the point of using a Linux hard-drive and making it less compatible with other devices (you used to be able to file share with other usb devices using the mini docks usb connector in the previous gens, and you didn't need to have Windows media Player or EXT2 to view files on your computer.) It may also have something to do with Android but I don't know enough about android to make that claim.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 14, 2010 11:12 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 12:10 pm
Posts: 6598
This thread was from September of last year. It was just dredged up by a spammer.

Michael


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 15, 2010 5:13 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2007 4:32 am
Posts: 1153
Location: new york
Thanks for telling me I need to check the dates more often. :oops:


Top
   
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Exabot [Bot], Google Adsense [Bot] and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Hosted by Forumatic™