Forum.ArchosFans.com
Archos 80 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 8GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 80 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 250GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 101 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 8GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 101 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 250GB: Buy now (free shipping)
 * Register    * Login 

It is currently Tue Sep 30, 2014 12:46 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour



Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 58 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Aug 26, 2009 12:19 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2009 5:41 pm
Posts: 573
https://fjallfoss.fcc.gov/oetcf/eas/rep ... %27SOV7501

Image

Source:
http://www.engadget.com/2009/08/26/arch ... ed-by-fcc/

_________________
Owner of: A5IT,A5IMT,605wifi,AV500


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 26, 2009 1:54 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 12:59 am
Posts: 2880
Location: Toronto, Ontario
That just looks like a 5 with a white case on it.

_________________
Gr.9 tech lover


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 26, 2009 2:22 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2009 5:41 pm
Posts: 573
Externally, it looks mostly the same as Archos 5 (except for MicroSD slot, mini-USB, etc)

Internally the layout has changed a little:
Archos 5
Image

Archos A5S
Image

_________________
Owner of: A5IT,A5IMT,605wifi,AV500


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 26, 2009 2:24 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 2:40 am
Posts: 7052
Location: Copenhagen
Bluetooth, WiFi N, Accelerometers, FM transmitter/receiver, mini-USB connector, MicroSD card slot (is it only for the A5S?). I don't see the HSDPA sim card slot on these, to me it could have been placed where the MicroSD card slot is..

The rounder sides might be to improve WiFi N reception/emission quality, as well as it could host a microphone on one side and thus work as a big Android phone when put up to your ear. No confirmation of a microphone present at this point.

Thanks FCC for leaking this even though Archos seems to have asked for it to remain confidential.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 26, 2009 2:32 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2007 6:46 pm
Posts: 1338
Location: NY
Hell yeah! Thank you FCC! You just did Archos a favor....

By the way - what's the 5S and 5H stand for anyway?


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 26, 2009 2:33 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2007 6:46 pm
Posts: 1338
Location: NY
Chengbin wrote:
That just looks like a 5 with a white case on it.


I really hope, if its not a cover, that one can be purchased all in black; can't stay I am too warm over the white edges.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 26, 2009 2:33 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2009 5:41 pm
Posts: 573
Charbax wrote:

Thanks FCC for leaking this even though Archos seems to have asked for it to remain confidential.

They only requested the following remain confidential:
-Bill of materials
-Block diagrams
-Operational description
-Schematic diagrams

They did not request photos etc to remain confidential it would seem. Probably they are happy to start creating interest and getting articles on Engadget etc.

_________________
Owner of: A5IT,A5IMT,605wifi,AV500


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 26, 2009 2:52 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 2:40 am
Posts: 7052
Location: Copenhagen
kramer28 wrote:
Chengbin wrote:
That just looks like a 5 with a white case on it.


I really hope, if its not a cover, that one can be purchased all in black; can't stay I am too warm over the white edges.


All in black version:

Image

NO paint, the screen seems to be glossy looking at the reflections..


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 26, 2009 2:54 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Aug 20, 2009 2:56 pm
Posts: 22
i dont like the "bulky" sides but i guess they have a function (maybe better grip aswell)

i wonder what the difference is between th A5S and the A5H


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 26, 2009 3:01 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2007 6:46 pm
Posts: 1338
Location: NY
Thanks for the clarification Charbax

Just sighed...lol =D>


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 26, 2009 3:17 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 12:59 am
Posts: 2880
Location: Toronto, Ontario
This is tempting...

Specs please.

It seems 2cm longer than the 5.

_________________
Gr.9 tech lover


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 26, 2009 3:18 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2007 6:46 pm
Posts: 1338
Location: NY
Chengbin wrote:
This is tempting...

Specs please.

It seems 2cm longer than the 5.


I believe it has to do with those curved sides; I 2nd the note on some specs (hd size, video/codec information, etc.)


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 26, 2009 3:54 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 2:27 pm
Posts: 115
so does this have the same internal chips?

nothing more powerful?


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 26, 2009 4:08 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 2:40 am
Posts: 7052
Location: Copenhagen
BXbomber wrote:
so does this have the same internal chips?

nothing more powerful?


OMAP3440 vs OMAP3430, so it's got at least 3D Acceleration PowerVR added which could perhaps also accelerate certain applications like the browser for example (like Nvidia promising to accelerate Firefox with the 3D accelerator part of the Tegra chip). But also other things seem to be confirmed like Bluetooth, WiFi N, Accelerometers, micro-USB... I don't know if the DSP decoder and encoder chip could be more powerful.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 26, 2009 4:42 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2009 9:45 pm
Posts: 40
Since the A5S has a MicroSD card slot, I wasn't sure if I just didn't notice or realize what I am looking at, but is there a hard drive in the devise as well? Could archos fit in a 1.8" hard drive or will they have to embed 8+ GB?


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 26, 2009 4:57 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 2:40 am
Posts: 7052
Location: Copenhagen
Hysnuche wrote:
Since the A5S has a MicroSD card slot, I wasn't sure if I just didn't notice or realize what I am looking at, but is there a hard drive in the devise as well? Could archos fit in a 1.8" hard drive or will they have to embed 8+ GB?


I've been thinking for a bit, and I a would like to speculate that the specs and prices might be something like this:

Archos A5 : Flash memory or 1.8" hard drive 10mm thin form factor

Archos A5 16GB with microSD slot could be $199

Archos A5 120GB 1.8" hard drive could be $249

Archos A5 500GB 2.5" hard drive could be $349

Archos A5H : could mean HSDPA is built-in

Archos A5H 16GB with microSD slot could be $249 unlocked (subsidized to $1 if sold locked through carrier contracts)

Archos A5H 120GB could be $299 unlocked (subsidized to $49 if sold locked through carrier contracts)

Archos A5H 500GB could be $399 unlocked (subsidized to $149 if sold locked through carrier contracts)

Quote:
These prices are just my speculation! I have no official information! I have speculated about this since viewtopic.php?f=47&t=23496


I still haven't read through the FCC documents to see if I can find any other clues.

The only difference with my 30th April speculation/suggestion post could be they decided to name it Archos A5 instead of Archos 5A like I suggested..

If the H means HSDPA and not High Capacity, I would recommend Archos not to use the S in the name. Even if the Slimness factor would be a big selling point, and even if a Flash based version of the product can be sold below $200, I believe that just stating capacity should be good enough for the consumer to figure out if he is buying a Flash based, slim 1.8" hard drive or thick 2.5" hard drive version of the device.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 26, 2009 5:06 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2007 6:46 pm
Posts: 1338
Location: NY
Charbax wrote:
Hysnuche wrote:
Since the A5S has a MicroSD card slot, I wasn't sure if I just didn't notice or realize what I am looking at, but is there a hard drive in the devise as well? Could archos fit in a 1.8" hard drive or will they have to embed 8+ GB?




Archos A5 500GB 2.5" hard drive perhaps without microSD slot could be $349



So basically the only difference with this version here is the HD? Will the form factor be the same as the one in the FCC pictures or the current sixth generation device? I ask because there was no letter next to the name (ie. Archos A5S or Archos A5H).


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 26, 2009 5:14 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 2:40 am
Posts: 7052
Location: Copenhagen
Consider that with the eventuality of a cheap Flash based version only, there could be very smart Android software using WiFi N or the micro-USB connection to automatically synchronize your latest Podcasts, latest downloaded songs (or based on last.fm type recommendations), your latest downloaded torrent videos and make space automatically by removing the files that you have already seen or listened to.

This way, a $199 Archos A5 with only 8GB or 16GB and a microSD card slot, if those 8GB or 16GB + a few GB with the MicroSD, if that storage is optimized and automated, I think that could actually be pretty good enough for many consumers.

The clue about A5S being Flash based I think comes from the MicroSD slot, why would they include a MicroSD slot on a 60GB or 120GB 1.8" hard drive version?


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 26, 2009 5:42 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2008 4:04 pm
Posts: 78
So this is being released on Sept. 15? It looks like we will be able to use the same dvr base as the A5. Does it have built in GPS or a compass?


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 26, 2009 5:48 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 2:40 am
Posts: 7052
Location: Copenhagen
We are I think still waiting on the confirmation of the presence of the electronic compass and the built-in GPS. My guess is that the HSDPA version for sure has GPS since that would be using HSDPA antenna triangulation like any other HSDPA smartphone.

The 720p Camcorder seems not to be included with this version. Perhaps they can make a good quality 720p Camcorder add-on.


Top
   
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 58 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Hosted by Forumatic™