Forum.ArchosFans.com

Unofficial Archos Support Forum
It is currently Mon Nov 18, 2019 5:58 pm

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Feb 25, 2009 7:36 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2008 7:26 pm
Posts: 1915
It can be found here: http://www.amazon.com/ARCHOS-10-2-Inch- ... 686&sr=1-2

May be a good deal for someone.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Feb 25, 2009 1:44 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2009 2:32 pm
Posts: 339
wow i have to admit.. it is pretty cheap for a netbook!


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2009 3:16 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 2:30 am
Posts: 674
That's the 3 cell model, though.

I just got the 6 cell and I'm happy with it. Only peculiar thing is that the WiFi defaults to "off" when you shut down, so it won't automatically connect on boot. You have to use the function key to toggle the WiFi back on.

Don't know why they do this.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2009 4:49 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2008 7:26 pm
Posts: 1915
I don't have anything with XP anymore but I know in Vista's "mobility center" the WiFi can be toggled on and off. It can be set temporarily for the session and it can be configured in the fixed settings for battery saving.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2009 10:21 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu May 10, 2007 10:01 am
Posts: 1647
Location: Kent, UK.
fang_3000 wrote:
wow i have to admit.. it is pretty cheap for a netbook!


No, it's still expensive, and there are other netbooks around with the same or better spec.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2009 2:51 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 2:30 am
Posts: 674
Same here, I forgot all the ins and outs of XP too. I'll dig around in there. Although not groundbreaking, the A10 does have a certain panache with the black matte finish. And it's a solid feeling unit, the lid has 8 rubber bumpers.

I got my wife an Acer at Costco ($300), and it doesn't have the same solid and tight feel and lid action.


Archos5Fan wrote:
I don't have anything with XP anymore but I know in Vista's "mobility center" the WiFi can be toggled on and off. It can be set temporarily for the session and it can be configured in the fixed settings for battery saving.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2009 8:44 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu May 10, 2007 10:01 am
Posts: 1647
Location: Kent, UK.
I've just bought an Advent 4213 (it has integrated HSDPA 3G connectivity).

It's very well built, and with a 2Gb RAM upgrade, it's really quick.

Some people have even installed VISTA onto them with the 2Gb upgrade.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Feb 28, 2009 2:49 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 2:30 am
Posts: 674
I'm using mine "as intended", to access portals and let IIS do all the grunt work. ASP.NET 2.0 can do just about anything.


CBers wrote:
I've just bought an Advent 4213 (it has integrated HSDPA 3G connectivity).

It's very well built, and with a 2Gb RAM upgrade, it's really quick.

Some people have even installed VISTA onto them with the 2Gb upgrade.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Mar 03, 2009 6:28 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2008 10:03 pm
Posts: 335
Location: UK
CBers wrote:
I've just bought an Advent 4213 (it has integrated HSDPA 3G connectivity).

It's very well built, and with a 2Gb RAM upgrade, it's really quick.

Some people have even installed VISTA onto them with the 2Gb upgrade.



Much better to put Windows 7 on a netbook over vista, vista is a complete hog.

I have my toshiba tablet m200, runs windows 7 excellently, but really struggles with vista.

I also have a friend with an Advent 4211, I can speak for that being a good laptop :)

_________________
Archos 5, 250gb


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Mar 03, 2009 11:55 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2008 7:26 pm
Posts: 1915
Windows 7 is slick. Put it on a Motion M1400 and it flies through screens (1.1GHz processor 2GB RAM). Not as pretty as Vista (yet) but the boot up times and screen action is very snappy.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Mar 27, 2009 12:05 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 2:40 am
Posts: 7052
Location: Copenhagen
CBers wrote:
fang_3000 wrote:
wow i have to admit.. it is pretty cheap for a netbook!


No, it's still expensive, and there are other netbooks around with the same or better spec.


In fact, the Archos 10 is the cheapest Netbook with those specifications.

Just look at http://preissuchmachine.de

In fact the Archos 10 is about 40Ôé¼ cheaper than the similar Asus 1000H http://www.preissuchmaschine.de/in-Note ... 1000H.html , Archos 10 is about 60Ôé¼ cheaper than the Samsung NC10 (similar appart from, the 6-cell battery option, but Archos has that option as well for much less than the 60Ôé¼ difference) http://www.preissuchmaschine.de/in-Note ... et-BT.html , only the MSI Wind is at a pretty similar price just 10Ôé¼ more http://www.preissuchmaschine.de/in-Note ... 616XP.html

The official price difference between 3-cell and 6-cell model is $20 for the Archos 10 at Amazon.com in the USA, thus probably it's a lower price difference at the cheapest resellers.

The Archos 10 is about 100Ôé¼ cheaper than the new relatively similar Asus 1000HE which only has a 6-cell battery and a slightly optimized keyboard technology.

And the Archos 10S will come next month with some pretty modern Netbook features such as super slim and light 890 grams form factor with a chiclet keyboard and built-in HSDPA as well.

Saying that Archos does not play they Netbook cards right is simply RIDICULOUS. Just as most of the other things that CBers has to say.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Apr 03, 2009 7:35 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu May 10, 2007 10:01 am
Posts: 1647
Location: Kent, UK.
Charbax wrote:
Saying that Archos does not play they Netbook cards right is simply RIDICULOUS. Just as most of the other things that CBers has to say.


What are you having a go at for me for now ??

I haven't said anything bad about the Archos 10 apart from the price.

If it hadn't been for the price, I'd have bought one.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu May 21, 2009 6:36 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 5:19 am
Posts: 64
i prefer the asus eee 1000he
it has the intel n280 atom, which is the newest atom cpu

doesnt have nvidia ion tho...


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jun 05, 2009 6:11 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2009 12:49 am
Posts: 21
Location: Indiana
Archos5Fan wrote:
It can be found here: http://www.amazon.com/ARCHOS-10-2-Inch- ... 686&sr=1-2

May be a good deal for someone.


You can get a six cell for 263.77 USD here

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B001R4BA5M

Edit: it's now $258.49


Last edited by aseaofflames on Sun Jun 07, 2009 12:37 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jun 06, 2009 5:18 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 2:30 am
Posts: 674
And that's a KILLER deal, the A10 has built in HSDPA too


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jun 11, 2009 8:12 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2009 12:49 am
Posts: 21
Location: Indiana
Quote:
You can get a six cell for 263.77 USD here

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B001R4BA5M

Edit: it's now $258.49


They must have realized their mistake, it's now $329.99. I should have bought it.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited