Forum.ArchosFans.com
http://forum.archosfans.com/

Anyone tried a 750Gb drive in an Archos 5?
http://forum.archosfans.com/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=54838
Page 2 of 2

Author:  itm [ Thu Jun 13, 2013 9:55 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Anyone tried a 750Gb drive in an Archos 5?

Knifepoint wrote:
Hi, hope you dont mind me resurrecting such an old post, i was just wondering if its still possible to replace the hdd. i dropped it a few months after i bought it on ebay in 09 or 2010 (was brand new, but archos would not accept warranty for it as i did not have original receipt, only one from ebay)


Yes it is - I upgraded mine with a 750Gb Hitachi Travelstar. You need to update it to a patched firmware first though

Author:  Knifepoint [ Mon Jun 17, 2013 8:40 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Anyone tried a 750Gb drive in an Archos 5?

How would i do that with a new hdd? And do i need a linux computer to be able to install the os etc?

Author:  itm [ Mon Jun 17, 2013 9:39 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Anyone tried a 750Gb drive in an Archos 5?

Knifepoint wrote:
How would i do that with a new hdd? And do i need a linux computer to be able to install the os etc?


Yes you'll need Linux:
https://sites.google.com/site/archos5imt/patched-fw

Author:  Knifepoint [ Tue Jun 18, 2013 7:19 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Anyone tried a 750Gb drive in an Archos 5?

Meh, would a Linux emulator work?

Author:  mediate [ Wed Jun 19, 2013 5:54 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Anyone tried a 750Gb drive in an Archos 5?

Knifepoint wrote:
Meh, would a Linux emulator work?


You mean a virtual machine? Probably.

Author:  cowon [ Tue Aug 20, 2013 8:03 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Anyone tried a 750Gb drive in an Archos 5?

Anyone got a list of 1TiB drives that will fit? Is there someone who fits them?

Author:  mediate [ Tue Aug 20, 2013 11:24 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Anyone tried a 750Gb drive in an Archos 5?

cowon wrote:
Anyone got a list of 1TiB drives that will fit? Is there someone who fits them?


Any 1TB drives that are 2.5" thick and use a SATA connector will very likely fit in there (though I cannot say if it will work, I haven't tried it). This is only possible on the 120GB/250GB A5's of course. The 60GB/3G models do not use the same connector. As for someone who fits them/makes it work, that would be yourself. This is a custom job that may/may not end badly. There's no warranty on this, you have to take the risk yourself.

EDIT: Err ... right. What SHADO said ... derp

Author:  SHADO [ Thu Aug 22, 2013 5:29 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Anyone tried a 750Gb drive in an Archos 5?

mediate wrote:
cowon wrote:
Anyone got a list of 1TiB drives that will fit? Is there someone who fits them?


Any 1TB drives that are 2.5" thick and use a SATA connector will very likely fit in there (though I cannot say if it will work, I haven't tried it).


I think you mean 0.37" (9.5mm) thick. 2.5" is the width. Just wanted to clarify. :)

Page 2 of 2 All times are UTC+01:00
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited
https://www.phpbb.com/