Forum.ArchosFans.com
Archos 80 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 8GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 80 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 250GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 101 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 8GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 101 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 250GB: Buy now (free shipping)
 * Register    * Login 

It is currently Wed Sep 03, 2014 3:12 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour



Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 176 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 9  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Oct 13, 2008 3:43 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2006 3:15 am
Posts: 3330
Location: essex uk
Archos 5 and Archos 7 - Firmware Changes
Version 1.0.87 - October 13th, 2008

New:

* Music: Can now play OGG/FLAC files (WOW)

* Music: improved battery autonomy during music playback

* System: Improved USB speed

* Video/Web: Can now play Flash (VP6) and MPEG-2 videos with resolution up to 800x576

* Accessories: Helmet Cam supported

* PDF: Can now create Home Shortcuts from the PDF browser

Bug fixes:

* System: Wifi was hanging after some random time

* System: USB host (PTP mode) connection was not always working

* Video: Image was not always centered on the screen

* Video Recording: Sometimes video preview was stuttering after a while

* Video Recording: Default settings were not always taken into account

* Web: Improved image quality for analog TV output (PAL & NTSC)

* Media Club: Fixed zoom mode in HDMI 720p

* Media Club: Resume was not working in the download manager

* PDF: Fixed many user interface bugs, especially in TV out

* GUI: Wallpaper was not centered in TV output mode

* GUI: The device could hang when exiting the TV Control screen after the EPG setup

* GUI: The device could reboot when deleting an opera widget

* GUI: Caps Lock state on keyboard changed too quickly on long press

_________________
http://tinyurl.com/68a3oqs


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 13, 2008 3:48 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2008 3:07 pm
Posts: 266
Location: bradford uk
typical they release this new firmware the same day i sent mine back because the speaker died
GOD WHY ME lol :evil:

_________________
archos 5 250gb


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 13, 2008 3:55 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2006 3:15 am
Posts: 3330
Location: essex uk
damn, they have added flac and ogg, im shocked well done archos!!!!, just installed on mine, and now the whole arclib is updating!!
im waiting to see if its now stable - i will let you know as soon as the arclib has finished
roy

_________________
http://tinyurl.com/68a3oqs


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 13, 2008 3:57 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2008 9:01 pm
Posts: 21
Drevil wrote:
typical they release this new firmware the same day i sent mine back because the speaker died
GOD WHY ME lol :evil:


Your technology hates you; you should immediately divest yourself of all expensive goodie... um, demon-laden devices, and send them to me to "dispose" of them for you.
:badgrin:

Thanks,
Stu

_________________
Archos 5 120 GB


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 13, 2008 3:57 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2007 1:23 pm
Posts: 736
Location: UK
Looks like its no longer marked as beta. Dont know if that means there are hidden changes as well..

_________________
Archos 5 250gb


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 13, 2008 4:01 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2006 3:15 am
Posts: 3330
Location: essex uk
yep NO LONGER BETA!!!, wifi seems to connect a lot quicker + the email client is now actually working!!! yippee, can anyone test recording features on the dvr as that was a big issue
roy

_________________
http://tinyurl.com/68a3oqs


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 13, 2008 4:03 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 8:00 am
Posts: 419
Location: Kent, UK
No longer BETA, and still cant "suspend" like it says in the manual. So does that mean its really astill a beta, and theyve just had a lot of complaints over the beta tag?


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 13, 2008 4:04 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 7:02 pm
Posts: 74
And the picture is finally centered for video playback!! Couldn't stand that black bar on the right.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 13, 2008 4:05 pm 
Offline
Archos Expert
Archos Expert

Joined: Mon Sep 17, 2007 6:34 am
Posts: 171
Location: Parker, CO
Can anybody confirm if they fixed the mp3 tag problem (with some of the artists not showing up in anything but hard drive mode) and the audio dropout issue (after the screen blanks)?


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 13, 2008 4:10 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2008 3:07 pm
Posts: 266
Location: bradford uk
lol cant stop tapping the screen of my archos 504 lol god i hate you all with your working archos 5s :(

_________________
archos 5 250gb


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 13, 2008 4:10 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2008 5:54 pm
Posts: 418
Location: Iowa, USA!
just tried update online and it says I already have latest firmware? huh?


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 13, 2008 4:12 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2007 1:23 pm
Posts: 736
Location: UK
iPlayer seems a little faster, not sure about that though.

The 5 wasnt working with my external hard disk via USB host, i'll try it later and see.

Also interested about the improoved usb speed, as I was only getting 5-8mb/sec before

EDIT: fishcube, get it from the archos website, it always appears there first.

http://www.archos.com/support/support_t ... al&lang=en

_________________
Archos 5 250gb


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 13, 2008 4:12 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 12:59 am
Posts: 2880
Location: Toronto, Ontario
I thought H.264 support would be fixed in this firmware? Where is it???

But WOW, FLAC and OGG support, that's fantastic!

_________________
Gr.9 tech lover


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 13, 2008 4:14 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 8:00 am
Posts: 419
Location: Kent, UK
What was broken in h264 before? All my mp4's work a treat (and did on the last 2 firmwares)?


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 13, 2008 4:15 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 7:54 pm
Posts: 481
yay, where is the hd plugin though.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 13, 2008 4:18 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2008 5:02 pm
Posts: 93
I'm liking this. The bbc website actually loads properly now. However a gripe i have at the moment is the AWFUL start up time on this thing. 35 seconds, more than half a minute! Shocker.

Gotta love it when it has turned on though :D

MiKE


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 13, 2008 4:23 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2008 5:54 pm
Posts: 418
Location: Iowa, USA!
It better fix the Home shortcuts. It still crashes when I try to create shortcut on many websites including this forum.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 13, 2008 4:26 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2008 8:50 pm
Posts: 64
File Transfer has been taken out of the menu

- WiFi seems to work better now

- Music Cataloging problems still exist on mine, even after ArcLib update (tracks continue to not be cataloged). I still have a delay when playing tracks from a folder with a large number of tracks.

- Not sure if the device still needs to be powered to 'finish' charge or if the battery indicator skips bars 2 and 4 (currently testing)

- No foreign character support


Does anyone know if this will be the last firmware for a while, in terms of the 3-4 week updates?


Last edited by NowhereMan1985 on Mon Oct 13, 2008 4:33 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Top
   
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 13, 2008 4:27 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 12:59 am
Posts: 2880
Location: Toronto, Ontario
thedo666 wrote:
What was broken in h264 before? All my mp4's work a treat (and did on the last 2 firmwares)?


b-frames are not supported in the previous firmwares. The Archos staff said that b-frames, ref-frames and b-pyramid will be supported in the next firmware

viewtopic.php?f=35&t=17412&start=20

_________________
Gr.9 tech lover


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 13, 2008 4:49 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2008 5:54 pm
Posts: 418
Location: Iowa, USA!
fishcube wrote:
It better fix the Home shortcuts. It still crashes when I try to create shortcut on many websites including this forum.


Firmware update did not fix this :(


Top
   
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 176 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 9  Next

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Hosted by Forumatic™