Forum.ArchosFans.com

Unofficial Archos Support Forum
It is currently Fri Nov 22, 2019 12:22 pm

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Dec 02, 2011 1:48 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2011 11:20 am
Posts: 6
Hello everyone,

I tell you what you can hack your archos 605 in windows 7.
The good hack files are placed in the bottom this post, becouse you must read my instructions before you start hack.

I hack archos 605 WIFI 160GB with 2.1.04 firmware. I'm using Windows 7 x64 Professional, AntyVir and Firewall is turned off.

This color is operations on Archos
and this color is procedures in PC

I describe you what I'm doing exactly:
1) I turn off my archos

2) Turn on with TV/LCD button and choose "Repair Disk"
Image

3) then connect to PC via USB cable

4) I open archos drive, goes to "/System/" path and edit "System.bin" file via HexEdit (just like on this page GFT2 hacking )
Image

5) I save prevourios file

6) I download arcwelder.zip file from this site becouse first link in this article has expired

7) I extract files from arcwelder-1.0.zip archive to Archos /Data/arcwelder/
This is list of files:
Image

8) Then i click "OK" button on archos to restart it

9) After start I enable the WIFI and connect to my network

10 ) click "WiFi Status"
I got this IP address:
Image

11) Then goes to "Wireless File Server..."
Image

12) The "Workgroup" name is:
Image
I not change enything in this step.

13) The Name is: "Hack and "Password" value is: "1234"
Image
becouse I want get stdout.txt and stderr.txt files in my "/Data" folder

14) After that I "Enable File Server"
Image

15) Then i go to my Windows 7 and open "my computer", on the left bottom you can see "network", click it

16) Wait fiew moments If you want se the new "HACK" computer

17) Double click to "HACK" and enter name: "Hack" and password: "1234"

18) Then open next(share) folder and wait a moment

19) Archos should be close file server and back to main screen (this is success :) )

20) Enable Wifi

21) If you want see whole process you could open "stderr.txt." file from "Data" folder

22) I dont have opera plugin, so I open stderr file and click "BUY" then waiting, file will should open (if you want see good stderr.txt file please visit arcwelder site)

a) If you open file and you see hourglass and you waiting, waiting and again waiting You must still waiting :) becouse this proccess takes 10-20 minuts, so plugin charger/usb (after this your archos not turn off wifi) and be patient.

b) Content portal dont work good now, so this is long procedure. After "stderr.txt" file open your archos should have all plugins :)

23) This is success, and you should be happy =)

Now you can connect via putty to arcwelder ssh:
1) I use CMD in windows to make sure if archos is avaible on my network. So i ping his IP address:
Image

2) I download and install Putty

3) Then I generate private key from those instructions .Putty should work without that, but if you have problem you must generate key.

4) I open putty and select private key (if you generate it, this is not important if putty work without key):
Image

5) Then I back to the sessions and enter archos IP address:
Image

6) Click "open" and waiting fiew moments

7) Enter "root" and you should see arcwelder welcome message


If you have "connection refused error" message:
Image
You must install arcwelder again, becouse installation is not successful.

If you download my files please leave points: 4, 5, 6, 7 and only place System.bin to System folder, the content of GFT3 folder to main archos folder and arcwelder folder to Data folder on archos.

Good luck.
This is LINK to good files (System.bin, GFT3, arcwelder).

End sorry for my bad english.
Regards
Alan


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jan 13, 2012 4:46 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2012 4:42 pm
Posts: 1
What is the password to your .rar file? Also after applying the binary edits and arcwelder to the data folder should the workgroup name appear automatically as you showed it? Mine ended up saying just workgroup and it wouldn't let me enter that string into the field as it was invalid it said.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Feb 21, 2012 1:51 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 2:36 am
Posts: 3
same problem as lazarus. alan, can you provide password for .rar file? anyone else been able to open this file? thanks, caliph


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Apr 04, 2012 11:05 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 2:36 am
Posts: 3
sorry for the mixup above. I think both Lazarus and I may have been confused. I now see that the pic of "Workgroup" entry is misleading. It only shows the beginning of the entry, so one get's an error if you enter this incomplete statement shown in picture. And though I ended up creating system.bin correctly, when i opened field it only showed the end, which also confused me. Anyway, you can create your own system.bin or there's also one on this page:
http://forum.archosfans.com/viewtopic.php?p=191400#p191400


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Apr 07, 2013 8:35 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2012 8:27 pm
Posts: 10
If you're still around, can you fix your file upload?


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Mar 03, 2014 12:59 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2011 11:20 am
Posts: 6
Hi, again.
Sorry, the password is of course "archosfans".
I get now another device (605 wifi 4gb), but after load all files to archos i got message: "the contant portal clock service could not be accessed", so there is serious problem with archos content portal, I tried fiew times and I got this same effect, so if someone will find solution, please let me know - I'll add this to first post.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Mar 03, 2014 1:15 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2013 9:51 am
Posts: 4
hey Alarec, do you think you can correct your tutorial from post#1, in order to get again the deleted image/links, and check then if it still works?

thx!!!


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Mar 03, 2014 4:17 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2012 8:27 pm
Posts: 10
Don't hold your breath.

Hands down the worst company in the electronics market and the worst forum to go along with it.

I stayed subscribed in case the next post would finally be an answer and not another quest. Out of here for good.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited