Forum.ArchosFans.com

Unofficial Archos Support Forum
It is currently Tue Nov 12, 2019 1:37 am

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Oct 04, 2008 8:58 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2008 11:45 am
Posts: 11
Has anyone ever explored direct video recording on the 605 (ie. without DVR)?

From what I can see from other posts, the DVR has no specific video processing electronics in it to enable basic video in. Chances are the left side port of the 605 which would normally connect to the DVR for this function, could be used for composite in, or possibly component in, directly. The gotcha is obtaining a connector to fit the proprietary port which may be near to impossible. Also it may be necessary to feed 5V or something to one of the pins to disable the software which advises you to "purchase a DVR" when you click on the record function.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Oct 05, 2008 4:56 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2008 6:17 am
Posts: 46
intelmorico wrote:
Has anyone ever explored direct video recording on the 605 (ie. without DVR)?

From what I can see from other posts, the DVR has no specific video processing electronics in it to enable basic video in. Chances are the left side port of the 605 which would normally connect to the DVR for this function, could be used for composite in, or possibly component in, directly. The gotcha is obtaining a connector to fit the proprietary port which may be near to impossible. Also it may be necessary to feed 5V or something to one of the pins to disable the software which advises you to "purchase a DVR" when you click on the record function.


I took my travel DVR apart and made mods to it... There is an analog to digital chip which has many functions. The input INTO the Archos from the dock is digital as far as I can tell from the docs on the chip. The chip is controlled ny the archos to turn on/off things like protection, etc.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Oct 05, 2008 8:46 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2008 11:45 am
Posts: 11
OK thanks...that clarifies things and means my assumptions were probably wrong. At least there is added value in these docks ;)


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Oct 09, 2008 8:18 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2008 8:13 pm
Posts: 1
Yes there is a Ti "Ultralow-Power NTSC/PAL/SECAM Video Decoder" TVP5150AM1 also in the small ARCHOS Traveler Adapter.

In the helmet camera is a microcontroller - so it seems that there is serial communication between camera-control-unit and archos too.

joern


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Oct 18, 2008 6:25 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2008 6:17 am
Posts: 46
joern wrote:
Yes there is a Ti "Ultralow-Power NTSC/PAL/SECAM Video Decoder" TVP5150AM1 also in the small ARCHOS Traveler Adapter.

In the helmet camera is a microcontroller - so it seems that there is serial communication between camera-control-unit and archos too.

joern


The GOOD part of having the micro controller in the helmet cam is it gave me an entry point for some kewl mods....
such as...
external power for the helmet camera to allow the 605 to be a great dash-cam without draining the 605 battery or modding the travel adaptor...
Adding a switchable second and third camera that the 605 thinks is the helmet cam (rear-view camera and one that has power zoom)...
A longer cord from the button clip to the camera...
Bill


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Mar 12, 2012 9:56 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2012 9:25 pm
Posts: 2
i have read this post but am still at a loss on how to actually record direct to the 605


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited