Forum.ArchosFans.com

Unofficial Archos Support Forum
It is currently Tue Nov 19, 2019 12:02 pm

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Jan 05, 2011 4:04 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 3:52 pm
Posts: 7
Did not found the adequate answer at this forum... Is it possible to jailbreak my ARCHOS 7 with upgraded to 1.7.17 firmware? And also could not find understandable instructions- how to swap HDD?


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jan 06, 2011 8:07 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2010 2:24 pm
Posts: 6
All jailbreaking is done from 1.6.54 or lower and the first step is to downgrade your version (I don't know if 1.7.17 can be because I did it with 1.7.11). In case you don't have the info here is the link that I used to jailbreak mine.

http://sites.google.com/site/archos5imt/downgrade

Once you downgrade and then install a patched firmware then you can think about replacing the hard drive. you have to be careful in regards of the HD brand you use. As far as I remember from old posts everybody have problems when trying WD, I know that Seagate Momentus work because that is the brand Archos uses. I used a 500 Hitachi without an issue (it is almost a year and had no problems). I am about to see if the new 750 GB from Seagate works, I haven't checked in the forums if someone else had tried.

I have been looking forward that the good people from
archos.g3nius.org post a patched 1.7.17 firmware but so far with no luck.

Anyway this is my own experience, maybe others have a better recommendation or suggestion. I hope this helps you a bit and if you find any extra info I would appreciate if you share it with me.

P.S. whatever brand you decide to use don't forget the form factor. the hard drive must be 9.5mm high so do not use the 12mm ones because they won't fit.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jan 06, 2011 9:16 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 3:52 pm
Posts: 7
I am afraid to make my lovely ARCHOS 7 out of work with attempts to jailbreaking it, still knowing, that the hardrive is once gonna be dead! Sorry for my english- i am a Russian user of Archos!


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jan 06, 2011 9:22 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 3:52 pm
Posts: 7
Guys, does anybody succsessfully downgraded from 1.1.17 firmware?


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jan 06, 2011 10:48 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 5:57 pm
Posts: 3
Just a bit of info i am new to the archos,have gen 6 archos 7 and from what i have been hearing work has been going on behind the scenes to bring ARM products up to date,i thought it was bullshit after looking at all the stuff on the web so far,but check out bbc iplayer news tech page microsoft have been working on a light windows 7 for ARM,fingers crossed. dated 6/1/11 :D


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jan 07, 2011 12:45 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2010 2:24 pm
Posts: 6
karelturk... I understand your fear, if you have never done anything like this it might be a bad idea but I can tell you that I made a few mistakes myself in the beginning and did not brick my device. In any case If you can not follow instructions in english it would not be advisable for you to do it. A friend maybe? Someone with enough expertise?.

Greetings from USA, Tennessee.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jan 07, 2011 2:04 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 3:52 pm
Posts: 7
rjr1203, I am just afraid about installed FW, curently it is 1.7.17 and cannot find any info- is 1.7.17 hackable? Found the site:http://archosharddrives.com/shop/page/8?shop_param= How do anybody thinks, they can really help, or this is bad idea to pay them?


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jan 07, 2011 2:16 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 3:52 pm
Posts: 7
Also we hawe our Russian ARCHOS forum, but there is no one topic about jailbreaking... I love my A7, it is really entertains me, has a replaceable battery, but HDD...


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jan 15, 2011 8:04 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2008 6:07 pm
Posts: 427
Location: Bangalore, India
downgrade from 1.7.17 is possible

_________________
openAOS ROCKS!!


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 16, 2011 1:16 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 3:52 pm
Posts: 7
Thanks, may be i will try...


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 16, 2011 8:19 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2011 12:45 pm
Posts: 9
karelturk wrote:
Thanks, may be i will try...

1. ð┤ð¥Ðâð¢ð│ÐÇðÁð╣ð┤
2. ð©ð¢ÐüÐéð░ð╗ð╗ð©ÐêÐî ð┐ÐÇð¥ð┐ð░ÐéÐçðÁð¢ð¢ÐâÐÄ ð┐ÐÇð¥Ðêð©ð▓ð║Ðâ. Ðçð©Ðéð░ÐéÐî ÐéÐâÐé
3. ð░ð┐ð│ÐÇðÁð╣ð┤ð©ÐêÐî ð┤ð¥ ð┐ð¥Ðüð╗ðÁð┤ð¢ðÁð╣ ð┐ÐÇð¥ð┐ð░ÐéÐçðÁð¢ð¢ð¥ð╣ ð┐ÐÇð¥Ðêð©ð▓ð¥Ðçð║ð©. Ðçð©Ðéð░ÐéÐî ÐéÐâÐé
4. ð┤ðÁð╗ð░ðÁÐêÐî ð╝ðÁð¢ÐÄ ð┤ð╗ÐÅ ðÀð░ð│ÐÇÐâðÀð║ð© ð┤ð▓ÐâÐà ð¥ð┐ðÁÐÇð░Ðåð©ð¥ð¢ð¥ð║ (ÐüÐéð░ð¢ð┤ð░ÐÇÐé+SDE). ð┐ÐÇð¥ÐêÐâ ð▒ÐÇð░ÐéÐî ð¥ÐéÐüÐÄð┤ð░
ð┐ð░ÐÇð░ Ðüð¥ð▓ðÁÐéð¥ð▓ (ð¥Ðé ð┐ð¥ðÀð¢ð░ð▓ÐêðÁð│ð¥):
1. ð¢ðÁ ðÀð░ð▒Ðâð┤Ðî ÐçÐéð¥ ð©Ðüð║ð░ÐéÐî Ðüð║ÐÇÐïÐéÐâÐÄ ð┐ð░ÐÇÐéð©Ðåð©ÐÄ ð¢ð░ð┤ð¥ ð©ð╝ðÁð¢ð¢ð¥ ð▓ ÐÇðÁðÂð©ð╝ðÁ repair mode. ÐÅ ÐéÐâÐé ÐüÐéÐâð┐ð©ð╗ ð© ð▓ðÁÐüÐî ð▓ðÁÐçðÁÐÇ Ðâð▒ð©ð╗, ð┐ð¥ð║ð░ ð¢ðÁ ð┤ð¥ð│ð¢ð░ð╗ ð│ð┤ðÁ ðÂðÁ ð¥ð¢))
2. ð╝ð¢ð¥ð│ð©ðÁ ð┐ÐÇð¥ð▒ð╗ðÁð╝Ðï ÐÇðÁÐêð░ÐÄÐéÐüÐÅ ð▓ archos helper. ð© ð▓ð░ð╣Ðäð░ð╣ ð© ð▒ÐïÐüÐéÐÇð¥ðÁ ð▓ÐïÐÇÐâð▒ð░ð¢ð©ðÁ Ðìð║ÐÇð░ð¢ð░ ð© ð║ÐâÐÇÐüð¥ÐÇ ð╝ð¥ðÂð¢ð¥ ð▓ÐÇÐâð▒ð©ÐéÐî (ð░ Ðéð¥ Ðìð║ÐÇð░ð¢ Ðäð©ð│ð¥ð▓ð¥ ð¥Ðéð║ð░ð╗ð©ð▒ÐÇð¥ð▓ð░ð¢ ð© ð▒Ðïð▓ð░ðÁÐé Ðüð╗ð¥ðÂð¢ð¥ ð┐ð¥ð┐ð░ÐüÐéÐî ð┐ð¥ ð╝ðÁð╗ð║ð©ð╝ ð┤ðÁÐéð░ð╗Ðîð║ð░ð╝).
3. ð¢ðÁ ð┤ðÁð╗ð░ð╣ ð┐ð¥ð║ð░ opgk upgrade, ð¥ÐüÐî ðÀð░ð▓ð©Ðüð░ðÁÐé ð¢ð░ ðÀð░ð│ÐÇÐâðÀð║ðÁ ð┐ð¥Ðüð╗ðÁ ÐìÐéð¥ð│ð¥ (Ðëð░Ðü ð║ð░ð║ÐÇð░ðÀ ð▒Ðâð┤ÐâÐé ðÀð░ð┤ð░ð▓ð░ÐéÐî ÐìÐéð¥Ðé ð▓ð¥ð┐ÐÇð¥Ðü).
4. ÐüÐéÐâð║Ðîð¢ðÁÐüÐî ð╝ð¢ðÁ ð▓ ð░ÐüÐîð║Ðâ, ð▓ ð╗ð©Ðçð║ðÁ Ðçð©Ðéð░ð╣!

dear non-russian users, sorry for my russian)
plz, help with other trouble: after "opkg upgrade", my archos stucks on loading( approax 99% it's stops loading and nothing changes(

_________________
Russian bear with beer


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jan 17, 2011 9:17 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2011 12:45 pm
Posts: 9
S_Layer wrote:
trouble: after "opkg upgrade"

solution is simple: just don't do it!))
because that packages are not stable

_________________
Russian bear with beer


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited