Forum.ArchosFans.com

Unofficial Archos Support Forum
It is currently Wed Nov 13, 2019 12:30 am

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Dec 16, 2010 6:25 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2008 9:34 pm
Posts: 52
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
I have an A5 250GB IMT that was received as an RMA unit from Archos, running 1.7.17 firmware out of the box. The first thing I did with the unit after checking the firmware version was attempt to downgrade (source) to a version that the GF hack works from. However, the commands that worked before for mounting the hidden partition no longer work on my device; it seems that the firmware has changed the hidden partition's location/structure...

I have a root terminal open and type this:
Code:
mount -t ext3 -o offset=249727726080 /dev/sde /media/disk
Derived from:
Code:
Disk /dev/sde: 250.1 GB, 250059350016 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 30401 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disk identifier: 0xc0324beb

   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/sde1               1       30361   243874701    c  W95 FAT32 (LBA)


the output in terminal is this:
Code:
mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/loop0, missing codepage or helper program, or other error  In some cases useful info is found in syslog - try dmesg | tail or so


entering that command gives me this:
Code:
VFS: Can't find ext3 filesystem on dev loop0


At this point I'm looking for any insight on how to get past this. MKV support is nice, but I don't need it and would rather have my own boot logo, etc =) Thanks in advance guys.

_________________
NeedMoreSigSpac


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 19, 2010 3:13 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2008 9:34 pm
Posts: 52
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
BTW, this was under the lucid lynx build of ubuntu (10.04). I reverted to karmic koala (9.10) and still had the same issue. When using a live CD instead of a hard drive boot, it changes from loop0 to loop1, but nothing else changed.

> I can bounce between 1.7.11 and 1.7.17 firmwares and boot into the Archos OS with no problems

_________________
NeedMoreSigSpac


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Feb 19, 2011 12:31 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2008 9:34 pm
Posts: 52
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Ok, so I'm back to trying to get this to work and after doing a dd starting from the offset 249727726080 (which is correct per the tutorials and my previous scripts before sending it for RMA) and reading the file from a hex editor, I found that there is a **LOT** of blank space before any data starts, and that the data which I am seeing looks like it's OS related (including my saved networks and some UTF8 files). I'm going to play around a bit more but if anybody that is able to mount their hidden partition would be willing to either [A] post where they find the first non-zero lines in their dd output, and what the hex code for those lines is or [B] upload their dd output to my FTP server please PM me -- this is going to drive me insane!

Edit: the hex code that starts all the cramfs.secure files is "D584C2D3" - I used this to successfully find the three files within my dd output file; their offsets were as follows: 079E:3204, 08FF:1204, 0933:1E04

If I can figure out how far off my offsets are from other users, I may be able to find out the correct offset value for my device (which I believe Archos is responsible for changing while my unit was being factory repaired /sadface)

SEE: http://archos.g3nius.org/index.php?titl ... _Partition

_________________
NeedMoreSigSpac


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Feb 20, 2011 6:20 am 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2008 9:34 pm
Posts: 52
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Ok, so I was eventually directed to TestDisk, which is able to find the exact location of the hidden partition and as a result I'm now back up and running my patched firmware, and working on a new boot logo =)

Thanks dm8tbr!

_________________
NeedMoreSigSpac


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited