Forum.ArchosFans.com

Unofficial Archos Support Forum
It is currently Sun Dec 08, 2019 8:08 pm

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 91 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 5
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: debian on a5it?
PostPosted: Sat Jul 23, 2011 6:51 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2011 6:03 pm
Posts: 97
floyd_cansil wrote:
Hello :
I have problem with usb host . I modprobe musb_hdrc default_mode=3 and insmod ehci-hcd.ko but usb devices (cool disk and bluetooth and mouse ) not detected in debian . should I connect usb device to hub for power ( +5V) ???
Thanks to reply ;)

? are you using the dock = dock provides power as long as it is plugged in
? are you using the microusb = a modified self-powered usb hub is required

i've been having fun now that i have scaling, and powersave :) device has been off the dock and i've been hackin at it wirelessly.. (shh... don't tell the boss) i think i even have pvr?
Code:
omaplfb: OMAPLFB_Init: **** REGISTER
omaplfb: OMAPLFB_Init: **** OK
panel_enable [samsung_wvga_48]

still no sound :doubt: i think its a firmware issue, need to backup and debug in ".37" some more... i have sound working there, and my install uses both kernels(tight fit) only have room for 2 albums :(
rootfs 3046102 1545692 1343035 54% /
midori, user, gnash, wicd(openaos ticket/59 done), wifi initialized in xserver with a modified ti-load

_________________
a5it-8g debian-android-anoa


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: debian on a5it?
PostPosted: Tue Jul 26, 2011 9:38 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2011 11:46 am
Posts: 26
hello
Thanks
I find One diagram from archos 5 it (omap4330) and hardware description of gps blutooth and wvga and sound unit.

http://wiki.archosfans.com/index.php?title=Archos_5_Internet_Tablet_with_Android

I working to install hardware from android module to debian and software to manage them.
and Thanks to everyone who help me :)


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: debian on a5it?
PostPosted: Wed Jul 27, 2011 12:53 am 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2011 6:03 pm
Posts: 97
? enabling sound - solved - reading the "sister forum"
install alsa-utils/stable
using the android modules from openAOS froyo (merci: bubu wewei)
:arrow: see asound.state for the modules needed to /lib/modules/
copy and edit "system/bin/load_alsa_modules.sh" -> /bin/load_alsa_modules.sh
"system/etc/asound.state" -> /etc/asound.state
chmod +x /bin/load_alsa_modules.sh
then edit load_alsa_modules.sh
line #1
#!/bin/sh
line #35
#alsa_ctl -f /system/etc/asound.state restore
alsactl -f /etc/asound.state restore
alsamixer unmute headphone for sound(alsamixergui not functioning correctly
PGA Cap to zero to mute onboard microphone
no bluetooth-audio "yet"... :)

_________________
a5it-8g debian-android-anoa


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: debian on a5it?
PostPosted: Thu Jul 28, 2011 8:55 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2011 8:28 pm
Posts: 23
Ah you didn't have alsa-utils installed.

That was one of the first things I installed.

but what's the purpose of editing load_alsa_modules.sh??

I've sound working without doing that...

(I used the gen8 guide for sound)


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: debian on a5it?
PostPosted: Thu Jul 28, 2011 9:08 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Fri Jul 02, 2010 11:38 am
Posts: 16
Hi guys, nice to see someone still working on that old piece of hardware.

Do you have working wifi with .37 kernel? I tried both a kernel built by nicktime at 20th May and self-built one from latest git. Also I tried nicktime's Ubuntu image and emdebian unstable. Firmware is in /lib/firmware and /lib/firmware/ti-connectivity (tried both places too). With any combination I can't get wlan0 up:
Code:
# ifup wlan0
SIOCSIFFLAGS: No such file or directory
SIOCSIFFLAGS: Device or resource busy
Failed to bring up wlan0.
Can you give me a recipe?


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: debian on a5it?
PostPosted: Fri Jul 29, 2011 1:15 am 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2011 6:03 pm
Posts: 97
Jonathan Moerman wrote:
Ah you didn't have alsa-utils installed.

That was one of the first things I installed.

but what's the purpose of editing load_alsa_modules.sh??

I've sound working without doing that...

(I used the gen8 guide for sound)

gen8's instructions got the mixer working, but still no sound with the wolfstein card, after looking around in "the lounge" i found bubu's issues in correcting sound in froyo, so ive investigated a bit more, ive also been scripting so i can get my bluetooh headset working, now that i have a VERY stable environment using the modules from alpha5, and the 2010-11-11 kernel(no-swap issues with wifi and sound), i also got pvrsrvkm to function, but it is getting incorrect values for the framebuffer, im still "hacking" the initramfs.cpio, to unload the rest of the modules, and have yet to get /dev/fb1+2 /dev/graphics, so that i can play a bit more, ive also got the nlXXX driver to function as dev/input/event3, and am soon using it as an alternative mouse for games
bluetooth is functioning, but the kernel needs to be patched or i need to recompile bluez-audio for the older kernel so i can connect, im also having troubles with hdmi-out, but i think it might be my device

in debian it is alsactl not alsa_ctl and the first line tries to load /system/bin/sh not /bin.sh

_________________
a5it-8g debian-android-anoa


Last edited by penguinrepair on Fri Jul 29, 2011 1:45 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
 Post subject: Re: debian on a5it?
PostPosted: Fri Jul 29, 2011 1:25 am 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2011 6:03 pm
Posts: 97
illifant wrote:
Do you have working wifi with .37 kernel? I tried both a kernel built by nicktime at 20th May and self-built one from latest git. Also I tried nicktime's Ubuntu image and emdebian unstable. Firmware is in /lib/firmware and /lib/firmware/ti-connectivity (tried both places too). With any combination I can't get wlan0 up:
Code:
# ifup wlan0
SIOCSIFFLAGS: No such file or directory
SIOCSIFFLAGS: Device or resource busy
Failed to bring up wlan0.
Can you give me a recipe?


i'm not happy with the performance of the .37 kernel, i really like bubu's kernels: http://www.openaos.org/wp-upload/gen7/ they work well and i am able to quad boot ubuntu/lucid-maverick, wmod-rc2, and the legacy rom, wifi doesn't like the musb driver in the 37 or 27 kernels, the 37 kernel needs alot of work and i haven't been able to compile the wifi driver from sources yet, my device is a gen 7, and im still trying to update the kernel, there have been rumors on releasing the "security code" but the ones i've found still dont build apks correctly,
you need the firmware_class, wl1271* mac80211, cfg80211, rfkill, and the firmware/ti-connectivity from ubuntu_root to get it to work, and you should edit etc/net../interfaces wpa_supplicant, and resolve.conf accordingly, you can also "alias" wlan0 as tiwlan if your good with debian and depmod sripts, but again, i've had no luck connecting with my (enterprised TLIP 2M enabled wpa2) connection
also note that numerous modules need to be unloaded to activate the wifi driver in the 37 kernel, and it does, and will fail with an ifdown, it needs to get an ip with the if up command and keep it or it "pukes" ;)

illifant wrote:
Hi guys, nice to see someone still working on that old piece of hardware.

my device is only two months old... :lol: i sold 1 of my 3 devices last week and no i'm regretting it (i wanted to test a suspicion of a bad dsp chip)

_________________
a5it-8g debian-android-anoa


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: debian on a5it?
PostPosted: Tue Aug 09, 2011 6:01 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2011 11:46 am
Posts: 26
penguinrepair wrote:
? enabling sound - solved - reading the "sister forum"
install alsa-utils/stable
using the android modules from openAOS froyo (merci: bubu wewei)
:arrow: see asound.state for the modules needed to /lib/modules/
copy and edit "system/bin/load_alsa_modules.sh" -> /bin/load_alsa_modules.sh
"system/etc/asound.state" -> /etc/asound.state
chmod +x /bin/load_alsa_modules.sh
then edit load_alsa_modules.sh
line #1
#!/bin/sh
line #35
#alsa_ctl -f /system/etc/asound.state restore
alsactl -f /etc/asound.state restore
alsamixer unmute headphone for sound(alsamixergui not functioning correctly
PGA Cap to zero to mute onboard microphone
no bluetooth-audio "yet"... :)

With hello
dear penguinrepair please descript it and send link of sister forum . thanks :D


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: debian on a5it?
PostPosted: Tue Aug 09, 2011 8:02 am 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2011 6:03 pm
Posts: 97
floyd_cansil wrote:
penguinrepair wrote:
? enabling sound - solved - reading the "sister forum"
install alsa-utils/stable
using the android modules from openAOS froyo (merci: bubu wewei)
:arrow: see asound.state for the modules needed to /lib/modules/
copy and edit "system/bin/load_alsa_modules.sh" -> /bin/load_alsa_modules.sh
"system/etc/asound.state" -> /etc/asound.state
chmod +x /bin/load_alsa_modules.sh
then edit load_alsa_modules.sh
line #1
#!/bin/sh
line #35
#alsa_ctl -f /system/etc/asound.state restore
alsactl -f /etc/asound.state restore
alsamixer unmute headphone for sound(alsamixergui not functioning correctly
PGA Cap to zero to mute onboard microphone
no bluetooth-audio "yet"... :)

With hello
dear penguinrepair please descript it and send link of sister forum . thanks :D

copy the modules from alpha5 or wmod-2 to /lib/modules
copy asound.conf and asound.state to /etc/
then delete the modules that are going to be loaded with this script ie: /lib/modules/2.6.27.10-omap1
after deleting modules, you need to reboot(if you dont want to delete the other modules edit modules.* in the lib/modules/2.6.27.10-omap1/ accordingly
then for sound create this modified version
Code:
#/usr/sbin/load_alsa_modules.sh
#!/system/bin/sh
rm -rf /dev/snd
# alsa sound - create nods
mkdir /dev/snd
mknod /dev/snd/controlC0 c 116 0
mknod /dev/snd/controlC1 c 116 32
mknod /dev/snd/seq c 116 1
mknod /dev/snd/timer c 116 33
mknod /dev/snd/pcmC0D0p c 116 16
mknod /dev/snd/pcmC0D0c c 116 24
mknod /dev/snd/pcmC1D0p c 116 48
mknod /dev/snd/pcmC1D0c c 116 56
# alsa sound load modules
insmod /lib/modules/soundcore.ko
insmod /lib/modules/snd.ko
insmod /lib/modules/snd-page-alloc.ko
insmod /lib/modules/snd-timer.ko
insmod /lib/modules/snd-pcm.ko
insmod /lib/modules/snd-soc-core.ko
insmod /lib/modules/snd-soc-omap.ko
insmod /lib/modules/snd-soc-omap-mcbsp.ko
insmod /lib/modules/snd-soc-wl1271.ko
insmod /lib/modules/snd-soc-wm8985.ko
insmod /lib/modules/snd-soc-archos.ko
# set permissions - alsa nods
chmod 0777 /dev/snd/controlC0
chmod 0777 /dev/snd/controlC1
chmod 0777 /dev/snd/seq
chmod 0777 /dev/snd/timer
chmod 0777 /dev/snd/pcmC0D0p
chmod 0777 /dev/snd/pcmC0D0c
chmod 0777 /dev/snd/pcmC1D0p
chmod 0777 /dev/snd/pcmC1D0c
# load mixer
alsactl -f /etc/asound.state restore

then open alsamixer and make sure to ummute whatever you need (increase the volume of DAC)
oh yeah the sister sites listed at archos.com (need to read french)
http://www.archoslounge.net/forum/showthread.php?t=19040
http://www.jbmm.fr/2011/05/wewewi-passe-la-2eme-wmod-rc2-pour-gen7/
if you search the forum you may find the discussion on no sound with rc2 (debian-based)

to start add /usr/sbin/load_alsa_modules.sh & to your rc.local or create a linker in /etc/init.rc

_________________
a5it-8g debian-android-anoa


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: debian on a5it?
PostPosted: Wed Aug 10, 2011 7:52 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2011 11:46 am
Posts: 26
Quote:
copy the modules from alpha5 or wmod-2 to /lib/modules
copy asound.conf and asound.state to /etc/
then delete the modules that are going to be loaded with this script : /lib/modules/2.6.27.10-omap1


dear penguinrepair :)
With Hello and Thanks to reply : please let me know bold words in your up description . where is it man? and hi dude :I can`t read french :D but thanks for your attention and address ;)


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: debian on a5it?
PostPosted: Wed Aug 10, 2011 11:00 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2011 6:03 pm
Posts: 97
:D google translator works well....
under wewei's instructions you will see the links
openaos-froyo-alpha5a_20110119.img is at openaos ... "i don't quite understand your troubles with that"
you need /system/bin/load_alsa_modules.sh, /system/lib/modules/* and /system/etc/asound.* from either openaos-froyo-alpha5a_20110119.img or wmod-rc2.img(optional lots of improvements and is pre-rooted and adb is functional, etc...)

type lsmod and unload the modules for sound
remove the "broken" modules from /dev/snd
(rm -rf /dev/snd works well enough see the earlier script)
then edit your /lib/modules/2.6.27.10-omap1/modules.dep and remove the modules that depmod has loaded
then remove the duplucate modules from the subdirectories
ie: /lib/modules/2.6.27.10-omap1/kernel/snd/soundcore.ko etc...

then call the script in your rc.local or create an init

ps: ive accomplished pvr and am soon to be retiring my a5it(due to diminishing support - "discontinued" - and have no way to replace it if something goes wrong), planning on a g9-10" in september

_________________
a5it-8g debian-android-anoa


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 91 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 5

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited