Forum.ArchosFans.com

Unofficial Archos Support Forum
It is currently Fri Dec 13, 2019 5:20 pm

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 151 posts ]  Go to page Previous 14 5 6 7 8 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Feb 25, 2010 5:25 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2010 1:24 am
Posts: 24
Great tutorial man! Everything works perfect on my Archos 5 (250GB)! Thank you!


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jun 14, 2010 3:56 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sat Jun 05, 2010 2:36 pm
Posts: 6
I misread the directions and overwrote the rootfs.cramfs.secure before updating to the patched firmware for ver 1.7.11.
Now the system wont boot past the archos startup logo screen. I've copied the patched firmware to the archos7 root directory, although trying to do repair disk from the repair menu fails with the message update failed NOK (code 207)

Any ideas how to fix this? I'll probably try putting the original firmware in the root and see if it will be able to update from that.
Although I suspect that since the rootfs was overwritten..thats part of the problem with the update..so I'll likely have to do the format disk. I would prefer not to. Any suggestions would be really appreciated!


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jun 14, 2010 4:23 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sat Jun 05, 2010 2:36 pm
Posts: 6
Updating with the firmware from the archos website has gotten it back into a working state.
Although I'm not able to update to the patched firmware either within the firmware menu while archos is runnning or from the repair menu.
Should it be copied onto the drive from within linux? I'm not sure that would make too much of a difference, but I'll try that as well.

edit: it still gives that same message regardless of if the patched firmware is copied to archos7 from linux (without sudo) or with sudo nautilus /media/ARCHOS7
Although it is back in a working order so that's a plus at this point.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jun 14, 2010 5:06 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2008 12:14 pm
Posts: 274
The best suggestion is to go back and read all the steps. You're missing things.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jun 14, 2010 5:37 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sat Jun 05, 2010 2:36 pm
Posts: 6
Yes. I was just about to post that I figured it out. The Guy Fawkes page doesn't mention that if you haven't downgraded and patched the firmware yet then start there. Everything patched, jailbroken, and working good now! :)


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jul 13, 2010 9:57 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2010 9:27 pm
Posts: 1
has anyone done this with a 8gig a5it yet?

i only ask because i always get this

Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jul 14, 2010 7:05 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 3:44 pm
Posts: 524
Location: openaos.org
xpresspackage wrote:
has anyone done this with a 8gig a5it yet?

a) thou shalt not steal

b) this is for completely different firmware, so it just won't work. cf. differences between gen6 and gen7

_________________
openAOS


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jul 14, 2010 8:02 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 12:10 pm
Posts: 6598
Simple Rule of thumb: Nothing for the IMT will work on the IT and vice versa.

There are exceptions (Hardware docks) but generally assume it won't work and you'll be good.

Michael


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jul 26, 2010 9:00 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2009 7:07 am
Posts: 37
I remove the Angstrom from my Archos and write some files into /media/disk in my Archos , but I accidentally copied two files named " bitmapfs.cramfs.secure " & " optfs.cramfs.secure " ( these files in " Cramfs.secure-1.6.54 .zip " ) into /media/disk . And now all the icons in my archos is no longer right & beautiful . Does someone know how to fix it ??


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jul 26, 2010 9:59 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 3:44 pm
Posts: 524
Location: openaos.org
reinstall firmware

_________________
openAOS


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jul 26, 2010 11:03 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2009 7:07 am
Posts: 37
dm8tbr wrote:
reinstall firmware



Thank you very much . It's so simple


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Aug 06, 2010 2:44 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2010 2:01 pm
Posts: 2
Location: Central Scotland
I did the downgrade, patched the firmware, ran the DTi game and followed with the GF hack. On boot up I get the penguin but cannot see any goodies apart from what I already had loaded. I tried loading mouldy cheeze and running the sudo chown/chmod command line in /media/disk ~ still no joy ~ I have double checked every command & I am using Terminal in Ubuntu 8.10 ~ and suggestions would be appreciated !


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Aug 08, 2010 10:51 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2010 2:01 pm
Posts: 2
Location: Central Scotland
Got it sorted guys & got the goodies ~ problem was wrong Cramfs.secure file in GF hack !


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Aug 30, 2010 6:22 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 12:46 am
Posts: 6
cyrus wrote:
hi.. i was like many out there without the dvr station and all i could find was you need a dvr station for the GF Hack. so here is a tut for you guys who are like me... Challenged lol!

1st Step: Find the hidden partion of your Archos 5/7 drive

start you archos 5/7 into recovery mode (to do this while the archos is starting hold one of the volume buttons then select repair disk and hit power button. This will get you to the correct place) then connect your your archos with the usb connector.

next

open up your terminal and type in the following
Code:
sudo fdisk -l

should kinda look like this

Code:
Disk /dev/sda: 160.0 GB, 160041885696 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 19457 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x6c1441e5

   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/sda1   *           1       19107   153476946   83  Linux
/dev/sda2           19108       19457     2811375    5  Extended
/dev/sda5           19108       19457     2811343+  82  Linux swap / Solaris

Disk /dev/sdb: 160.0 GB, 160041885696 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 19457 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x4dd2f678

   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/sdb1               1       19428   156055378+   c  W95 FAT32 (LBA)


next part is to mount the hidden partion i first by making a folder via the terminal

Code:
sudo mkdir /media/disk
sudo mount -t ext3 -o offset=159800739840 /dev/sdb /media/disk

the offset 159800739840 will be different if you don't have a 160gb hd to figure this number out we use the data from the fdisk -l command
we take the 19428x8225280=159800739840

Step 2: Patched Firmware

now that we got this done we need to download the the first of the two hacks

the patched firmware dti games
http://archos.g3nius.org/images/9/9e/DT ... er_kit.zip

You should see two folders, patch-1.6.54 and DTi.
Copy the DTi folder in /media/ARCHOS5/Games/ on your data partition. (not the partition you had to mount the normal partition you see (the ARCHOS5 or ARCHOS7)

Open a console and type
Code:
sudo nautilus /media/disk

you should see a file browser (with root privileges) appear, now copy all files from patch-1.6.54 to /media/disk. Close nautilus and type these commands in your console: (copy the files in the patch-1.6.54 into the system partion @ /media/disk)
Code:
cd /media/disk
sudo chown 0:0 flash mv rm
sudo chmod a+rx,ug+s flash mv rm


The chown command changes the owner of the flash, mv and rm files to root. The chmod command will set some flags on the files so that they will be executed on your device with the privileges of the file's owner (which is now root).
That's it, unmount all the partitions:
Code:
sudo sync
sudo umount /media/ARCHOS7
sudo umount /media/disk


go to play->games->dti
You should see a game named Install patched firmware with a penguin as the logo. Click Play, then Play again on the next screen. At this point the screen will be unresponsive for some time, this is perfectly normal. The loading screen will appear and return to the penguin logo, at this point the patched firmware should be successfully installed!
Reboot your device: hold the Power button for about 6 seconds until you see the Shutting Down... screen and then power on again.

Step 3: Guy Fawkes hack

now once again remount the hidden system partition with the earlier instructions.

also you need to download the guy fawkes hack
http://archos-liberation-front.googleco ... _alpha.zip

next

open console
Code:
sudo nautilus /media/disk


then just drag and drop the rootfs.cramfs.secure into the /media/disk

next just do a

Code:
sudo sync
sudo umount /media/ARCHOS7
sudo umount /media/disk


then reboot the archos all the way more than just a suspend and restart it and your done you have a full jailbroken archos gen6


all info was gathered from other tutorials

Special thanks to EINSTEIN, ACHILLES and archosfans, archos.g3nius.org and everyone else just reading your post made me able to figure this out.. i know i might be stupid but i figure i'm not the only one who is stupid (lol)

Thankyou nokiae50 for helping simplify the tutorial!




I just put on the dual boot today with the Open AOS Angstrom. If I want to do this hack, do I need to load the orig. 1.7.11 aos firmware and start new, or can I just proceed with the downgrade etc.? I don't want to mess it up. thanks.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Sep 21, 2010 2:21 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue May 18, 2010 10:26 am
Posts: 8
what's about with the new firmware 1.17.17 ?


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Sep 21, 2010 6:46 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 10:26 pm
Posts: 61
Location: USA
Finall, I jailbreaked my archos 5 imt by booting Linux from USB stick. This is my first time using Linux, it kinda hard at first. But after I playing with it for 8-9 hrs and follow this guide, finally i made it. I got all the plug-ins now :) .
Thank you all the peoples made this hack possible.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Sep 28, 2010 4:06 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 12:06 am
Posts: 22
This will allow me to.......


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Dec 11, 2010 5:25 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2010 2:40 am
Posts: 1
Many thanks i have got mine jail brocken and all plugins anybody point me in direction of getting my backgrounds back i lost these i ended up formatting my drive lost every thing :(
But i have a unlocked device
I bought this in error thinking i could have android on it but hey you live and learn
I have to say its a great device looking at buying the android version now :)
Thanks again
Simon


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Dec 11, 2010 8:01 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2008 6:07 pm
Posts: 427
Location: Bangalore, India
bguk wrote:
....anybody point me in direction of getting my backgrounds back i lost these i ended up formatting my drive lost every thing :(
...

ftp://support.archos.com/ARCHOS%205%20-%207/

_________________
openAOS ROCKS!!


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jan 05, 2011 6:52 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 6:47 pm
Posts: 2
Hello guys,

I just tried to install the hacks into A5IMT 1.7.17 with no luck. With the patched firmware i didn't see any "installed patched firmware" game and with the GF hack, the device won't go past the boot screen.

Is there anyone who did these hacks in 1.7.17?


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 151 posts ]  Go to page Previous 14 5 6 7 8 Next

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited