Forum.ArchosFans.com

Unofficial Archos Support Forum
It is currently Fri Nov 22, 2019 10:51 am

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 48 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 Next
Author Message
 Post subject: AOS2 utility
PostPosted: Fri Oct 16, 2009 3:35 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2008 12:14 pm
Posts: 274
archutil download: http://download.openpma.org/archutil/archutil.tbz

Well, since everything has been active on the Archos hacking front, I think I will take this opportunity to release archutil. I have been working on this utility for a while and I consider it to be mostly bug free. Please leave me a note if you find anything that doesn't work as advertised.

This will allow you to decrypt nearly all AOS2 files. There is no documentation besides the code and the built-in help. If you have any questions, I'd be happy to answer them. It also verifies different signatures and will tell you what key was used to verify it. Code is also included to sign files with a built-in private key, or with a private key passed on the command-line. And finally, functionality is included to sign a firmware update file with your own private key.

Most of this has been initially tested. None of it has been thoroughly tested. Again, feel free to let me know of any bugs that you find.

And let me just get the first question out of the way: it will not work for A5IT files. It probably would if somebody could find its keys.

Now let me get the second question out of the way: this is not useful for hacking your Archos unless you know their private key. And let's not waste time talking about brute-forcing the key, shall we? It's just not feasible at this time.


Last edited by CheBuzz on Wed Oct 21, 2009 6:35 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
 Post subject: Re: AOS2 utility
PostPosted: Fri Oct 16, 2009 4:44 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2008 7:22 pm
Posts: 115
Location: Derby, UK
How is this utility used?


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: AOS2 utility
PostPosted: Fri Oct 16, 2009 4:50 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2008 12:14 pm
Posts: 274
Extract the contents of the archive into a folder, go to the folder on the commandline and type "make".


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: AOS2 utility
PostPosted: Fri Oct 16, 2009 5:05 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2008 7:22 pm
Posts: 115
Location: Derby, UK
Do I need to put an aos file in there? And what do I need to do to decrypt a .aos file?


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: AOS2 utility
PostPosted: Fri Oct 16, 2009 5:23 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 10:37 pm
Posts: 627
Location: Berlin
Deejay300 wrote:
Do I need to put an aos file in there? And what do I need to do to decrypt a .aos file?


Just call the program and it will tell you.

_________________
openAOS


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: AOS2 utility
PostPosted: Fri Oct 16, 2009 5:31 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2008 7:22 pm
Posts: 115
Location: Derby, UK
It didnt work, it says it is not recognised as a internal or external command, operable program or a batch file. Could you post an example?


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: AOS2 utility
PostPosted: Fri Oct 16, 2009 5:33 pm 
Offline
Archos Expert
Archos Expert

Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2009 2:53 am
Posts: 209
Location: Parmi les Quebecois
Deejay300 wrote:
It didnt work, it says it is not recognised as a internal or external command, operable program or a batch file. Could you post an example?

...are you running MassiveSoft Doors?

_________________
A7-320 v1.7.02


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: AOS2 utility
PostPosted: Fri Oct 16, 2009 5:34 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 10:37 pm
Posts: 627
Location: Berlin
Deejay300 wrote:
It didnt work, it says it is not recognised as a internal or external command, operable program or a batch file. Could you post an example?


Am I right in guessing that you are using a Windows computer? Then this is not for you.

_________________
openAOS


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: AOS2 utility
PostPosted: Fri Oct 16, 2009 5:40 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2008 7:22 pm
Posts: 115
Location: Derby, UK
Ok then :(


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: AOS2 utility
PostPosted: Fri Oct 16, 2009 8:05 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2009 2:01 pm
Posts: 64
seems to work well chebuzz. easier than my method and you have signing stuff. have you tested that the signing stuff works?


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: AOS2 utility
PostPosted: Fri Oct 16, 2009 8:07 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2008 12:14 pm
Posts: 274
CheBuzz wrote:
Most of this has been initially tested. None of it has been thoroughly tested. Again, feel free to let me know of any bugs that you find.

:)


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: AOS2 utility
PostPosted: Sat Oct 17, 2009 1:02 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Fri Oct 09, 2009 10:36 am
Posts: 20
grond wrote:
Deejay300 wrote:
It didnt work, it says it is not recognised as a internal or external command, operable program or a batch file. Could you post an example?


Am I right in guessing that you are using a Windows computer? Then this is not for you.


Image

http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?omzlznizfnj

Tested with FW 2.1.04 Flash AOS, each file compared with the Linux app generated ones.
May be unstable, use at your own risk.

It will be a pleasure for me to keep porting the app to Win32 as long as updates came out, with CheBuzz permission of course :)


Last edited by Omega Frost on Sat Oct 17, 2009 12:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
 Post subject: Re: AOS2 utility
PostPosted: Sat Oct 17, 2009 2:29 am 
Offline
Archos Expert
Archos Expert

Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2009 2:53 am
Posts: 209
Location: Parmi les Quebecois
Guys...? I don't want to scare anyone but on Ubuntu 9.04 it gave me this:
Code:
rm -f *.o archutil 
gcc  -g -o  md5.o -c md5.c
gcc  -g -o  utility.o -c utility.c
gcc  -g -o  arch_crypto.o -c arch_crypto.c
In file included from arch_crypto.c:12:
arch_crypto.h:18:25: error: openssl/aes.h: No such file or directory
arch_crypto.h:19:24: error: openssl/bn.h: No such file or directory
arch_crypto.c: In function ÔÇÿsign_md5ÔÇÖ:
arch_crypto.c:117: error: ÔÇÿBIGNUMÔÇÖ undeclared (first use in this function)
arch_crypto.c:117: error: (Each undeclared identifier is reported only once
arch_crypto.c:117: error: for each function it appears in.)
arch_crypto.c:117: error: expected ÔÇÿ;ÔÇÖ before ÔÇÿbn_resultÔÇÖ
arch_crypto.c:117: error: expected ÔÇÿ;ÔÇÖ before ÔÇÿbn_md5ÔÇÖ
arch_crypto.c:117: error: expected ÔÇÿ;ÔÇÖ before ÔÇÿbn_modÔÇÖ
arch_crypto.c:117: error: expected ÔÇÿ;ÔÇÖ before ÔÇÿbn_expÔÇÖ
arch_crypto.c:117: error: ÔÇÿBN_CTXÔÇÖ undeclared (first use in this function)
arch_crypto.c:117: error: ÔÇÿctxÔÇÖ undeclared (first use in this function)
arch_crypto.c:118: error: ÔÇÿbn_resultÔÇÖ undeclared (first use in this function)
arch_crypto.c:118: error: ÔÇÿbn_md5ÔÇÖ undeclared (first use in this function)
arch_crypto.c:118: error: ÔÇÿbn_modÔÇÖ undeclared (first use in this function)
arch_crypto.c:118: error: ÔÇÿbn_expÔÇÖ undeclared (first use in this function)
arch_crypto.c: In function ÔÇÿrsa_decryptÔÇÖ:
arch_crypto.c:141: error: ÔÇÿBIGNUMÔÇÖ undeclared (first use in this function)
arch_crypto.c:141: error: expected ÔÇÿ;ÔÇÖ before ÔÇÿbn_resultÔÇÖ
arch_crypto.c:141: error: expected ÔÇÿ;ÔÇÖ before ÔÇÿbn_sigÔÇÖ
arch_crypto.c:141: error: expected ÔÇÿ;ÔÇÖ before ÔÇÿbn_modÔÇÖ
arch_crypto.c:142: error: expected ÔÇÿ;ÔÇÖ before ÔÇÿbn_expÔÇÖ
arch_crypto.c:142: error: ÔÇÿBN_CTXÔÇÖ undeclared (first use in this function)
arch_crypto.c:142: error: ÔÇÿctxÔÇÖ undeclared (first use in this function)
arch_crypto.c:144: error: ÔÇÿbn_resultÔÇÖ undeclared (first use in this function)
arch_crypto.c:144: error: ÔÇÿbn_sigÔÇÖ undeclared (first use in this function)
arch_crypto.c:144: error: ÔÇÿbn_modÔÇÖ undeclared (first use in this function)
arch_crypto.c:144: error: ÔÇÿbn_expÔÇÖ undeclared (first use in this function)
make: *** [arch_crypto.o] Error 1

Please help!

_________________
A7-320 v1.7.02


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: AOS2 utility
PostPosted: Sat Oct 17, 2009 3:01 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Fri Oct 09, 2009 10:36 am
Posts: 20
i had the same problem install libssl-dev via apt-get and it should work


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: AOS2 utility
PostPosted: Sat Oct 17, 2009 7:20 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2008 12:14 pm
Posts: 274
Of course it's fine by me. Just make sure a copy of the GPL gets included.

And yes, you were missing ssl headers. I hope to take out the ssl dependency when I get some time.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: AOS2 utility
PostPosted: Sun Oct 18, 2009 3:55 am 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 9:48 pm
Posts: 52
soviet123 wrote:
Guys...? I don't want to scare anyone but on Ubuntu 9.04 it gave me this:
Code:
gcc  -g -o  arch_crypto.o -c arch_crypto.c
In file included from arch_crypto.c:12:
arch_crypto.h:18:25: error: openssl/aes.h: No such file or directory
arch_crypto.h:19:24: error: openssl/bn.h: No such file or directory

Please help!


Soviet123, I'm running Ubuntu 9.04 also. I simply did a

Code:
sudo apt-get install openssl openssl-doc libssl-dev


and recompiled. If you don't want the rest of openssl, installing just libssl-dev should be enough.

-Analias


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: AOS2 utility
PostPosted: Tue Oct 20, 2009 8:26 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2009 7:06 pm
Posts: 141
Location: Boston, Ma
CheBuzz wrote:
Most of this has been initially tested. None of it has been thoroughly tested. Again, feel free to let me know of any bugs that you find.

And let me just get the first question out of the way: it will not work for A5IT files. It probably would if somebody could find it's keys.

Now let me get the second question out of the way: this is not useful for hacking your Archos unless you know their private key. And let's not waste time talking about brute-forcing the key, shall we? It's just not feasible at this time.


I could be completely wrong, which I probably am too. Though I do have a question regarding the keys.

Could the default MPK key not be used?

_________________
- Tim Strazzere


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: AOS2 utility
PostPosted: Wed Oct 21, 2009 12:16 am 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Sun Oct 11, 2009 10:53 pm
Posts: 50
I did not confirm this but my feeling is that the default key is not a copy of the key that is in flash memory...


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: AOS2 utility
PostPosted: Tue Oct 27, 2009 7:51 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Mon Oct 26, 2009 8:11 pm
Posts: 98
CheBuzz wrote:
...
And let me just get the first question out of the way: it will not work for A5IT files. It probably would if somebody could find its keys.
...


It does seem to do a fair job of unpacking the file for the A5IT I just downloaded, although with some errors:

Code:
A subdirectory or file aos\COPY\ already exists.
COPY size:480160 filename:upselling/upselling_dvrtraveladapter.swf
A subdirectory or file aos\COPY already exists.
A subdirectory or file aos\COPY\ already exists.
COPY size:3896464 filename:upselling/upselling_gps.swf
A subdirectory or file aos\COPY already exists.
A subdirectory or file aos\COPY\ already exists.
COPY size:580592 filename:upselling/upselling_helmetcam.swf
A subdirectory or file aos\COPY already exists.
A subdirectory or file aos\COPY\ already exists.
COPY size:380576 filename:upselling/upselling_remotefm.swf
A subdirectory or file aos\COPY already exists.
A subdirectory or file aos\COPY\ already exists.
COPY size:387824 filename:upselling/upselling_dvbtstick.swf
A subdirectory or file aos\COPY already exists.
A subdirectory or file aos\COPY\ already exists.
DLET size:272 filename:System/clouds.AAW
DLET size:272 filename:System/clouds.avi
DLET size:272 filename:System/New waterfall.avi
DLET size:272 filename:System/New waterfall.AAW
DLET size:272 filename:System/waterfall.avi
DLET size:272 filename:System/waterfall.AAW
DLET size:272 filename:Widgets/7932_1.4.zip
DLET size:272 filename:Widgets/8412_1.0.zip
COPY size:294112 filename:Widgets/8412_1.1.zip
A subdirectory or file aos\COPY already exists.
A subdirectory or file aos\COPY\ already exists.


I need to take some time & look at the source to see what's happening, but I'd probably want to rename the conflicting items just to see what's going on there. Although it may not be of direct use to hack the A5IT by putting new firmware on, it is of great value to see more detail about what's going on there.

Thanks much.

- Ed


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: AOS2 utility
PostPosted: Wed Nov 04, 2009 3:26 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2009 3:20 pm
Posts: 8
1. Great work on the AOS2 Utility - fantastic.
2. Anyone got the A705 Keys ? ( At least the AES )

I'd like to extract rootfs for 1.7.13 and place it on my drive if it's possible ( My machine is 2.1.04 ).
Would that at least allow GFT - even though to install moldy cheese we would need to work around the flash lock ?

BamBam.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 48 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 Next

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited