Forum.ArchosFans.com

Unofficial Archos Support Forum
It is currently Sun May 31, 2020 5:49 am

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 61 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: uname
PostPosted: Wed Sep 17, 2008 11:50 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 10:37 pm
Posts: 627
Location: Berlin
Logik wrote:
does this allow unsigned software to be used?


How else would we boot our own kernel? :)

_________________
openAOS


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: uname
PostPosted: Wed Sep 17, 2008 2:55 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2007 11:51 pm
Posts: 52
Glad to see this is still being worked on. I just got my 605 a few weeks ago (luckily, the firmware was under 1.7.13 :D ) and I can't wait for some good hacks.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: uname
PostPosted: Wed Sep 17, 2008 3:10 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2008 7:56 pm
Posts: 117
custom kernels! :D


for those that have upgraded stupidly, heres how to get hold of a 605wifi (possibly fw:1.7.13) from PCworld, comet, ect...:

ask if they could find their oldest stock and tell them that "if it's too much hassle, i dont mind the one off the shelf here instead",
and if required use a blag e.g:
"I've heard that the most recent firmwares have lots more bugs than the older ones"


i know this as a fact as when i got my 604wifi, they only had the one on the shelf left and it was hackable!


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: uname
PostPosted: Wed Sep 17, 2008 4:33 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2008 11:19 am
Posts: 1745
Logik wrote:
custom kernels! :D
for those that have upgraded stupidly, heres how to get hold of a 605wifi (possibly fw:1.7.13) from PCworld, comet, ect...:

ask if they could find their oldest stock and tell them that "if it's too much hassle, i dont mind the one off the shelf here instead",
and if required use a blag e.g:
"I've heard that the most recent firmwares have lots more bugs than the older ones"


I pretty certain that Comet don't have any hackable 605s in stock these days. I've already looked in my local branches, and nobody has anything with firmware earlier than 2.x. I suspect that your only chance to get a hackable 605 is to find one of the early 20Gb units -- these never sold very well, so any stock is likely to be old.

However, Comet had the old 20Gb units on special offer recently -- to clear the old stock I guess -- and I think they're now all sold.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: uname
PostPosted: Wed Sep 17, 2008 5:11 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 10:57 pm
Posts: 5
Nice Done =D> .


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: uname
PostPosted: Wed Sep 17, 2008 7:37 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2007 5:45 pm
Posts: 57
Graaah...
Upgraded to latest 3 weeks ago...

Let's cross fingers for a hackable 2.x.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: uname
PostPosted: Wed Sep 17, 2008 7:41 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2008 7:30 pm
Posts: 38
Location: Russia
If I extract hard disk and in USB_Rack. (use Paragon Partition Manajer) change file versions, can it be upgrade to 1.7.13? Can I install Qtopia after that?


Last edited by Styler on Thu Sep 18, 2008 2:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
 Post subject: Re: uname
PostPosted: Wed Sep 17, 2008 8:52 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2007 4:12 am
Posts: 397
I have to send my 605 back for repair, so I'm thinking of installing this, setting the firmware version to 2.x.x, and hoping they don't change it. Thoughts? Will this void my warranty?


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: uname
PostPosted: Wed Sep 17, 2008 10:36 pm 
Offline
Archos Expert
Archos Expert

Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 9:18 pm
Posts: 194
=D>

i see the pictures on the wiki. can't wait for the instructions!


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: uname
PostPosted: Thu Sep 18, 2008 12:26 pm 
Offline
Archos Expert
Archos Expert

Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2008 6:18 am
Posts: 167
any luck for 604 wifi users?


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: uname
PostPosted: Thu Sep 18, 2008 4:31 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2007 9:48 pm
Posts: 595
Styler wrote:
If I extract hard disk and in USB_Rack. (use Paragon Partition Manajer) change file versions, can it be upgrade to 1.7.13? Can I install Qtopia after that?


no

Maurice 8)


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: uname
PostPosted: Thu Sep 18, 2008 7:20 pm 
Offline
Archos Expert
Archos Expert

Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2007 8:56 pm
Posts: 223
are all the other non hidden plugins fully working?

shame the 2.x > isn't up to the job :(


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: uname
PostPosted: Thu Sep 18, 2008 8:12 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2007 9:48 pm
Posts: 595
fusen wrote:
are all the other non hidden plugins fully working?

shame the 2.x > isn't up to the job :(


The way I understood is that the openpma guys don't want to interfere with archos businisses of selling plugins so I think they won't be available in the release. The release is meant to be an addition to the archos so it can do more then what the archos company let's it do.
I very much respect and agree with this.

Maurice 8)


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: uname
PostPosted: Thu Sep 18, 2008 9:12 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2008 11:19 am
Posts: 1745
suraj wrote:
any luck for 604 wifi users?


The principle could be applied to 604 wifi firmware, I think (provided that it's hackable to start with). The firmware isn't all that different. The problem is time, and getting the necessary hardware to the right people for testing and development. Do you want to volunteer yours? :)


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: uname
PostPosted: Thu Sep 18, 2008 10:27 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 12:23 pm
Posts: 71
kb wrote:
suraj wrote:
any luck for 604 wifi users?


The principle could be applied to 604 wifi firmware, I think (provided that it's hackable to start with). The firmware isn't all that different. The problem is time, and getting the necessary hardware to the right people for testing and development. Do you want to volunteer yours? :)


the problem is that I've already bricked my 604wifi already with initial bootloader hack... and there is no way back :( so not sure we will risk other 604s ...

_________________
openPMA Team


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: uname
PostPosted: Thu Sep 18, 2008 10:39 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2008 10:13 pm
Posts: 1515
Location: location
excellent job. finally one step closer to get it open. :)

can't believe I see this from engadget instead of finding from the forum myself. :p

_________________
605x2,TV+,5x2


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: uname
PostPosted: Sun Sep 21, 2008 2:12 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2007 4:12 am
Posts: 397
What are your plans for releasing this? Are there some bugs that you're working out first?


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: uname
PostPosted: Sun Sep 21, 2008 5:30 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2008 1:30 am
Posts: 1
well i saw this on engadget, and it looks great,

but um is their something i need to download or something, because i dont get what i am supose to do.

has it been released yet, are their guides out???




thanks in advance for these dumb questions...


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: uname
PostPosted: Sun Sep 21, 2008 10:20 am 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2008 7:56 pm
Posts: 117
nimer55 wrote:
well i saw this on engadget, and it looks great,

but um is their something i need to download or something, because i dont get what i am supose to do.

has it been released yet, are their guides out???




thanks in advance for these dumb questions...


possibally grond and a few others are still in the middle of compiling the instructions, ect...

there maybe something to download, but definitally there will be some sort of documentation.

cautions:
this will only work on firmwares 1.7.13 or older,
As this is about hacking the bootloader, if you dont follow the instructions carefully you could end up with a bricked (dead) archos!


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: uname
PostPosted: Sun Sep 21, 2008 10:29 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2007 9:48 pm
Posts: 595
nimer55 wrote:
well i saw this on engadget, and it looks great,

but um is their something i need to download or something, because i dont get what i am supose to do.

has it been released yet, are their guides out???




thanks in advance for these dumb questions...


Logik is right, you can read here a little more http://www.openpma.org/gen4/Main_Page

Maurice 8)


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 61 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 Next

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 21 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited