Forum.ArchosFans.com
Archos 80 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 8GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 80 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 250GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 101 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 8GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 101 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 250GB: Buy now (free shipping)
 * Register    * Login 

It is currently Wed Aug 20, 2014 7:49 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour



Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 61 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: uname
PostPosted: Mon Sep 15, 2008 4:19 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 10:37 pm
Posts: 627
Location: Berlin
Code:
Linux openPMA-ng 2.6.10_mvl402 #3 Sun Sep 14 01:17:14 CEST 2008 armv5tejl unknown


:badgrin:

_________________
openAOS


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: uname
PostPosted: Mon Sep 15, 2008 10:01 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2007 4:12 am
Posts: 397
What's this?


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: uname
PostPosted: Mon Sep 15, 2008 10:36 pm 
Offline
Archos Expert
Archos Expert

Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 9:18 pm
Posts: 194
Hmm.... New OpenPMA image-y goodness on the way?

somebody make my day plz :D


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: uname
PostPosted: Mon Sep 15, 2008 10:51 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 10:37 pm
Posts: 627
Location: Berlin
thethirdmoose wrote:
What's this?


man uname

_________________
openAOS


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: uname
PostPosted: Tue Sep 16, 2008 12:53 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2007 4:12 am
Posts: 397
I know what uname does, but I think I'm missing something...


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: uname
PostPosted: Tue Sep 16, 2008 5:32 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2007 9:48 pm
Posts: 595
grond wrote:
Code:
Linux openPMA-ng 2.6.10_mvl402 #3 Sun Sep 14 01:17:14 CEST 2008 armv5tejl unknown


:badgrin:


But sadly enough not for firmwares > 1.7.13 Or am I wrong?

Maurice 8)


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: uname
PostPosted: Tue Sep 16, 2008 12:26 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 10:37 pm
Posts: 627
Location: Berlin
divx118 wrote:
But sadly enough not for firmwares > 1.7.13 Or am I wrong?


It depends on the definition of "not for firmwares > 1.7.13":

Image

_________________
openAOS


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: uname
PostPosted: Tue Sep 16, 2008 1:24 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 10:37 pm
Posts: 627
Location: Berlin
thethirdmoose wrote:
I know what uname does, but I think I'm missing something...


Have a look at the compile date.

_________________
openAOS


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: uname
PostPosted: Tue Sep 16, 2008 3:11 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2007 4:12 am
Posts: 397
Wow! That's really awesome! Thanks, and congratulations! Is it just me, or did you figure out how to roll your own plugins? The "Screen" and "C" plugins don't seem familiar.


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: uname
PostPosted: Tue Sep 16, 2008 3:19 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 10:37 pm
Posts: 627
Location: Berlin
thethirdmoose wrote:
Wow! That's really awesome! Thanks, and congratulations! Is it just me, or did you figure out how to roll your own plugins? The "Screen" and "C" plugins don't seem familiar.


Well, there seem to be some hidden plugins for development purposes. The line isn't long enough to list all plugins, the "C" is the start of "Core" which produces core dumps (however they seem to be useless), "Screen" is probably for making screenshots. This is just a side effect of hacking the bootloader, you can do some nasty binary hacking. E.g. I have also hacked the volume limitation and I have an 80G harddisk in my 605-30.

As for the firmware version, the bootloader is a (heavily modified) 1.7.13, the firmware is, as you can see, 2.1.04. And no, this is currently not possible for bootloaders >1.7.13 as Archos decided to activate the lockdown feature of the bootflash which makes writing to the bootflash impossible. However, I still have hopes to find a way of hacking that, we will see (if I ever have enough time for that...)

The point of the post was mostly to celebrate the fact that we can now even build our own kernels which is a pretty recent development. The bootloader hack itself was done around March IIRC.

_________________
openAOS


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: uname
PostPosted: Tue Sep 16, 2008 3:23 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2007 4:12 am
Posts: 397
Does hacking the bootloader involve opening up the unit? Are you planning to post instructions now, or do some more work first?


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: uname
PostPosted: Tue Sep 16, 2008 3:25 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2007 7:21 pm
Posts: 70
Location: Canuckistan
Congrats grond (and whoever else was involved). Can't wait to see where this takes us. so glad i left my firmware at 1.7.13


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: uname
PostPosted: Tue Sep 16, 2008 3:27 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 10:37 pm
Posts: 627
Location: Berlin
thethirdmoose wrote:
Does hacking the bootloader involve opening up the unit?


No. Replacing the harddisk: yes ;)


Quote:
Are you planning to post instructions now, or do some more work first?


Patience...

_________________
openAOS


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: uname
PostPosted: Tue Sep 16, 2008 4:38 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2008 5:21 am
Posts: 67
Location: Canada
Sweeeeet! Glad to see things are still happening, even if slowly. Big thanks to everyone that is working on this. I got upgraded to a newer firmware when I sent in my unit for repair so I'll be keeping my fingers crossed that you guys can make this work on firmwares >1.7.13. Again thanks for everything for all the time and hard work you've put into this. Keep us posted on any developments. =D> :D


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: uname
PostPosted: Tue Sep 16, 2008 4:51 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2007 9:48 pm
Posts: 595
Quote:
As for the firmware version, the bootloader is a (heavily modified) 1.7.13, the firmware is, as you can see, 2.1.04. And no, this is currently not possible for bootloaders >1.7.13 as Archos decided to activate the lockdown feature of the bootflash which makes writing to the bootflash impossible. However, I still have hopes to find a way of hacking that, we will see (if I ever have enough time for that...)


If that would be possible you would make me and I think alot of other people very happy. Then we could add some extra's to the archos like a text-editor, a decent e-bookreader and a command line to improve my linux knowledge :D

Congrats to everyone who made this possible.

Maurice 8)


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: uname
PostPosted: Tue Sep 16, 2008 10:51 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2008 7:56 pm
Posts: 117
i've been waiting for something like this! :D

im glad i've never upgraded from fw: 1.7.13


also can you tell us how to get the extra (hidden) plugins?


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: uname
PostPosted: Wed Sep 17, 2008 10:13 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2008 11:19 am
Posts: 1745
Logik wrote:
i've been waiting for something like this! :D

im glad i've never upgraded from fw: 1.7.13


also can you tell us how to get the extra (hidden) plugins?


The hidden plugins don't do anything that would be of value to an end user. They are for diagnostic purposes, I think.

And I should point out that, while this is a sterling effort from grond, it only (as yet) works for firmwares < 1.7.13.

That is, if you have 1.7.13 you can now upgrade to 2.x without losing the ability to hack. But there isn't _yet_ a way to hack 2.x firmwares that the user installed or are supplied on the device. There might be a way in future, but not yet.

I'm only saying this to protect grond from a flood of messages from people with 2.x firmwares :)


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: uname
PostPosted: Wed Sep 17, 2008 10:58 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 10:37 pm
Posts: 627
Location: Berlin
kb wrote:
The hidden plugins don't do anything that would be of value to an end user. They are for diagnostic purposes, I think.


Yes, they don't seem to do anything useful.


Quote:
And I should point out that, while this is a sterling effort from grond


Some others have their share: you, bubu, and two other guys (one not active on this forum, another one I'm not sure whether he wants to be mentioned).


Quote:
That is, if you have 1.7.13 you can now upgrade to 2.x without losing the ability to hack.


If you have >1.7.13. 1.7.13 is the last hackable firmware. 1.8.03 (?) which appeared right after the GFT was found enables the lockdown of the bootflash.

_________________
openAOS


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: uname
PostPosted: Wed Sep 17, 2008 11:09 am 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2008 7:56 pm
Posts: 117
does this allow unsigned software to be used?


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: uname
PostPosted: Wed Sep 17, 2008 11:24 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 11:15 pm
Posts: 31
It's awesome...congratulations! I've tried to hack it too but have failed. I'm too old for it...
It's a pitty that i bought a unit with firmware 2.0 installed. :(


Top
   
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 61 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Exabot [Bot] and 15 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Hosted by Forumatic™