Forum.ArchosFans.com

Unofficial Archos Support Forum
It is currently Thu Jun 27, 2019 4:57 am

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Archos TV Connect
PostPosted: Tue Feb 12, 2013 11:59 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 1:33 pm
Posts: 11
Looking for user opinions on this product. Is it glitchy or silky smooth? Are all the codecs included and has someone run them through a thorough testing? Is the device stable or does it freeze and need frequent rebooting? Is the video and audio quality good enough for a quality Skype experience?


Last edited by chopper123 on Mon May 20, 2013 1:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Archos TV Connect
PostPosted: Wed Feb 13, 2013 12:12 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2006 3:15 am
Posts: 3332
Location: essex uk
not even out yet, ive been waiting for this to be released so i can test it

_________________
COYI


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Archos TV Connect
PostPosted: Wed Feb 13, 2013 12:28 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 1:33 pm
Posts: 11
Oh, Archos has a buy now button on their site, must be a pre-order thing?


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Archos TV Connect
PostPosted: Wed Feb 13, 2013 5:53 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2006 3:15 am
Posts: 3332
Location: essex uk
where are you in the world? as i cannot see any buy it now button here in the uk.
any chance of a screen shot?
roy

_________________
COYI


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Archos TV Connect
PostPosted: Sat Feb 16, 2013 6:06 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 1:33 pm
Posts: 11
Sorry, I could swear there was a buy link but now I don't see it. Might have been wishfull thinking or seeing things.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Archos TV Connect
PostPosted: Sat Feb 16, 2013 8:06 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2006 3:15 am
Posts: 3332
Location: essex uk
lol ive tried different countrys and still cannot find a buy it now lol.
annoying that its being pumped so hard on the website without any option to purchase.
roy

_________________
COYI


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Archos TV Connect
PostPosted: Thu Feb 21, 2013 3:30 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 1:33 pm
Posts: 11
Used to use the 605 30gb and have since tried other competitors devices. Right now I own a Google TV set top box but it has limitations. I am looking at this and for early reviews to see if it's my next choice for a smart tv box. On the plus side is the awesome codec support Archos offers. The one thing that has me skeptical is I am waiting to see if Archos get's this right. I want to see a clean polished device with as few bugs as possible. I am tired of being a beta tester for unpolished products. I want to buy something that just works and suits my needs. So this device is a major contender for my next purchase.

One thing I would like to see again is the DVR built into this box or a companion box that records HD flawlessly which then becomes searchable on the Archos TV Connect via movie sheets and voice search and even category search. I think this potentially could rival GTV as it will not be as limited with App compatibility issues currently seen with GTV.

The remote is interesting as is the ability for users to hook up a mouse/full keyboard. The HD webcam will be cool for lazing around and making Skype calls. Apps such as Mitty and Chanel 1 will find a home on this device. And for Myth TV users there is a front end Android App as another DVR option. Can anyone suggest a good App for playing various card games with other Android users?


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Archos TV Connect
PostPosted: Sat Feb 23, 2013 1:57 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2006 3:15 am
Posts: 3332
Location: essex uk
ive also been using the sony google tv box, so near yet so far.
i love the box and its fluid most of the time, plex server works a treat especially as they have just released the plex pass version.
Yet google still havent release a dev kit for the machine so devs are yet to publish a load of good apps, if they released it then archos would be able to put on thier front end app (which i would love to see, they have already stated this is the reason why its not been ported), xbmc would also be ported which would be killer!!!.
xbmc on the other hand should be easily ran on the tv connect,
i seriously doubt you will see any of these units record live tv for a while yet, that could actually be the reason why google wont release the dev kit.
the archos tv connect dosnt have a hdmi pass though so it will also be unable to record.
on your gtv box look for amo Navi-x - also you can get a phone version from the market ;)
roy

_________________
COYI


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Archos TV Connect
PostPosted: Sat Mar 02, 2013 6:04 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 1:33 pm
Posts: 11
Perhaps these mods will get us closer to the best GTV like experience with Archos TV Connect!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i8xZcu4ZK9U

Here it is in the Play Store:

https://play.google.com/store/apps/deta ... mainthread


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Archos TV Connect
PostPosted: Fri Mar 22, 2013 11:52 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 1:33 pm
Posts: 11
Nice demo: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qopb4T56SoI


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Archos TV Connect
PostPosted: Sat Apr 06, 2013 8:47 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 1:33 pm
Posts: 11
More in depth review: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AHEWzjbRQsY&noredirect=1


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Archos TV Connect
PostPosted: Thu Apr 11, 2013 12:17 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2006 3:15 am
Posts: 3332
Location: essex uk
well archos have taken thier sorry time over this release, for me now i will purchase what comes out first, the samsung 1tb homesync or the archos connect. i have a feeling the sammy will be out first.
both machines will have excellent codec support its just who finally releases first.

_________________
COYI


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Archos TV Connect
PostPosted: Tue Jun 18, 2013 10:32 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 1:33 pm
Posts: 11
Has any forum member bought this device? What has your user experience been like? What do you like/dislike about this product?


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Archos TV Connect
PostPosted: Sat Jul 06, 2013 1:22 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 1:33 pm
Posts: 11
Released in Europe: http://liliputing.com/2013/07/archos-tv ... -e150.html


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Archos TV Connect
PostPosted: Thu Dec 26, 2013 2:34 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Dec 26, 2013 2:13 am
Posts: 1
just got the tv connect. pretty cool...but i got it to connect a usb hard drive to stream my movie collection through...it was advertised to work this way but not having any luck. any suggestions out there?
thanks ;)


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited