Forum.ArchosFans.com

Unofficial Archos Support Forum
It is currently Sun May 28, 2017 3:45 am

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Just bought one
PostPosted: Sun Dec 30, 2007 8:49 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu May 10, 2007 10:01 am
Posts: 1647
Location: Kent, UK.
Yep, just taken the plunge and bought a 2 Gb 105 for £55.50 !!

On first use, it's very good for the money, and should do what I want it to do, use it in the car !!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 30, 2007 9:25 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2006 3:15 am
Posts: 3332
Location: essex uk
nice one mate, not a bad price! make sure you put up a review after a bit of use, im waiting for my new 405 to arrive, and i will put up a review on this when it arrives and ive had a fiddle. There dosnt seem to be many ppl owning these machines atm so theres not much info - maybe you could help here
roy


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2007 11:56 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu May 10, 2007 10:01 am
Posts: 1647
Location: Kent, UK.
Hi Roy.

the 105 is a brilliant little MP4 player.

The sound quality through the supplied headphones is exxceptional.

The supplied video demo looks really good on the little 1.8 OLED screen - plenty big enough for short videos.

I downloaded the latest firmware as it still had the original OS on it, and that was as easy as pie to do.

GUI is very neat and quick, although the fonts are a bit naff !!

Does what it says on the tin.

Well worth £55, and a good introduction to anyone wanting a cheap MP3/4 player.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2007 5:06 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu May 10, 2007 10:01 am
Posts: 1647
Location: Kent, UK.
OK, soo all works OK, but can't figure out what WMV format the videos should be in.

I have tried WMV7 and WMV8 but the 105 says it's not right.

Anyone any ideas ??

Doesn't seem to be anything on the ARCHOS website, surprise, suprise :roll:


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2007 8:34 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2007 1:17 am
Posts: 367
wmv 9 i think... since they use them in all of the archos player...

my av500 tells me that "wmv 7" its not supported when i try to play some file like that...

so it must be wmv 9

_________________
AV580 abUser


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2007 10:45 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu May 10, 2007 10:01 am
Posts: 1647
Location: Kent, UK.
Thanks BUC, I believe you're right.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 01, 2008 1:53 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2008 1:44 pm
Posts: 5
Just got a 105 for Christmas - so far so good - seems to be doing all I need it for - But does anyone know where I can buy a case to keep that very shiny silver cover scratchfree when it's rattling around in my bag?

Also, have videos that I've done on my "Moviemaker" on Vista which it doesn't seem to want to download :( Is this yet another Vista problem rather than my Archos?


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 01, 2008 2:48 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu May 10, 2007 10:01 am
Posts: 1647
Location: Kent, UK.
Are they WMV9 format ??

If not, it would appear they will not work !!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 03, 2008 9:16 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2008 1:44 pm
Posts: 5
Thanks CBers.
It's actually V11 but I've downloaded the latest update from the Archos website and that seems to have done the trick as far as loading them on - now they're just too large to view..... :? This seems to be the only flaw on an otherwise good player, especially now I've discovered the shuffle function!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 03, 2008 9:42 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu May 10, 2007 10:01 am
Posts: 1647
Location: Kent, UK.
V11 what ??

I can convert AVI video to WMV9 using WINAVI but I get the following :-

Cannot play video.
Only simple profile is supported.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 04, 2008 7:28 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2008 1:44 pm
Posts: 5
I have Windows Vista on my laptop and I think that has version 11 of Windows Media Player. The videos I've put together on Moviemaker are the ones where it says that the file is too large - haven't tried anything else.

Now I've noticed that the 2nd batch of albums I've put on do not have their artwork but the first lot did - very bizarre ..... especially when I don't think I did anything different on the 2nd....


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 06, 2008 12:50 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu May 10, 2007 10:01 am
Posts: 1647
Location: Kent, UK.
Hi SuziB123.

None of the music I've copied across has albumart either !!

Must be a limitation of the 105 as my 704 shows it fine.

Still can't get a 160 x 128 video made !!

I have tried syncing via WMP, but when the 105 is in Windows Media Device mode, the unit does not show up in WMP - it only shows up when in Mass Storage mode.

So confused, I've emailed Tech Support guys !!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 12, 2008 12:52 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2008 1:44 pm
Posts: 5
Hi CBers

Did you get the Tech Guys reply? I e-mailed them on the 8th and still haven't heard anything :( Are the Archos guys always so slow?


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 12, 2008 2:12 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu May 10, 2007 10:01 am
Posts: 1647
Location: Kent, UK.
No, not yet.

Not sure I will, as they never have in the past - these forums have better response times.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 13, 2008 6:26 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2008 1:44 pm
Posts: 5
Hi - Just been on the Archos website and there is a new firmware update - and the query re the Album artwork is now in the FAQ's section - which I hadn't noticed before - also something on Videos. Maybe that's their way of answering!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 13, 2008 9:39 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu May 10, 2007 10:01 am
Posts: 1647
Location: Kent, UK.
Thanks for the the info SuziB123.

Just updated mine - looks slightly different as stated in the Release Notes, but nothing much to jump up and down about !!

Still nothing about WMV9/WMA video though :-(

Would like to get AVIs to play on it like it's elder big-bother, the 704 :!:


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 26, 2008 1:17 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu May 10, 2007 10:01 am
Posts: 1647
Location: Kent, UK.
Have tried SYNCING a video via WMP to my 105, but it fails with the following :-

Windows Media Player cannot convert the file to the format required by the device.

This is ridiculous, as this is the recomended way or converting files !!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 03, 2008 8:46 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2008 7:32 pm
Posts: 5
try updateing with the latest firmware, most of the problems i was having, seem to have been fixed in the latest update.

they made some changes to the user interface too. good job archos.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 03, 2008 9:27 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu May 10, 2007 10:01 am
Posts: 1647
Location: Kent, UK.
Thanks Muffinman, but already updated on Jan 13, but didn't make any difference.

Just want to know how to convert to WMV9 format.

Why ARCHOS had to choose that format I'll never know :roll:


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 11, 2008 4:44 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu May 10, 2007 10:01 am
Posts: 1647
Location: Kent, UK.
It would seem that AVS Video to GO can convert to WMV9 and the correct resolution !!


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited