Forum.ArchosFans.com

Unofficial Archos Support Forum
It is currently Mon Jul 22, 2019 5:09 am

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: test archos tv+
PostPosted: Sat Nov 17, 2007 8:48 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2007 10:58 am
Posts: 585
Location: La varenne / France
i have testing archos tv+

very interesting !

a little video on

http://www.dailymotion.com/jbmmfr/video ... mmarchostv

_________________
CORSE' WEB


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Nov 17, 2007 10:42 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 11:48 pm
Posts: 68
A big review of the Archos TV + at :

http://www.archoslounge.net/Test-du-TV- ... e-dur.html (in French)

http://translate.google.com/translate?u ... fr&ie=UTF8

With a lot of pic and video !

;)


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: test archos tv+
PostPosted: Sun Nov 18, 2007 6:22 pm 
Offline
Archos Expert
Archos Expert

Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2007 8:28 pm
Posts: 178
Location: Vermont, USA
Thank you very much for your interesting video. Some of us in the U.S. are very interested in this, but it is not yet available here.

One question: is the TV+ accessible from the network? Can you copy recorded videos from the TV+ to your PC?

Thanks again.


cajl wrote:
i have testing archos tv+

very interesting !

a little video on

http://www.dailymotion.com/jbmmfr/video ... mmarchostv


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 19, 2007 10:04 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2007 10:58 am
Posts: 585
Location: La varenne / France
archos tv is the same OS for 605

if 605 do, archos tv+ do

_________________
CORSE' WEB


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 20, 2007 3:10 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 2:30 am
Posts: 674
cajl wrote:
archos tv is the same OS for 605

if 605 do, archos tv+ do


Yes, thank you, but the main question here in America (probably everywhere) is if recordings made on the ArchosTV can be copied across a home network? Have you tried this?

And do the recordings have DRM?


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Nov 24, 2007 4:45 pm 
Offline
Archos Expert
Archos Expert

Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2007 8:28 pm
Posts: 178
Location: Vermont, USA
cajl wrote:
archos tv is the same OS for 605

if 605 do, archos tv+ do


Indeed, and if it was clear from the forums that the 605-with-dvr could copy files to other computers, that would be encouraging, but in this forum at least, I have been unable to find a clear listing of what the 605 setup is exactly capable of.

The issue, IMHO, is this: TV and the internet have been gradually growing closer together over the years, but the TV industry in is highly resistant to completely breaking down the barrier. You can use Windows Media Center to do that, but it will cost over $1000 US to get the necessary computer, cards, etc. DVRs can easily digitize TV, but most make it hard or impossible to copy those recordings to a computer, i.e., to the internet side. The Apple TV comes at things from the other direction, making it (relatively) easy to play internet video on your living room TV, but not recording TV transmissions or allowing full web browsing on your TV. The Archos TV Plus, if it is fully networkable and the files are not copy-protected, would land smack dab in the middle between TV and internet, completely breaking down the barrier for a modest price.

That's why this product MIGHT be a big deal, I think.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited