Forum.ArchosFans.com
http://forum.archosfans.com/

Is It Network-able?
http://forum.archosfans.com/viewtopic.php?f=27&t=8201
Page 1 of 2

Author:  Budwzr [ Wed Oct 17, 2007 11:57 pm ]
Post subject:  Is It Network-able?

I wonder if the hard drive can be accessed from network computers?

Author:  WillShakes [ Fri Nov 23, 2007 1:27 pm ]
Post subject:  Ethernet port

I can't say for sure as mine hasn't arrived yet, but bearing in mind the Ethernet Port it has, i would be surprised if this wasn't the case.

However, some require the use of media server software such as Windows Media Player 11, or proprietary software, or Free software like TVersity.

Until I get mine I can't say for sure, but I have had experience with using media server software instead of accessing the hard drive on the network (like my PS3), and it is usually no problem. You just share a folder on your network and copy the files you want to go to the TV+ (or whatever media device) into that fodler and synchronise. The synching works both ways too, as far as I know.

That's what I was assuming when I ordered. But either way I'm fine with it.

Will

Author:  sdm197 [ Sat Jan 12, 2008 10:14 pm ]
Post subject: 

Hi,

Ok, you can transfer files wirelessly to the TV+ and my Vista Laptop can see it, but I cannot see anyway of getting stuff off the TV plus wirelessly however lets remember you can connect your Archos unit for direct transfer so you could move stuff that way.

SDM197

Author:  Budwzr [ Sun Jan 13, 2008 12:43 am ]
Post subject: 

sdm197 wrote:
Hi,

Ok, you can transfer files wirelessly to the TV+ and my Vista Laptop can see it, but I cannot see anyway of getting stuff off the TV plus wirelessly however lets remember you can connect your Archos unit for direct transfer so you could move stuff that way.

SDM197


Thanks for the info. No network access to the hard drive might be a deal breaker for me. Does it have a file server like the 604?

Author:  sdm197 [ Sun Jan 13, 2008 2:15 am ]
Post subject: 

Budwzr wrote:
sdm197 wrote:
Hi,

Ok, you can transfer files wirelessly to the TV+ and my Vista Laptop can see it, but I cannot see anyway of getting stuff off the TV plus wirelessly however lets remember you can connect your Archos unit for direct transfer so you could move stuff that way.

SDM197


Thanks for the info. No network access to the hard drive might be a deal breaker for me. Does it have a file server like the 604?


I will check for you (File Server) I am pretty confident it has, what is it you want to achieve exactly?

SDM197

Author:  Budwzr [ Sun Jan 13, 2008 5:16 am ]
Post subject: 

I want to be able to access/transfer recordings from the hard drive across a cat5 network.

I can already record from my 604 wifi and "sneaker net" the file to a computer. I was hoping the TV+ could provide network transfers both ways.

Author:  sdm197 [ Sun Jan 13, 2008 1:47 pm ]
Post subject: 

Hi,

Right,

If you think of the TV+ as a Archos 605 without a screen you won't go far wrong. Obviousy it has lots of lovely connections and sockets, but wirelessly it has the same functionality. So if you can achieve what you are after with the 604, I see no problem with the TV+

Lifted from the 605 manual, the TV+ manual is not on the website yet:

Using the ARCHOS double browser, you will be able to play media files or transfer any
file from a networked computer onto your device. You can also transfer files from your
device onto a computerÔÇÖs write-enabled shared folder (see Copying and Moving Files
and Folders).
If the WiFi is not enabled or if you are not connected to a network, the device
will scan for available networks and connect to a known network or display
the list of available networks so that you can connect to one of them
.

The TV+ is a pretty versatile piece of kit, in McDonalds words "I'm Lovin it"

SDM197.

Author:  CBers [ Sun Jan 13, 2008 3:37 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Ethernet port

WillShakes wrote:
I can't say for sure as mine hasn't arrived yet, but bearing in mind the Ethernet Port it has, i would be surprised if this wasn't the case.

However, some require the use of media server software such as Windows Media Player 11, or proprietary software, or Free software like TVersity.

Until I get mine I can't say for sure, but I have had experience with using media server software instead of accessing the hard drive on the network (like my PS3), and it is usually no problem. You just share a folder on your network and copy the files you want to go to the TV+ (or whatever media device) into that fodler and synchronise. The synching works both ways too, as far as I know.

That's what I was assuming when I ordered. But either way I'm fine with it.

Will


Will - can I ask why you have ordered a TV+ if you already have a PS3 and use Tvserity ??

Author:  tstreete [ Sun Jan 13, 2008 3:58 pm ]
Post subject: 

Budwzr wrote:
I want to be able to access/transfer recordings from the hard drive across a cat5 network.

I can already record from my 604 wifi and "sneaker net" the file to a computer. I was hoping the TV+ could provide network transfers both ways.


I'm guessing that most possible purchasers of a TV+ would NOT already own an Archos portable device like the 605 (if you did, you'd probably just get the DVR-cradle). So getting files off of the TV+ for playing on a generic computer would be an important function for many. If the TV+ does not enable that over the network (cat5 or wireless), this would certainly be a deal-killer for me.

The related question is: are the DVR-recorded files DRM'd?

Author:  Budwzr [ Sun Jan 13, 2008 5:42 pm ]
Post subject: 

What I was really hoping for was network access to the hard drive both ways. For the hard drive to just show up as a network share without having to be in "file server" mode.

Author:  sdm197 [ Sun Jan 13, 2008 9:36 pm ]
Post subject: 

Budwzr wrote:
What I was really hoping for was network access to the hard drive both ways. For the hard drive to just show up as a network share without having to be in "file server" mode.


Hi,Buwzr,

I have a laptop running Vista Home Premium, also a desktop running XP Home, I have a standard wireless router.

If you want to talk me through the steps to see if it does what you want feel free and I will check it out. If I go into WMP 11 it can see the TV+ but you cannot access it. If I go to network connections it shows up but I double click it and it just opens WMP 11.

So take me through it and I will check,

tstreete wrote:
I'm guessing that most possible purchasers of a TV+ would NOT already own an Archos portable device like the 605 (if you did, you'd probably just get the DVR-cradle)


Yes but this really gives you content on the go, if I am using my 605 when I am out I cannot record anything via the DVR which is at home. If I have to leave it at home to record, I cannot take it with me which is pointless. Now I can take what I want off the TV+ and other members of the family can record things whilst I have the portable unit with me. The other thing I love is to be able to stream all my music from my PC to my HiFi via this unit without having to take up the 40GB on my unit (605).

SDM197

Author:  Budwzr [ Mon Jan 14, 2008 12:03 am ]
Post subject: 

Have you tried syncing it with some media in WMP11? What's the result?

Author:  sdm197 [ Mon Jan 14, 2008 1:35 am ]
Post subject: 

Hi Budwzr

When you say syncing it, wouldn't it have to be connected to the PC with a cable for that like when you sync say a 605 with WMP11?

As far as I know I cannot sync my 605 wirelessly,

SDM197

Author:  Budwzr [ Mon Jan 14, 2008 3:15 am ]
Post subject: 

Yes, normally it only syncs to a local device. Does the icon in network connections look like a tv with rabbit ears? This is the symbol for a UPnP or DLNA device.

Author:  Budwzr [ Mon Jan 14, 2008 3:21 am ]
Post subject: 

BTW, the 604wifi, and presumably, the 605 have a file server application that works with wifi. I was wondering if this has been extended to the LAN connection as well.

If this is the case, that would be good, since you can start the file server, then go to any PC and do the transfer, then go back and shut the file server off.

Perhaps someone else reading this post who has a LAN set up can try it out.

It's a hassle, but at least frees us up from transferring manually via USB or Archos device.

Author:  sdm197 [ Mon Jan 14, 2008 2:34 pm ]
Post subject: 

Hi Budwzr

OK Success!

I enabled "File Server mode" under the settings menu and then I went to my desktop PC running windows XP, I went to my Network Places and the TV+ appeared.

I then navigated to the video folder, I noticed that files that were there some were AVI and some were AV2 i think this is because some were movies with long running times. For example I recorded Casino Royale off the TV, the file size is 1.99GB then the remainder is probably on the AV2 file. I checked and the only double files (2 Entries) were movies over 2GB, so this is done obviously to keep them under the FAT system limitation.

Anyway copied one of the files wirelessly to my Desktop PC and it worked.

The only mystery now is why I cannot achieve this on my Vista Laptop, when you double click on the TV+ icon it just opens up WMP11 :evil:

If anyone knows a way round that I would be grateful, but on XP it works a treat!

SDM197

Author:  Budwzr [ Mon Jan 14, 2008 7:19 pm ]
Post subject: 

Vista is a pain in the arse sometimes dealing with "foreign" disks. I have no trouble with the file server on my 604wifi though with Vista.

Thanks for your info, many of us out here are looking for detail specs before purchase, especially owners of 604/704, because we want to know if it's worth it to upgrade.

As it stands right now, it seems the TV+ does NOT offer any advantage except for the LAN port. And we don't know the functionality yet.

Wifi is too slow for network transfer, and is marginal for playback, subject to blips in the network.

Author:  sdm197 [ Mon Jan 14, 2008 11:54 pm ]
Post subject: 

Hi Budwzr,

The TV+ gives the choice of enabling the "Wireless File server" or the "connect to an ethernet network" so it should do what you want.

Unfortunately I cannot test it, I took my TV+ to my router connected it to the ethernet port, but then realised I cannot check it because I need connected to a TV to turn the file server on what a Dumbass! :oops: Unfortunately I don't own a portable to try it.

SDM197

Author:  Budwzr [ Tue Jan 15, 2008 1:45 am ]
Post subject: 

sdm197 wrote:
Hi Budwzr,

The TV+ gives the choice of enabling the "Wireless File server" or the "connect to an ethernet network" so it should do what you want.

Unfortunately I cannot test it, I took my TV+ to my router connected it to the ethernet port, but then realised I cannot check it because I need connected to a TV to turn the file server on what a Dumbass! :oops: Unfortunately I don't own a portable to try it.

SDM197


That's good news. At least a highspeed transfer is possible. I suspect it will do nothing else while in File Server mode, right?

How about video streaming? Do you think that works on the LAN connection? Thanks for your info, we all appreciate it.

Author:  tstreete [ Tue Jan 15, 2008 5:42 am ]
Post subject:  tv + manuals posted online

http://www.archos.com/support/download/ ... lus-v1.pdf

Page 1 of 2 All times are UTC+01:00
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited
https://www.phpbb.com/