Forum.ArchosFans.com

Unofficial Archos Support Forum
It is currently Fri May 29, 2020 6:28 pm

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Subtitles?
PostPosted: Sun Jan 20, 2008 8:44 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2008 8:39 am
Posts: 3
Does anybody know how to use subtitles (separate sub, srt or similar text based ones) with Archos 405? The user manual says they are supported, and the firmware update histories show improvements for subtitles. However, no matter what I did, I could not get subtitles on the screen. I do not even see the related icon on the screen.
Thanks in advance.


Top
   
 Post subject: could try
PostPosted: Sun Jan 20, 2008 8:35 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2008 6:24 pm
Posts: 5
hi im haven't got to using subs with a vid file but have u made sure that both the vid and sub file have the exact same names.... e.g vid.avi and vid.srt


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 22, 2008 6:05 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2008 8:39 am
Posts: 3
thanks, I have tried that but I did not even get the subtitle selection icon. any ideas why?


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 22, 2008 1:22 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2006 3:15 am
Posts: 3332
Location: essex uk
srt. files wont work with the archos range, you need to hard copy them into the avi files, do a search i think this has been covered before.
roy


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 23, 2008 5:03 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2008 8:39 am
Posts: 3
Ok, thanks. I have already tested hard-encoding the subtitles into video files but it is extremely inconvenient as it takes quite some time.

In the meantime, I have managed to get the subtitles working without reencoding. You need to copy the text-based subtitle file together with the movie file. The obvious part is that they need to have the same name (except for extension). The not-so-obvious part is that the name needs to be short. Apparently, it can only see the subtitle if the names are not too long and then the famous icon appears. Otherwise, you do not get anything.

Thanks to you all again :)


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited