Forum.ArchosFans.com

Unofficial Archos Support Forum
It is currently Sat Apr 29, 2017 8:28 am

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Mar 11, 2009 12:21 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 12:09 am
Posts: 32
Hello, I'm a newbie, so apologies if my question has been answered elsewhere on the forum.
Until recently, I had been using the Program Guide to set up timed recordings. Everything was going well until I let the Program Guide on the 405 run out, not the licence just the program data on the 405. At this point, when I hit the Rec option from the home screen, it told me my Program Guide needed to be updated. So I went to Archoslink and downloaded/synced the new guide, disconnected my 405 from my PC (safely!), but still no guide. Archos support suggested upgrading firmware and checking language and time settings, all of which I have done to no avail. They also said read the FAQ, part of which says delete the epglist.dat file on the 405 and start again; this just gave me an Error when I donwloaded from Archoslink. I've just tried syncing again tonight, and get 100% on Download & Sync, but when I safely disconnect the 405 from the PC, I don;t get a message to update the guide, and sure enough when I hit the Rec option, it just says No program information for all my channels.
HELP! :?


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Mar 13, 2009 12:47 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 12:09 am
Posts: 32
:D
YES! I managed to fix it myself! For those who might be having the same problem, here's how I fixed it.
Went to files, highlighted the Epg folder and renamed it to 123.
I then connected the Archos to my PC and enabled USB, then opened Archoslink and clicked donwload on the Program Guide update; this time it took much longer, and the sync also took longer (previous attempts this week had been completed in less than 5 seconds).
I then safely disconnected the Archos from the PC, and lo and behold the message appeared on the Archos "Updating Program Guide". Just too late to record tonight's "Family Guy" #-o


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Sep 25, 2009 2:52 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2009 7:03 pm
Posts: 4
Hi ,

I noticed this, and was wondering what else you did, you see i am having the same problem, i connect the 405 up to my pc, and using the archos link that is on my desktop, try to download the tv guide, it gets as far as showing the bar increasing, so its trying to download, however it gets to the end of the bar, then comes up with error and thats it, i have tried your idea by renaming the EPG file, but still no joy, any ideas would be grateful.

many thanks,
cmikkky.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Sep 29, 2009 11:46 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue Sep 29, 2009 11:29 am
Posts: 1
Hi,we're new to this but cannot find details of our similar problem in the FAG's or any help from the Archos support team.

We cannot get the EPG and have not even got as far as getting "error" messages.

Where do we find the EPG? All of our installations and registration instructions have been followed exactly but no programme listings show up?


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Oct 07, 2009 8:59 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 12:09 am
Posts: 32
cmikky, SWIPE

Are you using the original USB cable supplied by Archos? I've had problems using "non-Archos" cables.
Instead of renaming the EPG folder, I now completely remove it before connecting the Archos to my PC.
Also, I've noticed sometimes other "copies" of the epg.dat file remain on the device, and until all of them are deleted; e.g. if you've got an SD card installed in the Archos, check there isn't an epg file there.
Good luck!


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Oct 07, 2009 9:01 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 12:09 am
Posts: 32
SWIPE

Just another thought; have you registered your TV Guide preferences on the tvtv website?


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Oct 10, 2009 9:00 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2009 7:03 pm
Posts: 4
Hi Gromit,

Thanks for replying,

I have looked through the files icon, and there is no trace of an EPG file, I am still trying the Archos link to download the Tv guide update, but i am still getting no joy with it, I am using the Archos USB cable.
If you have any other ideas I would be extremely grateful, however I think i am going to have to give this one up as a lost cause. I tried contacting Archos and all i got was, " sorry your warrenty is now expired, please contact repair " some customer service eh? all i wanted was for them to tell me why the Archos link was not working.

Many thanks

Cmikkky.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Sep 13, 2010 5:51 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 12:09 am
Posts: 32
cmikky

You probably need to register with tvtv; go to their website http://www.tvtv.co.uk/tvtv/index.vm?lang=en to set up an account. If you still have the initial registration details and code that came with your Archos, you -may- still qualify for the 1 year free subscription to the TV Guide. If not, you'll need to purchase a year's subscription from the tvtv website. Once tvtv recognise you as a customer, try hooking up your Archos to your PC and run the program guide download again from Archos Link.

Hope this helps

Paul


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited