Forum.ArchosFans.com

Unofficial Archos Support Forum
It is currently Sat Apr 29, 2017 8:28 am

All times are UTC+01:00

PostPosted: Wed Mar 11, 2009 12:21 am 
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Hello, I'm a newbie, so apologies if my question has been answered elsewhere on the forum.
Until recently, I had been using the Program Guide to set up timed recordings. Everything was going well until I let the Program Guide on the 405 run out, not the licence just the program data on the 405. At this point, when I hit the Rec option from the home screen, it told me my Program Guide needed to be updated. So I went to Archoslink and downloaded/synced the new guide, disconnected my 405 from my PC (safely!), but still no guide. Archos support suggested upgrading firmware and checking language and time settings, all of which I have done to no avail. They also said read the FAQ, part of which says delete the epglist.dat file on the 405 and start again; this just gave me an Error when I donwloaded from Archoslink. I've just tried syncing again tonight, and get 100% on Download & Sync, but when I safely disconnect the 405 from the PC, I don;t get a message to update the guide, and sure enough when I hit the Rec option, it just says No program information for all my channels.
HELP! :?

PostPosted: Fri Mar 13, 2009 12:47 am 
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

:D
YES! I managed to fix it myself! For those who might be having the same problem, here's how I fixed it.
Went to files, highlighted the Epg folder and renamed it to 123.
I then connected the Archos to my PC and enabled USB, then opened Archoslink and clicked donwload on the Program Guide update; this time it took much longer, and the sync also took longer (previous attempts this week had been completed in less than 5 seconds).
I then safely disconnected the Archos from the PC, and lo and behold the message appeared on the Archos "Updating Program Guide". Just too late to record tonight's "Family Guy" #-o