Forum.ArchosFans.com

Unofficial Archos Support Forum
It is currently Fri Nov 24, 2017 10:34 am

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 381 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 4 520 Next

Are You Happy With Your 605?
Yes 69%  69%  [ 540 ]
No 17%  17%  [ 132 ]
Undecided 14%  14%  [ 109 ]
Total votes: 781
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Oct 24, 2007 10:12 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Fri May 25, 2007 2:30 pm
Posts: 295
Location: London,UK
Iam very happy with mine :D
I know there are still some teething problems with the device,but ive had no major issues with mine.
Video,music,recording and streaming all working great.
I dont have the low volume issue some ppl have been complaining about-- inbuilt speaker and earphones are giving me ample volume.
The minor niggle i have is when i lose wifi connection the unit freezes up,but hoping a firmware update will fix this.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 24, 2007 10:53 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2007 11:02 pm
Posts: 14
You Damn Skippy. I Love My 605 160GB. I Have Had All Good Experiences With Mine :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D .


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 25, 2007 2:12 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2007 1:51 am
Posts: 42
i think if i ever get the plugins, i'll like it even more. i'd really like to see a sleep timer too.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 25, 2007 2:54 am 
Offline
Archos Expert
Archos Expert

Joined: Mon Sep 17, 2007 12:22 pm
Posts: 178
Helll Yeah !!!!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 25, 2007 9:59 am 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2007 4:17 pm
Posts: 127
Very pleased with it!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 25, 2007 11:28 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 1:02 pm
Posts: 6
Another happy customer here :D


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 25, 2007 3:41 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2007 4:54 pm
Posts: 68
Just got my 160 GB unit yesterday. It hasn't been perfect but it's flawlessly played about 90% of what I've thrown at it without problems. And 90% of that last 10% I can just demux/mux or re-encode from source and solve the issues.

(none of the reviews mentioned that the buttons on the side are "blumpy", there's a big bump around the arrow keys. I like it a lot and it makes blind manipulation of the controls VERY VERY easy. I tried taking a picture of it but it's so subtle it doesn't show up.)

Is there any way to figure out the date of manufacture from the serial number or product key? Maybe we could start a list of units without issues and try to figure out which batches are problematic. That way people in stores could avoid bad units and if you're shipped a potentially bad unit you can exchange it unopened without restocking fees. 8)


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 31, 2007 10:45 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2007 4:46 pm
Posts: 21
Location: Ireland
im on my new 605wifi now and im very happy with it. its just what i expected. getting used to the virtual keypad at the moment.... :D


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 01, 2007 4:13 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 2:53 am
Posts: 962
Location: Chicago, IL
I am now on my 2nd 160, but i still love it. I am returning my first one because the volume UP button broke, but other than that, its a fantastic piece of machinery.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 01, 2007 2:43 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2007 9:00 am
Posts: 59
Location: Chester in the UK
Got my 605 last week. A few lock ups, but apart from that great.
Better resulution than my AV500, or 700TV


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 02, 2007 1:08 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2007 4:11 am
Posts: 26
I'll be happy with it once they start supporting x264 MKVs.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 02, 2007 3:52 am 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2007 11:01 pm
Posts: 102
OMG!! After weeks of reading this forum I finally got my 605/160Gb and I must say the screen in particular is amazing. I have ripped 12 or so films and they look unbelievable. And the demo photos; wow. This screen is so amazing!

Now I have to figure out the plug-ins. If I go to web and then plugins and select "buy now" it takes me to my shopping cart. However, no matter how many times I select buy now my cart stays empty. I registered fine.

I'm sure I will figure it out.


Top
   
 Post subject: im very happy
PostPosted: Fri Nov 02, 2007 8:34 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 3:44 am
Posts: 5
i love it, i had a 30GB COWON A2, it worked great until someone broke into my house and stole it just a few days before my birthday :( . So i wanted to buy something better and i bought the 30GB ARCHOS 605, which is better in almost every way 8): it loads everything faster, has a better and bigger display, the touch screen is very fun. i only have a little complain, the battery in the COWON could do like 8 hours of video the ARCHOS doesnt.

But with the battery dock the ARCHOS could do something similar. I LOVE THE ARCHOS 605 is way more better that those CRAPPY I-PODS, which are very popular in Costa Rica, my country, because no one dont brings COWON┬┤s or ARCHOS┬┤s, The ARCHOS could cost like $600 with taxes in here. LOL :D .


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 02, 2007 9:26 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 5:21 pm
Posts: 7
Thrilled with mine - just wondering if I should have waited for the 605 WiFi with TV (which no doubt will be Archos next launch) and then I would have everything I needed.

Slight problem at the moment with background noise on recorded TV but I should be able to sort that.

Bought some films and they are brilliant, excellent picture and sound - still have not been successful in encoding my own DVD's to put on the Archos - could do with some help with this.

Locks up occasionally and loses Wifi connection occasionally, but overall = love it to bits.


Top
   
 Post subject: Lovin" It
PostPosted: Mon Nov 05, 2007 3:44 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2007 2:45 pm
Posts: 7
I just got my 605 and after I finally got the firmware to install, I could not put it down. This PMP is amazing. The only down side is the battery takes for ever to charge.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 05, 2007 5:11 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2007 4:50 am
Posts: 18
Location: Colorado
I could love the device if someone could solve the annoying static that I experience when streaming media from my PC when using headphones!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 05, 2007 9:56 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2007 12:12 am
Posts: 13
I like it but voted no because:

It's too picky about where media types have to go.
Codecs which should be part of it are paid for.
Even the web browser is an extra.
The battery charge time and life are poor.
The UI is very clunky.
Internal speaker sounds terrible.
The auto power off doesn't work

I could carry on with all the little things that annoy me about this, but I won't.


Top
   
 Post subject: Love it.
PostPosted: Mon Nov 05, 2007 5:30 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2007 12:47 am
Posts: 146
Location: Ontario (near Niagara) Canada
No issues to speak of, newer firmware has even reduced the lockup issue with WiFi signal loss (making me even happier).

Like pretty much everything about this little beast!!!

Scott


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 05, 2007 10:49 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2007 4:20 pm
Posts: 9
chrisduffer wrote:
I like it but voted no because:
Codecs which should be part of it are paid for.
Even the web browser is an extra.
The UI is very clunky.


i have to say that i also have some issues and yes the UI could be better, especially the music player.

But to say that Codes and Webbrowser should be part of it i don't agree with that. Why is it then nobody seems to want to pay for software on these kind of products or for example for smart phones? Does your pc come with everything? I don't think so.

Why make an archos 50$ more expensive so that you could have your browser and codes? I think they do it now right. Make it cheap as possible and pay for extra software if you need it.

What is a pity compared to for examples phones is that only archos can supply software for it there is no thirth party market.
Thats why maybe if Nokia makes the N810 a little bit more a PMP (larger hd's and so on) it could be a big competitor. But i think archos should go the other way. They should make it a little bit more like a tablet gadget. They are soooo close...


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 07, 2007 1:14 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2007 12:12 am
Posts: 70
Definitely happy with my 605 (160 GB version)

Plays many of the videos i already have, some i have to recode, but it's not much of a hassle, much less than with players where i have to convert just about everything.

Problems i had are few and quickly fixed, mostly a reboot solved it (video not playing in spite of supported codec), or re-tagging my mp3s so that they are sorted correctly.

Battery life is good enough for me, i also have the Battery Dock so i can charge it in a reasonable time


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 381 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 4 520 Next

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited