Forum.ArchosFans.com

Unofficial Archos Support Forum
It is currently Wed Nov 13, 2019 4:38 pm

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 131 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 57 Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 21, 2007 1:36 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2006 3:15 am
Posts: 3332
Location: essex uk
Good work saved me doing it eventually lol. anyways sticky now
roy


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 21, 2007 4:27 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 2:53 am
Posts: 962
Location: Chicago, IL
Hey homer.

My tv shows that are on DVD are 4 episodes per DVD. so when i use this program to convert them, they are in 4 different files.

Is that what you are asking? If so, i can try to give you the best instructions, while not actually being in front of the FU Wizard because i am at work...

let me know!

Mon


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 21, 2007 5:10 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 3:51 pm
Posts: 344
Location: Beaverton, Oregon U.S.
I will defiantly try it when I can next.

_________________
Archos 5 60GB


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 21, 2007 8:13 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2007 1:33 am
Posts: 684
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Has anyone successfully converted using H.264 on FairUse and not found the resulting avi to be choppy on the Archos? I'm assuming this is because it's using B-frames to encode but is there any way to change this in FU? I guess I could use Xvid or DivX instead if need be.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 22, 2007 1:34 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2007 3:58 pm
Posts: 30
Which files do I copy to my archos? thanks


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 22, 2007 1:49 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 2:53 am
Posts: 962
Location: Chicago, IL
the ones with the little movie reel icon. to test it out, click on it, and if it opens, and plays the movie, thats the right file to move over.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 22, 2007 2:03 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2007 3:58 pm
Posts: 30
Fantastic. works great.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 22, 2007 2:05 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 2:53 am
Posts: 962
Location: Chicago, IL
glad to help out!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 22, 2007 3:58 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2007 3:58 pm
Posts: 30
This thread was very helpful. I was having a hard time figuring out how to get DVDs onto my 605. The screen shots were extreemly helpful


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 22, 2007 4:02 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2007 4:32 am
Posts: 1153
Location: new york
Thanks for the guide I am running fairuse wright now.

but could you explain the subtittle options a little more. I am trying to rip Dragon Ball Z dvds in Japanese with subtitles. Is there any one out there that has tried to do this? I would not mind if it is hardencoded or is a srt file.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 22, 2007 11:05 pm 
Offline
Archos Expert
Archos Expert

Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 6:19 pm
Posts: 221
Location: LUTON, ENGLAND
Average guy,thanks for this tutorial. ;)
I would have been lost without it. Trying my first F.U. DVD now and I'm hoping it will go well.I'll report back but so far it's been plain sailing \:D/


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 26, 2007 7:19 pm 
Offline
Archos Expert
Archos Expert

Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 6:19 pm
Posts: 221
Location: LUTON, ENGLAND
It's taken over 5 hours to process one DVD. :oops:
This must be wrong surely. Any tips ?


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 27, 2007 11:14 am 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2005 11:55 pm
Posts: 96
Location: Ireland
Monica,

Just to clarify, my DVDs are 6 episodes per disk, therefore 6 equal size program chains show up at 'step 4'. If i opt to cache all the program chains i then only get the option to have one output file altogether or have each episode split into 6 chapters each, at 'step 8'.

So what i need to know is, what options do i need to select to have each of the program chains output to a file each?

I guess i could 'enqueue' each program chain, but id really rather not have to... Thanks!!
(The homer bit is a pseudonym btw!)


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 28, 2007 4:53 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2005 11:55 pm
Posts: 96
Location: Ireland
Nelly,
5 hours is about right. Transcoding video is a big job. My 3Ghz consistently takes about this long....


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 29, 2007 12:54 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 1:01 am
Posts: 1725
Location: Richmond VA USA
averageguy saves the day.

A package for me comes in the mail. I already know what it is and now its Xmas in November! It's my DVD set of the complete Night Gallery shows. So I want to burn one and make sure all is good for the 605. I open PocketDVD Studio and I can hear the sound running but no picture. :evil: I try lots of different stuff and still no success. :evil: I am totally bummed out. :(

Time to download FUW Light and print out this great tutorial. Obi One Kanobi (averageguy) your my only hope. It worked like a charm. It does take a long time to do its thing, so its an overnight, or go to work project but its free and it works great. Who can cry.

Thanks! averageguy. I owe you!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 29, 2007 1:27 pm 
Offline
Archos Expert
Archos Expert

Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 6:19 pm
Posts: 221
Location: LUTON, ENGLAND
Thanks Homer. :D
Relieved it wasn't me and my nooby mistakes.
Looks like an "overnight" or "go to work with it running" project as Kodiak says,the results are worth it.

Kodiak : I had the same problem with my Pocket DVD trial so I abandoned the idea. That was a shame because it had everything I needed and wanted.

Just trying out DVD Platinum and it looks like I'll be choosing between FUW (the light version is free) and DVD Platinum. \:D/


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 29, 2007 6:05 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 1:01 am
Posts: 1725
Location: Richmond VA USA
Yeah the PocketDVD Studio is a pleasure to use. It has all the features especially the Start and Stop points. I also can burn a movie in just over an hour so its pretty fast. I just could not get the video to play. It looks like a vob file so maybe thats the issue. I'll use it when ever I can but for this set I'll have to stick with FUW and just letting them run over night.


Top
   
 Post subject: Too many segments
PostPosted: Thu Nov 29, 2007 7:02 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 6:34 pm
Posts: 3
Thanks for the info. I tried it once and it worked exactly like you showed but when I tried it on another DVD there was no one large file but many smaller sized ones. The DVD ripped fine but in the destination folder there were like 22 separate files. They all play fine but they are individual and seem to be in a random order. Is there some setting that I should have selected? Any help would be appreciated. Thanks in advance.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 29, 2007 7:31 pm 
Offline
Archos Expert
Archos Expert

Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 6:19 pm
Posts: 221
Location: LUTON, ENGLAND
Of course if anyone knows the methods "AXXO" uses it would make things a lot easier, less fun, but easier.
Looks like it's FUW for me.
Thanks Average Guy. :D


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 30, 2007 3:27 pm 
Offline
Archos Expert
Archos Expert

Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 6:19 pm
Posts: 221
Location: LUTON, ENGLAND
I put "Open Range" on my Archos the other day. I made the resolution 800x600 (the 605 max) and no joy. Made it 720x576 and it played fine. The file was only 1.5 gigs.
Does anyone know why I get the error "file too big to play" when it's 800x600 ? :?


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 131 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 57 Next

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited