Forum.ArchosFans.com
Archos 80 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 8GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 80 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 250GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 101 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 8GB: Buy now (free shipping)
Archos 101 G9 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM ICS 250GB: Buy now (free shipping)
 * Register    * Login 

It is currently Wed Jul 23, 2014 4:55 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour



Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Sep 23, 2007 9:47 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2007 9:43 pm
Posts: 3
Hello all, brand new 605 owner, I was perplexed with the screen going black and freezing of the unit while using the treadmill.

after reading multiple threads here it is clearly the same static issue that other models have had under the same scenerio. my biggest problem is that I am not touching the unit when this happens! it is either static directly from the treadmill or transmitted via my headphones (?? is this even possible ??) anyway has anybody actually come up with any sort of case solution so this unit can be used on a treadmill or on a bike at a gym? This is the only reason I bought this unit.

Does anybody think somehow shielding the usb/docking connectors would help?

thanks


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 23, 2007 9:54 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2006 10:31 pm
Posts: 138
ground the treadmill. electrically, I mean

_________________
all software sucks equally, but some software is more equal than other software


Top
   
 
 Post subject: traadmill
PostPosted: Sun Sep 23, 2007 9:55 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2007 9:43 pm
Posts: 3
it's one of many random treadmills at the gym that I really can't do much about the electronics for.


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 23, 2007 10:12 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2007 6:51 am
Posts: 29
I hope the Archos 605 you have doesn't have a built-in hard-drive, because if it does, it's not meant to be shaken!!!


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Treadmill
PostPosted: Sun Sep 23, 2007 10:35 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2007 9:43 pm
Posts: 3
yes it's a 30 gig unit with a hard drive, but the amount of "shaking" is miniscule, and it goes without saying that 4 years and 3 different hard drive ipods never had any issue. the kind of drives they put in to these units can handle some motion as they don't spin too fast, in fact I move the unit around the house while it's playing some video without problem.

this is clearly a design flaw of SOME sort, I am going to try it again tomorrow with some covering on the usb port as well as a different set of headphones and see what happens


Top
   
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Hosted by Forumatic™