Forum.ArchosFans.com

Unofficial Archos Support Forum
It is currently Fri Nov 24, 2017 9:09 pm

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Jun 24, 2009 8:48 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Fri May 16, 2008 3:52 am
Posts: 4
Location: North Carolina, USA
I've transferred some video files to my 605, and I've noticed that not only is there no thumbnail of the video when I access the Video menu, but when I click on the video to play, the system tells me the "Image Size is too big" and won't play it. The video is a .WMV file at 1000x564 resolution. Is there any way to fix this other than re-rendering the video file itself?


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jun 25, 2009 9:01 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 11:51 am
Posts: 708
dkst0426 wrote:
The video is a .WMV file at 1000x564 resolution


Thats your problem, the resolution is too high for the archos to play. You need to transcode it to something smaller


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jun 26, 2009 9:04 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2008 3:56 pm
Posts: 95
Location: Saint Paul, MN
800 x 480 is the max on a 605wifi.

_________________
Drummerman


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2009 9:05 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Thu May 10, 2007 10:01 am
Posts: 1647
Location: Kent, UK.
I think 800 x 480 is too big as well.

I down-converted a HD file to 800 x 480 for my TV+ and it failed to play it.

I was under the impression that all GEN5 devices played the same MAX resoulution.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Mar 27, 2012 1:46 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2010 7:12 am
Posts: 2
I had the same problem just recently. I used Freemake Video Converter I added the file/s then converted to AVI then scrolled down to TV settings. It did the job fine. Frame width 640 Frame Height 360. :)


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Aug 18, 2012 3:34 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2012 3:29 am
Posts: 1
I haven't had much luck with FreeMake; about ½ the time I get an unwatchable, choppy video OR it will drop some of the video altogether.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited