Forum.ArchosFans.com

Unofficial Archos Support Forum
It is currently Fri Oct 18, 2019 12:49 am

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 184 posts ]  Go to page Previous 14 5 6 7 810 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Jun 08, 2008 12:59 am 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2007 10:17 pm
Posts: 108
Location: New Jersey, USA
Douglas wrote:
Boy, I was two clicks away from buying the 16GB Transcend with the little USB adaper from Amazon.

Now, I'm seeing people are having trouble with that one, too.

The San disk 16GB seems pretty expensive...

' don't know what to do!


PNY 16GB class 4 made me happy. It's about the same price as the Transcend. I also saw the Sandisk Ultra III 16GB but it was too much for me.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 13, 2008 6:36 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed May 21, 2008 3:53 am
Posts: 32
Location: Renton, Washington USA
' just bought the PNY 16GB SDHC - (Class 4) for $70 at Buy.com.

I'll post here wih my results.

I also bought a little usb sdhc reader so , worst case, I still have a handy device for my PC.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 24, 2008 5:03 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed May 21, 2008 3:53 am
Posts: 32
Location: Renton, Washington USA
I am so happy...
I just received my 16gb PNY card from Buy.com

IT WORKED right out of the package.

I got so much space to fill.

I'm doing the happy dance.

Back to reality.. looks like my router is on the fritz...it's always something with these computers.

Cheers


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 24, 2008 5:21 am 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Sat Mar 08, 2008 1:59 am
Posts: 101
Douglas wrote:
I am so happy...
I just received my 16gb PNY card from Buy.com

IT WORKED right out of the package.

I got so much space to fill.

I'm doing the happy dance.

Back to reality.. looks like my router is on the fritz...it's always something with these computers.

Cheers


Very cool, ordered mine yesterday. Hope I have a happy dance in my future also.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 27, 2008 9:52 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2008 11:35 pm
Posts: 2
Douglas wrote:
I am so happy...
I just received my 16gb PNY card from Buy.com

IT WORKED right out of the package.

I got so much space to fill.

I'm doing the happy dance.

Back to reality.. looks like my router is on the fritz...it's always something with these computers.

Cheers


Douglas, are you using Firmware Version 2.1.04? I hope you are, then perhaps the PNY 16 GB card can work for me too.

It appears the SDHC card compatibility is inconsistent. I've read in this forum that the San Disk 4GB is OK. I just got one yesterday, and my 605 does not recognize it. I've also seen some people can use one type of card with their unit while others have problems with the same type. I wonder if it has to do with the Firmware version. I've the latest (2.1.04). I should think that if an earlier version is good for a particular card, the latest should be OK. But it does not seem to be the case.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 29, 2008 2:45 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed May 21, 2008 3:53 am
Posts: 32
Location: Renton, Washington USA
Yep, 2.1.04.

I think I'm going to leave it in and never take it out!

I've got oceans and oceans of space. I'm already getting lazy and not deleting stuff.

I've tried to create a directory structure that will keep everything organized.

good luck


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 01, 2008 1:43 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Fri May 16, 2008 10:00 am
Posts: 25
Just bought a 4gb 605 and a 8gb Trancend card gives me a 102 error if i boot the machine up with it in but seems to work fine if i put it in after the boot up ???

Im worried ity might go pear shapped on me

Do poeople think it might be a machine prob or just the card ?


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 02, 2008 5:40 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2008 11:35 pm
Posts: 2
Douglas wrote:
Yep, 2.1.04.

I think I'm going to leave it in and never take it out!

I've got oceans and oceans of space. I'm already getting lazy and not deleting stuff.

I've tried to create a directory structure that will keep everything organized.

good luck


Thanks, Douglas, for your response.

I got a PNY 8GB SDHC card from a local dealer last week. It works fine for me. Unfortunately, I could not get the 16 GB version locally. I'm going to order one online next week.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 02, 2008 8:26 pm 
Offline
Archos Expert
Archos Expert

Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2006 2:07 pm
Posts: 196
Anyone tried the 16GB play.com card? I know the 8Gb one works but the 16GB is only £35 now


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 02, 2008 9:46 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Fri May 25, 2007 2:30 pm
Posts: 295
Location: London,UK
toadsurfer wrote:
Anyone tried the 16GB play.com card? I know the 8Gb one works but the 16GB is only £35 now


I've had this card since last December [see page 1 of this thread] and its still working fine.

_________________
A605 4GB


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 03, 2008 3:54 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2008 12:10 pm
Posts: 4
Annoyingly Sandisk 4GB worked absolutely fine UNTIL i updated to the latest firmware 2.1.04, now the archos just doesnt see the card at all.

PC and digi-cam recognise the 4GB card ok, but not the archos now. grrr ....

Anyone else had problems with this firmware and compatible cards ?


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 08, 2008 4:01 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Fri May 16, 2008 10:00 am
Posts: 25
Cann42 wrote:
Just bought a 4gb 605 and a 8gb Trancend card gives me a 102 error if i boot the machine up with it in but seems to work fine if i put it in after the boot up ???

Im worried ity might go pear shapped on me

Do poeople think it might be a machine prob or just the card ?



Just an update to say it seems to be working fine now, not quite sure why as ive done nothing to change anything

Lets hope it stays that way :lol:


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: anyone tested this?
PostPosted: Tue Jul 08, 2008 8:31 pm 
Offline
Archos User
Archos User

Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2008 1:06 am
Posts: 86
Location: Kirkland, WA
kanman wrote:
There's a sale where I'm at on this SDHC- SanDisk UltraII X100 15MB\s 16GB, anyone know if it's compatible? (egg link-http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820171349
regardless, to add to the thread, 8 gb SanDisk SDHC-worked out of the box


If you are going to spend that kind of money I say go with the new PNY 32gb card. It's going for $119 at Costco.com. Otherwise an Adata or PNY 16gb will run you significantly less and will work.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 16, 2008 4:43 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2006 3:15 am
Posts: 3332
Location: essex uk
ive been so pleased with my play.com 8gb card ive ordered 2more (not a single 102 error since ive been using this card touch wood). ive noticed they are now doing a 16gb card for £35 - has anyone bought one of these and had any joy?, atm it works out cheaper per gb to get the 8gb cards but knowing play.com they will drop the prices very soon to bring it in line or below the smaller cards.
my only bugbear with the 8gb cards are they are a little slow to put media on but have no problems with recording and playback.
roy

_________________
COYI


Top
   
 Post subject: This one worked for me!
PostPosted: Wed Jul 16, 2008 6:52 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 9:42 pm
Posts: 16
I bought the 16GB Transcend listed in this forum and it's working great so far. Bought it from Newegg, came with the USB reader as well for $56.

*Using the lastest 2.x firmware...


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Compatible SD cards
PostPosted: Fri Aug 22, 2008 11:38 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2008 8:44 pm
Posts: 22
Location: spain
peak 8gb running latest firmware works fine. :D


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Compatible SD cards
PostPosted: Tue Sep 02, 2008 5:31 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 6:36 am
Posts: 264
Location: NYC
this cheap enough ?

Image

_________________
404,605/4GB


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Compatible SD cards
PostPosted: Wed Sep 03, 2008 10:13 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 5:13 pm
Posts: 46
16GB Patriot SDHC working fine. Running latest firmware.

..netbozo 8)


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Compatible SD cards
PostPosted: Sat Sep 06, 2008 8:03 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2008 8:02 pm
Posts: 1
Hi, anyone has tried with A-data 16gb sdhc after latest fw (2.1.04) ?
Thanx, byez.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Compatible SD cards
PostPosted: Thu Sep 11, 2008 12:14 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2008 12:08 am
Posts: 1
Guys, I bought an Archos 605 4GB and a SanDisk 8GB SDHC Class2 and it doesnt seem to show up in the file manager. Apart from that in the system menu the format SD Card is grayed out. Any ideas? Thanks


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 184 posts ]  Go to page Previous 14 5 6 7 810 Next

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited