Forum.ArchosFans.com

Unofficial Archos Support Forum
It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 5:56 am

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: File sharing with vista
PostPosted: Tue Sep 01, 2009 8:56 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 11:27 am
Posts: 10
I am trying to view files in vista from my 604wifi. I can connect to the workgroup and see my laptop `C` drive and `default` user account. I can browse the default account and view pictures etc but when I selct the C drive the archos prompts me to enter a username and password, I do not use a password as i am the only user of my laptop and now I cannot view any of my files without moving them to the default account. I have enabled file sharing and read lots of posts on this forum but cannot find a fix....any help much appreciated


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Sep 21, 2009 12:32 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 12:22 pm
Posts: 3
Hi,
According to me,you should connect your computers in LAN connection.So that you should easily shared your folder with the other computers.Make one computer as a server and installed into windows server2003.
Thanks for sharing this information.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Nov 16, 2009 9:25 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 11:27 am
Posts: 10
Mark, thanks for your reply but not really sure what you meant :? :? .
What I am trying to do is stream video from my laptop to my archos, but when I try and do this the archos prompts me to enter a user name and password. I am the sole user of the laptop so do not use a password to log on, and the archos will not let me leave the pasword field blank/empty.
I have also now tried this in windows 7 and have the same problem
any help would be much appreciated :D


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Dec 16, 2009 7:48 am 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 2:30 am
Posts: 674
Set up a guest account on the laptop and give it full privileges.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Dec 19, 2009 1:28 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sat Dec 19, 2009 1:26 am
Posts: 1
i am having the same issue, i have sharing enabled and my computers show up on my 604wifi, but when i try to view the computers it asks me for a login. i do not have a password.

any help would be great, has anyone successfully connected a 604wifi with a vista or windows 7 computer??


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jan 19, 2010 6:05 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 11:27 am
Posts: 10
Budwzr I set up another account as an administrator in windows 7. I can now browse that user account and all that is stored in it, but when I select the C drive and enter the correct user name and password nothing happens, the archos seems to think for a short while and then returns to the C drive prompt.
So I think the only way to browse all is to add a password to the original account, or move all films/photos to to new account with a password, which is what I was trying to avoid, :( ah well thanks anyway.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited