Forum.ArchosFans.com

Unofficial Archos Support Forum
It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 12:27 am

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat May 11, 2013 11:53 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sat May 11, 2013 11:37 am
Posts: 9
I googled my *ss off, and i failed to find a solution.

Last night when it was fully charged i took it off the charger, unlocked the screen.
It gave me all kind of errors:
Several standard applications had stopped working.(playstore, gmail, email, gallery - while i had turned the tablet off before charging)
Could only press oke on the errors, so i did :P
Then it told me Android had stopped working and again the only option was to press oke.
The tablet shut itself down.

Now when i want to boot it i only get to the Archos start schreen.
Trying to get into recovery mode (pressing vol- & on.off button) gives me an Android figure laying down with a triangle holding an exclamation mark.

Connecting it to my laptop will boot it up till the startscreen.
When i plug in the charger that happens aswell.
Trying to get into recovery mode on above 2 situations also give the android figure.

Im pretty impatient, but it layed down on the table with only showing the startscreen for over 5 hours.
No reset pinhole to be found.
It's just 5 days old, but the store i bought it from wont help me as its not in the condition as i bought it (downloaded apps, personalized settings etc).

How can i recover/reset/format my tablet so i can use it again? :cry:

Thanks in advance for the help.


Last edited by Chantal on Mon May 13, 2013 9:15 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
PostPosted: Sat May 11, 2013 12:03 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2010 10:24 am
Posts: 430
Location: Derby, UK
Don't know whether the Archos 70 Titanium has a pinhole reset, but have you tried holding down just the power button for about 15 seconds, leaving for 15 seconds, then pressing the power button again for about 7 or 8, no longer as it may just switch off again, seconds and it should restart.....I say should.....

You may need to try this 2 or 3 times to get the timing right.

That's the procedure I used on my old Archos 70 IT anyway.

_________________
Archos Elements Titanium 97HD


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat May 11, 2013 12:20 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sat May 11, 2013 11:37 am
Posts: 9
It does restart, but still only gets to the startscreen when it does.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat May 11, 2013 2:15 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2010 10:24 am
Posts: 430
Location: Derby, UK
Have you tried restarting it whilst the device is plugged into the mains and charging. It may be trying to perform an update, in which case it needs to be connected to a power source.

Sorry, it's not very helpful, but I too am grasping at straws for you. As you said, not much on 'tinternet' yet.

_________________
Archos Elements Titanium 97HD


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat May 11, 2013 2:27 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sat May 11, 2013 11:37 am
Posts: 9
Being plugged into the charger or connected to my laptop by usb makes no difference.
It's my first tablet, no experience with tricks from previous tablets :P


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat May 11, 2013 3:16 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2010 10:24 am
Posts: 430
Location: Derby, UK
Sorry Chantel,

Only thing left, I can think of, is to

1. Unplug it and let it run completely down to 0%, ( keep switching it on if needed so it drains quicker )
2. Leave it over night.
3. Next day, plug it in, but DON'T switch it on, and leave it to fully charge ( at least 12 hrs ).
4. Try it.

I remember reading that that working for someone else once, a long time ago.

If that doesn't work, you may have a bad unit, and it may need to be replaced.

_________________
Archos Elements Titanium 97HD


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat May 11, 2013 3:36 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sat May 11, 2013 11:37 am
Posts: 9
I will try that :)
Tho it does turn on automatically when i plug in the charger but i guess i can turn it off when its charging :)
I will leave it on the startscreen for now till the battery is drained :)


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun May 12, 2013 11:44 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sun May 12, 2013 10:27 am
Posts: 3
i have the same problems with TITANIUM 97 HD...


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun May 12, 2013 3:38 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sat May 11, 2013 11:37 am
Posts: 9
sagi75 wrote:
i have the same problems with TITANIUM 97 HD...


Did you manage to get it running yet?


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun May 12, 2013 4:04 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sun May 12, 2013 10:27 am
Posts: 3
Chantal wrote:
sagi75 wrote:
i have the same problems with TITANIUM 97 HD...


Did you manage to get it running yet?


not yet, there is no connection between pc-tablet


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun May 12, 2013 5:56 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sat May 11, 2013 11:37 am
Posts: 9
If i plug it in to my laptop it keeps connection > disconnecting > connecting > disconnecting and so on.

Having it charged for at least 12 hrs now, as ViPaSoft suggested.
But if its turned off and on the charger it doesn't charge. (assuming as it stayed icecold over 1 night charging and it wouldn't start)
It automatically starts up when i charge it, so leaving it charging while it being on its start screen now.
5 hours left till its been on the charger for 12 hrs.

Sorry if my English lacks grammar :P But it isn't my native language and I'm used to chatspeak a lot instead of "formal" English haha.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun May 12, 2013 6:10 pm 
Offline
Archos Guru
Archos Guru

Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2010 10:24 am
Posts: 430
Location: Derby, UK
Hi,

I started to get a lot of problems with mine last night, (screen lag, [in normal mode NOT HD], jumping about, resetting, etc), and tried everything I could think of.

It only seems to work perfectly when at 90-100% battery, once it drops below that, I was getting all sorts of issues, even in Play Store, (clicking my apps, scrolling down a little and it would throw me out), or if I clicked on an icon to drag it across the screen, it would open another unrelated icon.

Anyway, this morning I decided to send it back to Amazon, and it turned out to be really easy. Decided to try one of there own Kindle Fire 8.9HD tablets, (especially as the returns procedure is so easy).

I really do hope you sort out your issues and get a good experience with them as I've owned several Archos in the past and until now, had no issues at all.

_________________
Archos Elements Titanium 97HD


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun May 12, 2013 10:08 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sat May 11, 2013 11:37 am
Posts: 9
No luck here yet.
Trying to find it's firmware online to download, but can't find anything, not even on archos.com


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2013 9:03 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Sat May 11, 2013 11:37 am
Posts: 9
I just got a second reply from the Archos staff, and it worked!!
This is a copy of their email, I hope it will help others too with this type of tablet.
Before i began to try this my tablet was charged for about 24 hours, so battery was at 100%

"1. Press and hold volume - and connect the DC-IN to the device
2. Once the green robot ANDROID is displayed, release the volume button - press and hold the power button and press once the volume + button.
"

"The screen Android system recovery is displayed.
a. Use the volume keys to navigate
b. Use the ON / OFF button to select an option

To restore the default settings of your tablet:
1. In the Recovery mode, select Wipe data / factory reset
2. Select Yes-delete all user data.
3. Select Reboot system now.


after rebooting the system it did take a while for it to boot, but it worked :)


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Nov 07, 2016 8:07 pm 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 7:32 pm
Posts: 1
Quote:
I just got a second reply from the Archos staff, and it worked!!
This is a copy of their email, I hope it will help others too with this type of tablet.
Before i began to try this my tablet was charged for about 24 hours, so battery was at 100%

"1. Press and hold volume - and connect the DC-IN to the device
2. Once the green robot ANDROID is displayed, release the volume button - press and hold the power button and press once the volume + button.
"

"The screen Android system recovery is displayed.
a. Use the volume keys to navigate
b. Use the ON / OFF button to select an option

To restore the default settings of your tablet:
1. In the Recovery mode, select Wipe data / factory reset
2. Select Yes-delete all user data.
3. Select Reboot system now.

after rebooting the system it did take a while for it to boot, but it worked :),

for me it'works but the volume buttons are reversed and the tablet is still in freeze :(


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited