Forum.ArchosFans.com

Unofficial Archos Support Forum
It is currently Thu Nov 14, 2019 2:42 pm

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed May 27, 2009 4:43 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed May 27, 2009 4:39 am
Posts: 3
I have an AV400 that I've successfully used for a number of years now, but unfortunately, it now seems to be dying...

The files that have worked fine forever now randomly say "cannot play video! please check" during playback.

I have thus far tried the following (all without success):

1) Replace the files (in case they are corrupt somehow)
2) Reformat the hard drive (in case it is somehow dying)
3) Reload the latest firmware update from archos.com
4) Try reading a video from a CF instead of the hard drive

All will end up within a few seconds to a few minutes stopping, and saying "cannot play video! please check".

I even left it alone for about 2 weeks for the battery to fully die, and still nothing.

Any suggestions?


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat May 30, 2009 2:12 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2006 3:15 am
Posts: 3332
Location: essex uk
you need to connect it to your pc and then run scan disk - tick both boxes. this will take a while but will flag any defective sectors so the machine wont use those areas of the drive anymore.
if it is a larger machine you could always get a replacement drive (ie 80-100gb version). but im unsure about the 20gb versions as im not certian if you can get these drives anymore.
the scan will hopefully sort this problem out for you though, formatting is all well and good but this wont pick up any bad sectors like a scan disk does.
roy

_________________
COYI


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat May 30, 2009 4:42 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed May 27, 2009 4:39 am
Posts: 3
Good tip -- I ran it with both options checked and still had the problem, though. I should have listed that in my OP.

I have a great HD repair program called SpinRite that I tried running on it and it "bombed" out about 90% through connected to the USB port on the AV400.

So I got adventurous and removed the drive, attached it to an external 2.5" HDD enclosure (even though its a 1.8" HDD) and SpinRite ran all the way through on level 4 (deep surface scan) -- it took about 6 hours to run! It didn't report any surface errors, though, so I'm worried its an electronics problem in the AV400 itself. :(

I'll put it back together in a bit and see what happens. If that doesn't fix it, I'm guessing that there's a problem with the electronics in the unit itself and its time to replace it unless you all have any other suggstions.

I'll re-post with my results!

Thanks!


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat May 30, 2009 8:22 am 
Offline
Archos Novice
Archos Novice

Joined: Wed May 27, 2009 4:39 am
Posts: 3
Still gets the error after SpinRite...

So, I started thinking about "what changed" since it last worked...

Answer - whatever my 3 year old did to it. I remembered he was watching a movie one day when it first failed. I also remember that he had found some menus and was trying to get back to the movie before it failed that first time it failed. So I started digging through menus looking for something he may have changed that could cause this.

After changing a lot of settings to no avail, I think I fixed it!!!

In setup -> play mode I changed it to "single" and to "normal" repeat & shuffle and it has played for over 20 mine without failing! Previously it would fail within 2-3 mins.

Not sure why, but this seems to be the cure!


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited